DEV Community

Rachel
Rachel

Posted on

What would an IDE for writing content look like?

The Problem

I use VS Code as my IDE. I also use it for writing blog posts in Markdown. But writing is different than coding. While I still like the features offered by my IDE, it's not made for writing. I'll notice typos that aren't caught until after I publish.

While I've found some workarounds, I started wondering - what would an IDE made just for writing content look like?

Discuss

Share your thoughts, writing hacks, and workarounds!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
coffeecraftcode profile image
Christina Gorton

I write in Notion and then export as markdown. Keeps all my posts in one place and then I can add them to places like Dev if I want too.
exporting as markdown in Notion

Collapse
 
nicolasini profile image
Nico S___

I use Typora for just writing. You write in markdown and it transpires it on the fly so you see the final result
It has some great features

Collapse
 
matthewbdaly profile image
Matthew Daly

I think that's what Scrivener is, although it might be overkill for your use case.

I write blog posts in Neovim, and that's always had spell checking available. I also use vim-ale with it, and that supports a number of linters for checking text in Markdown, such as alex and write-good.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

Msword

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Actually I'm not using a IDE instead it's Grammarly that i use for my articles

Collapse
 
buinauskas profile image
Evaldas Buinauskas

If you use markdown, try using code spell checker extension 🙂

Collapse
 
surasshu0x0 profile image
スラッシュ

Well , i would think, then it shouldn't be an IDE in the first place. But a text editor that supports the needed formats. I think it should be really minimal and support the needed tools for writing