DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button
Saron
Saron

Posted on

What I learned from 6 years of building CodeNewbie

In this talk, I share my learnings from the past 6 years of building CodeNewbie, the most supportive community of programmers and people learning to code. I cover:

  • How to build a community
  • What people actually need to learn to code
  • How we can help new and early-career developers
  • How early-career developers help us

Here is a download link to the talk slides (PDF)


This talk will be presented as part of CodeLand:Distributed on July 23. After the talk is streamed as part of the conference, it will be added to this post as a recorded video.

Top comments (87)

Collapse
 
nitya profile image
Nitya Narasimhan, Ph.D

Every time I hear @saronyitbarek speak I am reminder of how powerful a single voice with a focused mission can be, in driving change. I love how intentional she has been with building the #codenewbie community to be inclusive

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

CodeNewbie is so inspiring

Collapse
 
mchadley_io profile image
Michael Hadley

First code conference ever! Sucks it's distributed but thankful cause it allows me to attend!

Collapse
 
angelyoung24 profile image
Angel Young

My first one too!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This is definitely making me miss IRL CodeLand.

As soon as we're allowed to get together we're definitely having one of those!

Collapse
 
mchadley_io profile image
Michael Hadley

Hopefully by the next one it'll be back in NYC! I can start saving and crash on a friends couch in Brooklyn next year!

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

For real! I was soooo looking forward to it this year!

Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig

If you're lucky enough to be in NYC 😭

Collapse
 
alephthoughts profile image
Abhishek Sharma

I am able to attend from India, only because it's distributed

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

We are glad you are here!!

Collapse
 
mchadley_io profile image
Michael Hadley

Thats awesome! Welcome!

Collapse
 
xdebbie profile image
Deborah

First one here too! I'm from France so I'm personally thankful it's all online, if it would've been in the USA this year I wouldn't be able to attend!

Collapse
 
mchadley_io profile image
Michael Hadley

I live in the US and I wouldn't have been able to go to NYC, I can't imagine trying to from France!

Thread Thread
 
xdebbie profile image
Deborah

Yea definitely not happening haha!

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

Welcome!

Thread Thread
 
xdebbie profile image
Deborah

πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
raymag profile image
Carlos Magno

It's my first online conference, it's nice to be here!

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

Welcome! We're glad CodeLand is your first! πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
bryantit profile image
Bryant Richards

It's my first one too!

Collapse
 
joshuaburke profile image
Dangeranger • Edited

Welcome to your first conference! :highfive:

Collapse
 
jacobherrington profile image
Jacob Herrington (he/him)

Glad you're here! Welcome πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
mchadley_io profile image
Michael Hadley

Thank you! :)

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

Welcome to your first coding conference! We're glad it's CodeLand! πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
esmeesamarripa profile image
Esmeralda Samarripa

First one for me too! I am glad it's distributed because I wouldn't have been able to attend this year otherwise. I was already planning on a savings plan so I could attend next year in person.

Collapse
 
nicolehopkins7 profile image
Nicole Hopkins

Mine as well!

Collapse
 
mchadley_io profile image
Michael Hadley

Awesome! :highfive:

Collapse
 
alephthoughts profile image
Abhishek Sharma

I think I'll always feel like a codenewbie

Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig

rami malek at codeland

Collapse
 
raymag profile image
Carlos Magno

When you see all these people on the chat

Collapse
 
rachelnovick profile image
Rachel Novick

Hahahaha perfect!

Collapse
 
aviekakkar profile image
ak4422 • Edited

@saronyitbarek 's voice for me is like that song that takes you back to a certain time/point in life just by hearing it again! and where you were when you heard it first, ahh all those newbie days :DD

Collapse
 
saronyitbarek profile image
Saron

Thank you! What a nice compliment!

Collapse
 
silvestricodes profile image
Jonathan Silvestri

The #CodeNewbie twitter chat is what introduced me to so many of my dev friends now!

Collapse
 
dominicduffin1 profile image
Dominic Duffin

CodeNewbie is amazing - the most important connections I've made in tech started from the community!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Hell yeah

Collapse
 
selma_042 profile image
Stacey Teltser

Having initially starting my programming journey after being a sign language interpreter for an on-site code bootcamp, I appreciate the emphasis @saronyitbarek places on the importance of accessibility and bringing to light different types of accessibility.

Collapse
 
lisasy profile image
Lisa Sy (she/her)

haha the image of Rami Malek!

Collapse
 
raymag profile image
Carlos Magno

Love that image

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I can't pass up the opportunity to say I once saw Rami Malek at the grocery store.

I just walked by, didn't try to say anything, but it did happen and I'll never not share that information πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
huddlespith profile image
Amy Hudspith

Asking for help is something a lot of people are worried to do for fear of seeing "less than", but it shows humility and great self awareness

Collapse
 
esmeesamarripa profile image
Esmeralda Samarripa

My struggle as been not knowing where to start asking the questions I have. I started with Google searches and then found the CodeNewbie podcast where I learned about the twitter chats and then I found more people to follow. Slowly but surely I have been finding people that I can ask for help. I also sometimes feel that I don't know what questions I should be asking. This is all a whole new world for me since most of my instruction has been strictly in the classrooms.

Collapse
 
aprilshenk profile image
April Shenk

I always think I am bothering someone. Especially if I don't get it right away! I'm getting better though.

Collapse
 
jayehernandez profile image
Jaye Hernandez

I feel the same way! Like I’m wasting their time. But I’m growing out of that mindset.

Collapse
 
rachelnovick profile image
Rachel Novick

Community really is SO important. Having support is key

Collapse
 
nirbhay007 profile image
Nirbhay Singh

so true!

Collapse
 
aprilshenk profile image
April Shenk

Starting my bootcamp journey in August. This conference was posted in my slack. This first talk has me so glad I found it!

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

You're going to ROCK it!

Collapse
 
rachelnovick profile image
Rachel Novick

I just graduated a bootcamp in March! Good luck and have fun! It is so much work, but is so rewarding!!!

Collapse
 
jacobherrington profile image
Jacob Herrington (he/him)

CodeNewbie was a powerful resource for me a few years back! Really proud to work with the folks behind that community at DEV! ❀

Collapse
 
thabisegoe profile image
Thabi

Listening to Sarony reminds me of the time I was a complete codenewbie and listening to the podcast with no idea of how far I will go. It is one of the most supportive, and inclusive communities, I am glad I came across it. These lessons are gold.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.