DEV Community

Cover image for From Construction to Code: My Journey into Tech
Lloyd Rivers
Lloyd Rivers

Posted on

From Construction to Code: My Journey into Tech

TL;DR: If you're considering a career change into tech, I highly recommend exploring apprenticeship opportunities. For me, pursuing an apprenticeship was far more beneficial than attending coding boot camps, which often rush students through the material. You can find a range of options through the UK apprenticeship portal here. The hands-on experience, mentorship, and structured learning environment provided by apprenticeships have been invaluable in my journey.


I hope this post inspires anyone who's just starting their own journey into tech. I want to share how I went from working in gas and electric boiler repair to becoming a software engineer—because if I can do it, so can you.


For me, the idea of becoming a developer sparked in 2021. I didn’t know much about coding at the time, but I knew I needed a change. After years of working in construction and repairing boilers, I felt like I wanted something different, something with more future potential. So, I reached out to a friend who was already in tech, and he gave me some advice that shaped my path: start with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

At the time, it felt overwhelming. I had not liked my job for a long time; the long hours and constant travel were taking a toll on me. On top of that, I had just become a dad for the second time, which made me reevaluate my priorities. I wanted a career that would allow me to spend more time with my family while also providing opportunities for growth and fulfillment.

So, I decided to bite the bullet. I quit my job (100% not recommended) and dove headfirst into learning. Looking back, I realize how little I knew at that time. If I had understood the challenges and uncertainties of making such a drastic change, I probably would have approached it differently.

A few months into my self-learning journey, I came across an apprenticeship opportunity. It felt like a long shot, but I applied anyway—and to my surprise, I got hired! That decision changed everything. Since then, I’ve been working at a large media company, continuing to grow and refine my skills in tech.

For those of you just starting out, there’s hope. It can feel impossible at times, especially when you’re making a major career change. But if you keep pushing forward, opportunities will open up.

Key Lessons from My Journey

  • There is hope if you're just joining the industry: Tech can feel like a giant mountain when you're on the outside looking in, but the key is to start small. Whether it's a single line of HTML or learning the basics of Git, every step you take brings you closer to where you want to be.

  • Don’t give up: The learning curve is steep. Everyone struggles at some point, whether it’s your first time writing JavaScript or configuring your first Kubernetes cluster (which I’m learning about right now!). What matters most is that you keep going, even on the tough days.

  • Be gentle on yourself: Remember, this is universally hard. No one expects you to understand everything right away. If something doesn’t click, take a step back, try again, and don’t be afraid to ask for help. Progress is progress, no matter how slow it feels.

  • Engage with the community: I posted non-stop in the Codecademy community, sharing my learning progress and challenges. This accountability led to two great outcomes: I was chosen to be a moderator and ambassador for Codecademy, and I connected with many other learners. Pairing with them significantly accelerated my learning.

  • Teaching others reinforces your knowledge: I volunteered with a nonprofit boot camp called CodeYourFuture. Most weekends were spent in person, and I helped students online when they needed extra support. Teaching the basics of JavaScript not only helped them but also deepened my own understanding of the material.

To anyone reading this who's unsure about taking that first step into tech, my advice is simple: go for it. It might not be easy, but it’s worth it.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
ayak22 profile image
Ayak22

Thanks for sharing your story!

Collapse
 
lloydrivers profile image
Lloyd Rivers

Thank you, I appreciate the support.

Collapse
 
neetesshhr profile image
Nitesh Rijal

Good one

Collapse
 
lloydrivers profile image
Lloyd Rivers

Thank you, I appreciate the support.

Collapse
 
deaw1 profile image
Deanna

Amazing story. Very inspiring!

Collapse
 
lloydrivers profile image
Lloyd Rivers

Thank you, I appreciate the support.

Collapse
 
pamify profile image
Pamela Jung

I have been following Lloyd since his early days of Codecademy. Inspiring story of determination, grit and resilience.

Collapse
 
lloydrivers profile image
Lloyd Rivers

Thank you, I appreciate the support.