DEV Community

Cover image for Have you ever code when you were high? 🥃🤪
Sarthak Sharma
Sarthak Sharma

Posted on

Have you ever code when you were high? 🥃🤪

As all Americans must be partying right now and the festive season is coming soon, I hope you all are able to able to handle your alcohol and weed.

So what have you ever tried coding when you were high. If yes, how has your experience and I hope it wasn't production where you pushed. 😅

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I've experienced the Ballmer peak on a few occasions

ballmer peak

xkcd.com/323/

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Woah! I need to try this Someday.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I think the concept is more of a joke, so I wouldn't encourage anyone to try, but of course coding is the kind of thing that can very much be altered by one's psychological state.

Thread Thread
 
seanmclem profile image
Seanmclem

It's that special kind of drunk

youtu.be/frYFWjXufm8

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

😂

Collapse
 
codingmindfully profile image
Daragh Byrne

I'm pretty sure it applies to playing pool too.

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

This is exactly how I got through some of my modules at University. Though the BAC must have been much higher than that

Collapse
 
dallasapper profile image
dallasapper • Edited

The most important thing is not to overdo it with alcohol consumption. It is good for lifting the mood in small doses. Besides, it is hard to imagine any event without him nowadays. However, I am skeptical about marijuana. However, the world is coming to terms with its consumption. This drug is being legalized in many countries. Unfortunately, I have individual intolerance to the substance. Therefore, I most often use wildorchardhemp.com/product-catego.... Btw, periodic or regular exposure to cannabinoids may not cause visible physical disorders. But the harm of marijuana is often manifested by the development of severe forms of mental disorders.

Collapse
 
richardsprins profile image
Richard S Prins Jr.

Literally every day, I use cannabis medicinally to help with GI issues, helping my ADHD, as well as helping boost my appetite. I see no difference in my code with or without cannabis, other than having a harder time focusing when totally sober.

Collapse
 
benenewton profile image
Ben Newton

Not high, but OD’d on cough syrup back in the day when I was sick and ended up deleting an incredibly important field in a prod database.

Collapse
 
drgaud profile image
DrGaud

how does one get high on cough syrup....

Collapse
 
benenewton profile image
Ben Newton

Too much Robitussin will get you a similar feeling as being drunk. It was not purposely done in my case. I was simply very, very sick, and stuck at work and the cough syrup was the only thing keeping me going, so I drank almost a bottle in a day.

Thread Thread
 
drgaud profile image
DrGaud

wow dude, It sounds like next time you might be better off taking the more direct approach and just coughing in your managers face, if he doesnt send you home, there is something wrong like, worringly wrong with him.

Thread Thread
 
benenewton profile image
Ben Newton

Lol. No manager. I was working for myself at the time, hence the insane stubbornness.

Thread Thread
 
drgaud profile image
DrGaud

I sucks having you as your own boss, i know the pain of having to phone yourself asking for a day off sick...or even a holiday

Thread Thread
 
miclgael profile image
Michael Gale

Side note: sometimes, managers can be women :)

Collapse
 
seanmclem profile image
Seanmclem • Edited

It can go either way for me. Sometimes I have a lot of ideas really fast and end up taking a lot of notes on Trello boards when I should be writing code. And when I'm in the code I find myself kind of losing my place a lot and having to backtrack to remember what I was trying to do. But then other times, it's that thing that I need to help me focus, slow down, and get things done.

Collapse
 
edmongarcia6 profile image
Edmon Garcia

We're on the same boat man I taking lots of notes and pseudocode for my project using notion. whenever I started typing my solutions I kinda feel lost too :/

Collapse
 
schmitzel76 profile image
Patrick Schmitz

Sometimes when I look at code I wrote earlier, being high would have been a good explanation of how that code came to be.

Collapse
 
ericgeek profile image
EricGeek

Not high, but drunk. This was before git, before svn, and the code was hand optimized assembly language. I'm very glad I had a backup, because in the morning, I was looking at it going "What was I thinking?"

Collapse
 
nobsob profile image
NobSob • Edited

I've worked stoned a lot of times. This is an exciting experience. After the joint, I think much more exciting and creative. I like that my imagination goes beyond the limits, and I can create something incredible. In addition, all the anxiety, nervousness, and bad mood go away, and I feel great.
I feel incredibly relaxed when I smoke marijuana of excellent quality. My head doesn't hurt at all. I even feel much better. I've even experimented with CBD products a couple of times. These products are also very cool, besides very tasty. Great variety.


tillmanstranquils.com/product-cate...

Collapse
 
amacc profile image
Amacc

All the time, I actually find that after a good smoke sesh I am a lot more creative when approaching problems. And with programming being the work that it is there really isn't any wrong answer (and when you get down to it its all just text) and when you can kind of see the meta side the results can be pretty unexpected. But note that isnt always the case :P

Collapse
 
asixjin profile image
King Asix

I thought developers were allergic to getting high lol. I like to smoke a joint or bowl and drink water when I code, but I prefer sativa to indica for obvious reasons.

Collapse
 
vapordev profile image
Wagner Abrantes

doing right now

Collapse
 
alighali85 profile image
Ali Ghali

Have you ever been high?

Collapse
 
codefinity profile image
Manav Misra

There is a gitmoji for something like this, "Write code drunkenly."

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

High on life?

No. Never.

Collapse
 
jtmst profile image
Josh Mills

As Ernest Hemingway used to say, code drunk, debug sober

Collapse
 
drgaud profile image
DrGaud

what am amature question:
Start and end you day on a high note, and everything in between is a beautiful melody....now toke, toke; passs