DEV Community

Cover image for Which is your First programming language ?
Priya Bapodra
Priya Bapodra

Posted on • Updated on

Which is your First programming language ?

Hello Everyone!
It is my first Post here! I just want to know that, which should be first programming language for beginners?
If I am talking about me, I learned C and C++ during my undergraduate years, and they serve as a foundation for many other languages. What do you think?
What is your opinion on this? Please tell me your point of view!
Thanks and have a great day!

Top comments (99)

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy ๐ŸŽ–๏ธ • Edited

Sinclair BASIC on the ZX Spectrum... 1983

Collapse
 
mortylen profile image
mortylen

I didn't expect to see it here, I started with it too. I had a compatible version of the Sinclair ZX Spectrum called Didaktik. It was made in Europe in Slovakia.

Collapse
 
abhinav1217 profile image
Abhinav Kulshreshtha

Mine was GW-Basic and Q-Basic. around 1996. I still think those were better beginners programming language than scratch or all these low-code no-code bulls**t

Collapse
 
chikega profile image
chikega

It's good to see that Q-Basic lives on in modern iterations such as QB64 PE with a C++ backend.

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I can one-up you on that. I started with BASIC on the ZX81, precursor to the ZX Spectrum, which I also got later!
Image description

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy ๐ŸŽ–๏ธ

I guess in a way, I probably got the programming bug a few years earlier. Technically you could write programs on this, but it was hardly Turing complete! ๐Ÿ˜›

Big Trak

Collapse
 
priyabapodra profile image
Priya Bapodra

Okay, i am not familiar with language but i will try learn for sure ! Thank you for sharing your opinion! :)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Java!

Collapse
 
priyabapodra profile image
Priya Bapodra

great ! :)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel ๐Ÿ•ต๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ Fayard

Ada is the first language I learnt in my engineering school.
Ada is an obscure but good language.
Ada is also an obscure, alas, but incredible woman.
Ada Lovelace is a programmer from the XIXยฐ century

Augusta Ada King, Countess of Lovelace was an English mathematician and writer, chiefly known for her work on Charles Babbage's proposed mechanical general-purpose computer, the Analytical Engine. She was the first to recognise that the machine had applications beyond pure calculation.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt โ˜•

Hello, and welcooome on DEV! ๐Ÿš€
My first programming language is CSS. I love the web dev, and even now I continue to develop with this language, and to push the code further, I do it with SCSS (SASS). โœจ

Collapse
 
priyabapodra profile image
Priya Bapodra

thank you !

Collapse
 
m0n0x41d profile image
Ivan Zakutnii

Damn, is this a bite? Please say it is.

Collapse
 
ryencode profile image
Ryan Brown

My first language was Integer Basic on the Apple ][e (pronounced "Apple two E" for the younglings.) It was great for cutting teeth and getting a handle on some basics (har har!)

Later, again in the Apple world... HyperCard/HyperScript the combination of a visual and scripted interactions in one package, easily deploy-able... was great.

Collapse
 
jd2r profile image
DR

JavaScript is goated as a language, but I'd probably go with Python as the best first language to learn.

I personally learned the first steps of programming from Scratch (which I now don't recommend), but JS took me to the next level and it's been my go-to ever since.

Collapse
 
priyabapodra profile image
Priya Bapodra

Javascript is in trend! thank you for sharing your opinion ! :)

Collapse
 
brian_curricular profile image
Brian G.

Love this thread and seeing all the varied responses!

Mine was CSS and HTML. I learned it during the 90s while customizing Geocities websites. I learned a tiny amount of JavaScript but not enough to feel confident.

Next up was PHP. I inherited management of a WordPress site at one of my first jobs, and needed to figure out how to customize it. This was where I really learned how to program. Confession: I love PHP and use Laravel quite frequently now.

A couple years after learning PHP, I inherited a DNN site and had to learn C# and ASP.NET. My career took me through a lot of Windows organizations, so I came to love C#, and programming PowerShell scripts.

I've picked up a lot more in the last decade or so. Currently, I'm learning Go.

Collapse
 
priyabapodra profile image
Priya Bapodra

Thank you so much for sharing with us ! :)

Collapse
 
dionarodrigues profile image
Diona Rodrigues

Welcome to the ball!! :)
I firstly learned ActionScript (by using Flash to create animations) and a little bit of ASP (which was the language that the company I worked for used to use at that time). :)

Collapse
 
priyabapodra profile image
Priya Bapodra

hello! Thank you for welcoming me ! :)

Collapse
 
alaindet profile image
Alain D'Ettorre

Started with basic C for a college course, although it was not advanced enough. Spent countless hours with ancient JavaScript for fun, then countless hours with the PHP/MySQL/jQuery stack, then countless (more of the previous combined) with modern full-stack TypeScript which I currently work with. These days my minor is Go.

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

My first one was HTML. I then bought some robotics kits and learned Blockly (Scratch), then went on to CSS and JS. Now I even do Node.js, Perl, Bash, C++, Python, and more, but I like to call myself a full-stack web developer.

Collapse
 
chikega profile image
chikega

C is the Latin of many programming languages.

Collapse
 
alexr profile image
Alex (The Engineering Bolt) โšก

Visual BASIC but not many people have heard it before

Collapse
 
lexiebkm profile image
Alexander B.K.

While I was only able to code using FoxPro for DOS, other people at the office used VB and Delphi for developing GUI apps for Windows.

Collapse
 
abhinav1217 profile image
Abhinav Kulshreshtha

If FoxPro was not bought by MS I would still be a foxpro programmer. A language and db in one bundle. Killing foxpro was the first reason I started disliking microsoft, even before I learned about open source philosophy.

I wrote my first complete application in foxpro and got a year worth of library membership as reward. Proudest moment in my childhood.

Collapse
 
alexr profile image
Alex (The Engineering Bolt) โšก

Actually I just remembered, it was just BASIC and it was literally copying a program from a book line by line. It was Space Invaders which I really enjoyed. More importantly it did work at the end.

Visual Basic did come at later point.

P.S.: I just learned that BASIC stands for Beginner's All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code

Collapse
 
efpage profile image
Eckehard

Maybe you should think first about the platform than about the language.

You can proably run C++ on any OS, but to build applications, you need more than just a language. You need some toolboxes, learn the basic concepts an probably will use an API to build your UI. In moste cases, this is very OS-specific and an app developed for Windows will not run on any other operation system. There are some approached to build cross platform apps, but in most cases you will end with a fluffy compromise.

As many people are using their mobiles, tablets and whatever today, I started to build apps with Javascript in the browserr. Javascript is not the best language I can think of, any my productivity was much higher before, but browsers provide a fairly uniform environment today. So, my apps will run on any platform.

In theory, there may be much better languages, but if they are not available on your target platform, you will need to go with the best you can get.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

I think it was Pascal or maybe some dialect of Basic or possibly Fortran. It was around 1990. And I was starting with all of those. Not sure which was first.

Collapse
 
mrdoe profile image
MrDoe

QBasic (1992) at middle school for programming a step motor, a few years later we learned Visual Basic.

At home I also used batch programming in accordance with COM file compilers and ASCII art to develop simple launchers for my installed DOS games (even with mouse support).