DEV Community

Cover image for Hey guys, how are you with Hacktoberfest, let's talk!
Renan Ferro
Renan Ferro

Posted on

Hey guys, how are you with Hacktoberfest, let's talk!

Hey guys, how are you?!

Hacktoberfest is happening and I see a lot of really cool movements, like articles here on Dev and in the community on Discord! (And that's really cooooll)

I made some contributions and I'm working on three Angular Issues, take a look:


And you, how are you?!

How are the contributions?!

How is the experience of looking at countless repositories in different ways?!

Are you having difficulties?!

Let's talk, help our contributing partners or just chat! 😄😄🤟🤟

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

In a stage of depression because GitLab just hates me I guess? It wont let me do any requests for anything.

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

But it doesnt really matter because I’ve been too busy with two personal projects to even get anything done.

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Good, working on personal projects is a good way to relax. Do you already have an environment for these projects for us to see?!

Thread Thread
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

Almost. I am working on a UI for a group of small games, but also a task app that is almost done. I think the task app first (it’s called Tasky) and then the small games UI. It’s going to be like CrazyGames where users submit games. I have too much to do to make the games, but I’m really excited to see what people come up with.

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

🤣🤣 I confess that I have never done any PR through GitLab but I work with it in my daily life. What kind of problems are you having?!

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

I can’t really seem to do a merge into hacktoberfest.

Collapse
 
nirzak profile image
Nirjas Jakilim

Yeah have just completed it. Have created 5 pull requests for the hacktoberfest and also 4 PRs on the repos that really needed some bug fixes but not participating in hacktoberfest! You know contribution is the real thing!

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

As a maintainer this year for two repositories, things are going great.
I received a lot of PRs and Issues from the community members, and @renancferro, you're doing fantastic as well. 🔥

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

That's cool, have you ever participated in a Hacktoberfest as a non-maintainer?! I think next year I'll change a little and participate as a maintainer too!

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

Yes back in 2019

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

I've had 4 PRs accepted and and fifth one is pending. I've hit pause on Hacktoberfest for the moment while I prepare for an interview.

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Wooww, really cool man! I'm happy for your interview, good luck! I'm happy for your interview, good luck! Sorry for the curiosity, but is it for Development?!

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Yes, Cool company doing neat stuff in the edTech field.

Thread Thread
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Niiice, congratulations and good luck!

Collapse
 
raulferreirasilva profile image
Raul Ferreira

I'm having some difficulties, because this is my first event and I'm lost, I don't know how I can contribute or be a contributor, I'm just starting out in the programming area 🦤.

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro • Edited

Salvee, vi que você é Br por isso vou responder em pt man 🤣

Mano, o começo é um pouco estranho/difícil mesmo porque causa umas confusões. Mas dando um pequeno overview:

Contribuidor é basicamente sair caçando issues nos repositórios e criar o pull request, saca (Procura issues pra atualizar readme, adicionar links e tal, tem algumas fáceis e tem as mais hards também). Esse repositório tem umas issues bem tranquilas de contribuir mojo-is-awesome, basicamente é só procurar/adicionar links de artigos relacionados ao mojo.

Mantenodor: Seria basicamente você ter um repositório e criar as issues pra comunidade resolver/contribuir.

La no grupo do Discord do evento o pessoal esta compartilhando altos repositórios (Não sei se você esta nele) dai é só procurar o que você mais se sente a vontade 😅

Espero ter ajudado mano mas qualquer coisa pode mandar aqui que vamos nos falando 🤟

Collapse
 
raulferreirasilva profile image
Raul Ferreira

Cara valeu, ajudou demais, vou entrar no discord e dar uma olhada nas issues do repo que você recomendou, ajudou demais, obrigaduu 🦤.