DEV Community

Rishi Kumar Chawda
Rishi Kumar Chawda

Posted on

What's your plan for the weekend?

Weekend is near and again it's time to focus completely on some personal endeavours! πŸ“ΈπŸƒβ€β™‚οΈ

Although a lot of people feel / think that we should relax or do something else, including my family and friends, I rarely find myself interested in anything other than sitting with my laptop. πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’»

Whatever helps you relax, you should do it. And I utilise that time to learn new things or strengthen my expertise.

This weekend, I am going to work on improving my skills on Progressive Web Apps and service workers. πŸ’ͺ And planning to try out one or two from the tools I found on React Native development (I have a few on my browser's history that would serve as a checklist). Might also finish writing another article too! πŸ€“

What are your plans?

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
torianne02 profile image
Tori Crawford

The stresses of the job search have been getting to me lately. I'm also moving apartments next week, so this weekend is reserved for relaxing and having fun.

I'm going camping πŸ• and going on a brewery tour. 🍻

Collapse
 
rishikc profile image
Rishi Kumar Chawda

Brewery tour and camping sure looks like a really fun weekend! Cheers! 🍻 Have fun!

And good luck on the job search! πŸ€

Collapse
 
j3698 profile image
Anti

Gonna read a good book :)

Collapse
 
rishikc profile image
Rishi Kumar Chawda

That's great! Which one? I would also like suggestions πŸ‘€

Collapse
 
j3698 profile image
Anti

Haha I'm reading "the declaration" by Gemma Malley. It starts off slow, but I'm really enjoying it now. Second book I've read for leisure in years. Do you have suggestions?

Thread Thread
 
rishikc profile image
Rishi Kumar Chawda

Currently I'm reading Code Complete 2 by Steve McConnell, which I found pretty good to read and have a few other books on my wish list that I'm going to order once I'm about to complete reading this!

Oh and Malcolm Gladwell's Outliers is also a nice book!

Collapse
 
zoekayvee profile image
Zoe Villanueva

Hoping to put out my first post on dev.to! My friend lent me a book, "Algorithms to Live By" by Brian Christian and Tom Griffiths - so that will be keeping me occupied as well :)

Happy weekend! πŸ₯‚

Collapse
 
rishikc profile image
Rishi Kumar Chawda • Edited

Thats great! Do send me the link when you post it! πŸ˜„ Cheers! πŸ₯‚

Collapse
 
rishikc profile image
Rishi Kumar Chawda

Hey, I wanted to say thanks for telling me about the book "Algorithms to Live By". I am enjoying it! πŸ˜‡

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Like you, I'm also going to be leveling up my skills in node js and micro-frontend arch so that I don't have such a hard at the job next week hehe.

Collapse
 
rishikc profile image
Rishi Kumar Chawda

Ha ha! A weekend spent in sharpening your axe is a weekend spent well! πŸ’ͺ🏻

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

I guess you could say so hehe

Collapse
 
filipelteixeira profile image
Filipe Teixeira

Got the Udemy Node.js Course to do :D

Collapse
 
rishikc profile image
Rishi Kumar Chawda

Nice! I also did that when I was learning nodejs, Understanding NodeJs course, and it was good! Best of luck! 😊

Collapse
 
jdfillmore profile image
JD Fillmore

Heading up north to a cottage with the wife :)

Collapse
 
rishikc profile image
Rishi Kumar Chawda

That's wonderful! Have a great time together! Cheers! πŸ₯‚

Collapse
 
christopheek profile image
Christophe El-Khoury

I'm just gonna get drunk