DEV Community

Cover image for Learning Game Dev: Respawn Mechanics and Game Objects
Victor Andrade Resende
Victor Andrade Resende

Posted on

Learning Game Dev: Respawn Mechanics and Game Objects

Introduction

Hello to everyone who's taken the time to stop by and read this post. Currently, I find myself in the challenging phases of coding a game entirely while learning how to code and understand the intricacies of game development.

The game I'm working on? It's a combat/RPG mix-style type of game where players can immerse themselves in battles, level up, and fight bosses. Suppose the idea of evolving and getting stronger as you face off against increasingly tough enemies resonates with you. In that case, you'll probably understand why I chose to make this type of game.

The Challenge

Recently, while coding, I found myself in a quite stumbling predicament, otherwise known as a game-breaking bug.

I was finishing a respawn script for the enemies in my game. This might sound straightforward to many, but when dealing with a combat/RPG game where enemies play a pivotal role, getting this mechanic right is crucial.

Here's what I expected: Each time an enemy was defeated, it would simply disappear and respawn according to the script's logic. This mechanic was meant to ensure continuous gameplay, allowing players to level up and get stronger as they overcame each challenge.

Reality had other plans: Everything seemed to be running smoothly when testing with a single enemy. But the waters got murkier when I introduced a second enemy using Unity's prefab function. After defeating the second enemy, instead of the usual respawn, the enemy game object was disabled and spawned another enemy. When killing this enemy, it spawned multiple copies instead of just 1.

Clearly, something was amiss. What was causing this anomaly? Was it an error in the code? Or perhaps a glitch in Unity's prefab system? Let's be honest: probably not Unity, most likely the code I have made, as I trust professionals who spent years creating this engine more than I did with my inexperienced coding skills.

Identifying the Problem & Diagnosis Attempts

As I scratched my head, trying to figure out this peculiar problem, I retraced my steps to see where things might have gone astray. I remembered that introducing the second enemy through the reference IDs of the enemy might have been the tipping point. With just one enemy, the respawn worked like a charm. But with two, chaos ensued.

My initial suspicion was that there was a hiccup in how the game was referencing these enemy objects. Maybe, just maybe, when the second enemy was defeated, the game's logic got entangled, pointing toward the fact that the enemies might share the same ID reference. This could potentially explain why it seemed to clone multiple enemies instead of just removing the defeated one and spawning one more to replace the destroyed one.

Wondering how to solve the error, I took to the vast knowledge base available to anyone:

  1. Unity's Documentation: Perhaps there was something I missed or didn't understand about prefabs and their behavior. Or I might have been using the wrong syntax and functions that could mess up the code.
  2. Good ol' Google: Someone in the developer community must have faced a similar problem. A few keyword searches should point me in the right direction, right?
  3. Tutorials and Forums: There's a wealth of knowledge in community forums and tutorial videos where developers share their insights, challenges, and solutions.

Despite my best efforts, and after 30 minutes to an hour of scouring the internet and sifting through code, the solution remained just out of reach. The problem persisted, which is quite a common problem every programmer faces, as you might not be searching for the right key term or passed over the solution. However, it is still as frustrating as you could expect it might be.

This combined section should paint a clear picture of the troubleshooting process and the persistence in trying to solve the issue. Adjust any specifics to fit your exact experience.

Current Thoughts on the Issue

The world of game development is, if nothing else, a constant learning curve. As I sat back, taking a momentary break from my persistent troubleshooting attempts, a few thoughts came to mind.

First and foremost was the possibility of anΒ ID reference problem. The behavior of the second enemy, especially its tendency to clone more enemies than what I believe, my code instructed, hinted at a deeper underlying issue. Perhaps the respawn script, in its current state, wasn't equipped to handle multiple instances of the enemy prefab. When the second enemy met its demise, it was conceivable that the system got confused, inadvertently referencing the original enemy's ID, leading to the unexpected multiple cloning.

However, another observation countered this theory. Suppose it were purely an ID mix-up when killing one enemy (aka destroyed). Wouldn't the other enemy also be destroyed? But that wasn't the case. The original enemy remained unaffected, suggesting that their IDs might not be identical after all.

So, where does this leave us? Admittedly, it is a bit of a conundrum. Game development, like any creative endeavor, is full of such moments. Moments where the path ahead isn't clear, and the answers aren't easily forthcoming. But, it's precisely challenges like these that spur growth, encouraging us to think outside the box, collaborate, and seek fresh perspectives.

Call to Action & Conclusion

These moments make me think about the larger community of game developers, both beginners and experienced, who have faced unexpected challenges. And I believe in the power of working together and sharing knowledge.

To my fellow developers and readers: Have you encountered a similar hurdle in your projects? Or perhaps you've got a fresh perspective or a nugget of wisdom that might shine a light on this peculiar problem? If so, please do discuss and inform me of my mistakes. It'll be greatly appreciated.

Moreover, for anyone facing their development problems, remember you're not alone. The journey of game development is paved with trials but also triumphs. Sharing our challenges brings potential solutions and fosters a sense of community. We grow, learn, and evolve through our collective stories and shared experiences.

Wrapping up, I'd like to express my gratitude to all those who took the time to engage with my story. Challenges like the one I've shared are stepping stones in our journey. They remind us that while game development is hardly easy, the reward of being able to solve bug errors and ultimately finishing your game or project is always worth it.

Top comments (0)