DEV Community

Cover image for Review of Scaler Academy (InterviewBit Academy) by Nipun Suradkar
Sumeet M for Scaler Academy

Posted on • Updated on

Review of Scaler Academy (InterviewBit Academy) by Nipun Suradkar

We are delighted to bring to you the journey of our Scaler "Nipun Suradkar" who is an amazing example of "When talent meets hard work, anything is Achievable". Presenting his journey in his own words:

My background:

"I was born in Ulhasnagar in Thane district - Maharashtra and I did school and college from the same city. In school, I was a bright student, always securing above-average marks. One of my school seniors joined IIT, and his life suddenly took a turn for the better. Which motivated me also to pursue engineering. I was always into technology and this news aligned with my dreams and aspirations. However, up until 10th, most of us can secure good marks by the rote learning techniques and the stuff we study in 11th, and 12th really can’t be learned with that. I worked on genuinely understanding each and every concept to do well. Although I tried really hard and studied a lot, I was not able to crack IIT. I didn’t get disheartened and decided to make something of myself within my current circumstances. I joined VJTI college and started working towards achieving my dreams.

In school, I found electronics interesting, and I decided to choose that as my major in college with IT and Computer Science as elective. But after the 3rd Semester, I realised that electronics was not something I would want to pursue in the long term. I was more inclined towards IT and computer science. I searched online and found some detailed posts on Quora that helped me understand that I could learn coding on my own and pursue that once I finish my college degree. So I set on to do that. I did a basic C++ course and started practicing on InterviewBit. This conflict of interest between my interest and the branch I had chosen impacted my GPA as well as the college placement process. In some companies, I wasn’t eligible because of my GPA and for some because my chosen subjects did not align with their requirements. But I was not going to give up. I took whichever job I could find from college and alongside continued to study coding.

I was still using InterviewBit to practice coding when I got an email from Anshuman Sir about Scaler Academy (previously InterviewBit Academy). It was exactly what I needed. It would help me not only learn the requisite skills but also help with the referrals to jobs that I actually wanted to do. I applied for the first batch in April 2019, I couldn’t clear it. This was the time I was studying for my semester end exams as well as preparing for the entrance exam for Scaler Academy. I worked really hard and was able to clear both. I joined in May and the next 6 months at the program were beneficial to me.

My Review of Scaler Academy (InterviewBit Academy) :

My experience with them has been great, they helped me a lot to understand the different concepts and the application of them. In fact, although I have only been working for 6 months in the company that I got placed with from college, I got a job as a Web Developer 2 in Media.net.

They were quite happy with my performance during the recruitment process. They considered me on par with someone with 1.5 years of experience. I was able to build this kind of knowledge and understanding with help from the team at InterviewBit’s Scaler Academy. During my recruitment process with Media.net, Abhimanyu Sir guided me and helped me make the decision to join them. I am delighted with my experience here and have already recommended it to some of my friends who are currently preparing for their entrance exam. "

Read more stories here and on Quora.

Top comments (28)

Collapse
 
amanswarnkar profile image
Aman Swarnkar

Congratulations, more way to go!! for sure this post will motivate many more seekers to achieve their goals or at least to start pursue them.

Collapse
 
thedebuggerpriyanshu profile image
Priyanshu

Hey Nipun, I really liked your post. It inspires me to do the same in life as I can empathize with it somehow. I too have a job interview coming up in a couple of weeks for an IT firm. I wanted to know how your interview experience at Media.net was? Can you give me some tips, please?

Collapse
 
mohini9340 profile image
Mohini

Congratulations on your achievement. This is inspiring. 👍🏻

Collapse
 
rahulcoderguy profile image
rahulcoderguy

I also want to get into Scaler Academy and gave their exam once. Unfortunately, I could not clear it. Even though I am a good programmer, but I know I am lacking somewhere. Can you please guide me for clearing the entrance exam, Nipun? I am really eager to join!

Collapse
 
aayushasati05 profile image
aayushasati05

Indeed "When talent meets hard work and great mentorship, anything is Achievable"

Collapse
 
jaguk7n profile image
JAGUK7N

I I LIKE ANDROID PROGRAMING LAENING

Collapse
 
shubhamcoding profile image
shubham agarwal

Great post! You surely worked hard to start getting referrals that matched your skills. Can you let me know at what stage during your Scaler Academy years did you start getting referrals? And, how did you feel upon receiving a referral for the first time?

Collapse
 
ganesht59919900 profile image
GaneshT

Hey Nipun, I really liked your post. It inspires me to do the same in life as I can empathize with it somehow

Collapse
 
suhaspandey profile image
suhaspandey

Great piece of experience, Mr. Nipun. Your career journey had its fair share of ups and downs. This intrigues me to know how you managed your curriculum. Can you share a detailed post on that, please? I would love to know how you did it.

Collapse
 
amazonfashion10 profile image
Amazon Fashion

Congratulations..talent search its on way..work hard

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.