DEV Community

Tom Lienard
Tom Lienard

Posted on

🧐 Which Terminal Emulator are you using?

πŸ“Œ Introduction

First of all, I hope your day was good.
This post is made for everyone who is using a Terminal Emulator and want to share his experience with it. Feel free to comment down below!

πŸ”Ž The question

Since I’m working on my own Terminal Emulator, I was wondering, which one are you using on your daily routine?

There are plenty of alternatives, from iTerm to Hyper and Cmder. So why do you use your Terminal Emulator and not another one? Does it have every features that you needs? Does you can’t find a good one that fit your expectations?

Do not hesitate to debate and share you experience, I’m very interested to know your preferences.

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
perpetual_education profile image
perpetual . education

We user iTerm / but we don't know why. Probably for 2 or 3 little thing that we aren't aware of. Typing? Autocomplete? arrow-up to recall things? What else is there.

If there was a command-line-like thing that didn't look ugly - and we could easily set the prompt to look cool... and were able to really easily create basic bash shortcuts like perpetual (move to the project folder and do x and y) - then we'd use it - and have our students use it.

Collapse
 
perpetual_education profile image
perpetual . education

What is your goal with Squid? We can't tell so far

Collapse
 
tomlienard profile image
Tom Lienard

I have planned to add more pieces of information about the « whyΒ Β» and « howΒ Β» in the README. Make sure to watch the project if you’re interested.

By the way, thanks for sharing your experience, it’s very useful!

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

I use kitty. At first it was an experiment, because it's suppose to be very fast, but it turns out that in terms of speed I can't tell the difference between kitty and a regular terminal. I keep using it because I already have a config file with a theme that I like and it's on debian's official repository.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

Currently, I use Xfce Terminal. But on Mac, I do download and use ITerm2.

Actually, Mac's default term is not that bad, with some customizations.

I rarely use Windows nowadays, so not even cmd or Git bash. However, I generally like VSCode's the most. Perhaps I will try Commander, if I had to use Windows.

Collapse
 
sunitdeshpande profile image
Sunit

I use Termite because of two reasons, firstly due to the key binding and secondly because it works best with tiling window managers is BSPWM.

Collapse
 
maxdevjs profile image
maxdevjs

@sunitdeshpande , could you expand the it works best part? What do you exactly mean?

Collapse
 
sunitdeshpande profile image
Sunit

I have tried using urxvt, terminator, suckless terminal and termite with a tiling window manager. And I felt that termite was the one which has a faster response time, supports True Color and easier to configure. Also, its keyboard-centric design and vim like keybindings felt more natural when working with a tiling window manager.

Thread Thread
 
maxdevjs profile image
maxdevjs

Understood, thank you for the clarification.

Collapse
 
tomlienard profile image
Tom Lienard

Thanks for sharing your reasons that make you choose Termite!

Collapse
 
scroung720 profile image
scroung720

I recently switched back to Linux but when I was using Windows I really liked github.com/felixse/FluentTerminal it looks modern and it have a settings out of the box that in other terminals I would need to tweak. It feels that It was made for me :p

Collapse
 
gargakshit profile image
Akshit Garg

I use iterm2 on my mac, windows terminal on windows and tilix on linux systems

Collapse
 
tomlienard profile image
Tom Lienard

That’s complicated!

Collapse
 
gargakshit profile image
Akshit Garg

πŸ€”

Collapse
 
hougesen profile image
Mads Hougesen

I prefer not to install too many "unnecessary" tools, so I use the standard terminal on my Mac and Windows Terminal on Windows (duh).
Actually starting to like developing on Windows for once. Microsoft really stepped up their game with the new Windows Terminal!

Collapse
 
micahlt profile image
Micah Lindley

On Windows, I use Windows Terminal. Microsoft has really created an attractive and feature-filled emulator, and I really enjoy using it. When I use Ubuntu, I use the default Gnome Terminal which, though not super powerful, is flexible enough for my daily needs.

Collapse
 
akshay090 profile image
Akshay090

Tilix works best for me.

Collapse
 
romancm profile image
Roman Cervantes

Iterm on MacOS, Tilix on linux

Collapse
 
ender_minyard profile image
ender minyard

I'm excited for your terminal emulator! I occasionally tap into eDEX-UI.

Collapse
 
spez profile image
Abhigyan

None

Collapse
 
kewbish profile image
Emilie Ma

I just use XFCE Terminal - it works for me and I haven't had the time to check out other emulators.