DEV Community

Cover image for Killer cross platform pdf reader
Talha Aamir
Talha Aamir

Posted on

Killer cross platform pdf reader

Project links:

project-demo: https://readsyncpdf.web.app/

front-end: https://github.com/sarcXD/read-sync-pdf/

back-end: https://github.com/sarcXD/read-sync-server

Alright, what is this?

readsyncpdf (stupid name, yes) is an app that allows you to read pdf files. You can upload a pdf (I think it has a 20mb limit). It will then keep track of how much you have read. So the next time you want to read something, you just go to the website (on any device), login and it will load the pdf right where you left off.

Okay, why did you make this?

I built this when I was having trouble reading books or papers. I blamed my environment. I had to switch A LOT!! between my laptop, desktop pc and mobile. To make matters worse I was dual booting on my laptop, so goodbye to anything I read and forgot about. I then decided to make something that could fix this pain point.

Did I succeed??

YEAH, I wanted to read a book one day, I started off on my laptop, eventually when I wanted to play some games and stop working, I shifted to my desktop reading it there. Eventually when I got tired I just lay on my bed, opened it on my phone and read it there. AMAZING!!

Why open source

well, several reasons, mainly, none of the people who read books amongst my friends used it, because well they had dedicated devices to read books and they used epub as a format. I realised this was a niche and as much as I would have liked this to be a service, I honestly wanted to do and make other things as well, and I didn't have an indicator of whether this would be successful. THUS, I open sourced it. I also wanted to have some opensource React code that I could show, since I have very little of that even though I've built a ton of NDA stuff.

HAVE FUN. I stopped maintaining this a while ago, and might pick it up based on the interest in it, but for now I guess the repo just remains public and requiring a buncha fixes and updates.

Top comments (0)