DEV Community

Raul
Raul

Posted on

Self.new

I wanted to start the blog telling a bit about how I got here.

A few years back I decided to reinvent myself and the tool used for it was none other than code...

My grandfather was a carpenter and he had a saying: “no job is impossible if you’re using the right tool.”

He didn’t know a thing about computers but he definitely gave me my first lesson about programming.

My passion for coding began when I realized how it could affect life and the way we live it. How it can transform our everyday reality.

What can be more fun and productive than having a tool that operates on great ideas, builds a system around it and leaves an open door for others to contribute? That sounds a lot like a world I would like to be a part of!

I realized that my happiness will never be full unless shared, that my ideas will never be perfect unless they are collectively put to test. There’s only so much we can do as individuals. Our reach, our resources, our points of view will always be limited if we keep them to ourselves. Our real power comes from our collective strength.

And so it happens with code, because only when several files and lines of code are put to work together is that real magic can happen. So I discovered I wanted to contribute. It’s the right tool to improve ideas and to improve ourselves. That’s what I’m all about.

Top comments (0)