DEV Community

Cover image for I Quit Searching For Jobs!!!
Scofield Idehen
Scofield Idehen

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at blog.learnhub.africa

I Quit Searching For Jobs!!!

For a while, I have been looking for a DevRel role, attended many interviews, and still without a job.

I decided to stop searching and spent the last two months thinking about my next step, and I realized that over a million companies are looking for people to create content around their products.

Many web3 brand, tech-based products need well-optimized and user-centric content.

I have decided to become a DevRel Advocate and ambassador to all companies. I promise to write and create FREE videos, podcasts, and documentation for all tech-based companies.

Yes, you heard right.

FREE.

Shoot me an email at [blackbird002@duck.com], tell me what you want, and see me create magic and promote it for FREE.

I know it will be a lot of hard work, and some might call me crazy, but I know Elon was once called crazy.

Let's Go.

Top comments (42)

Collapse
 
eelcoverbrugge profile image
Eelco Verbrugge • Edited

Been there, done that. I started my own company six months ago. I had three clients but am only getting offered freelance jobs right now. I decided to redo my website and rebrand myself as an agency. I did some projects for free, but I'm glad I learned this quickly. Tip: you can always ask people to trade services so you're not working entirely for free. Good luck!

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

True, nice strategy. I will keep that in mind.

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Hi there!

Your article is super awesome, but it looks like you might have accidentally posted this one twice.

Would you mind please removing one of the duplicates? To do so, you just need to navigate to your user dashboard, click edit beside the article, and you should have the option to unpublish it in the editor.

Thanks a bunch!

P.S: Here's the link to the duplicate :)

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Oh no, I just took one down, thanks for the heads up.

Collapse
 
thumbone profile image
Bernd Wechner

Unless you're a self sufficient angle, that won't be sustainable of course. But if you can survive it, doing that for a while can help build a portfolio that can help getting paid work (alas sometimes that's the only option many are finding).

As an aside, Elon still is called crazy by many (I don't want to debate that here, just tabling it - Google the the three pertinent words if unsure).

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

True that's the plan, I believe building from scratch with different startups, would allow leveraging my skills at the top.

I do not understand your point in the Elon case, care to explain.

Best.

Collapse
 
thumbone profile image
Bernd Wechner

You write that Elon was once called crazy. My point is simply that he still is called crazy. Just Google those the words: Elon Musk Crazy. And enjoy the reading and watching (of videos).

The topic is highly divisive of course as Elon has an almost religious fan base as well as ardent and blunt critics. Most anything today online can be highly divisive. So I won't with into that. I just wanted to point out that calling Elon crazy is not a thing of the past, is a present and live phenomenon.

Thread Thread
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

I see now, i should rephrase that Elon is still being called crazy yet he has the world in his hands and still making move smart people would likely call dumb.

Nice.

Collapse
 
syakirurahman profile image
Muhammad Syakirurohman

I feel you. I have been there a few months back to search some freelance works.

I quitted searching for them and started my open source project (github.com/devaradise/paradise-ui) & become active again to write in my blog.

I'm doing this for personal branding + learn new things. I was thinking instead of searching for them, why not make them search for you.

Because around 3-4 years ago, i was actively writing in my blog and some people reach out to me for some projects.

I suggest you do the same. Create some contents that people love 😄

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Thanks, Syakir, yes I do have a blog and yes my blog is growing, being building a blog.learnhub.africa for a year plus now.

I am trying to reinvent myself and build a momentum that can't be stopped.

Thanks for your kind words and wish you success in your project.

Let me

Collapse
 
lico profile image
SeongKuk Han

I feel you as a person who has been doing job searching for one year, ja, still without a job. I'm going down a different path though, I'm supporting you!
Unless we stop, we eventually make it right? of course, putting in the hard effort is necessary though. I think until you've made the decision, you must've been thinking about your decision a lot. Fighting (saying to cheer up in Korean)!

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Thanks, care to explain what path?

Collapse
 
lico profile image
SeongKuk Han

I mean, I'm still searching for jobs. 👍

Thread Thread
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Ok. Best or luck.

Collapse
 
jais99 profile image
Jaisal Srivastava

Elon is called Eccentric, not crazy. Glad to see so much positivity in you, you are on the right path, now you follow your dreams, turn yourself into a brand, create, innovate and motivate, do it for the money, do it for fame, do it for free, but remember, life will teach! Thank you for being a great addition to this community.
-Nobody

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Thanks for the correction. I hope it turns out positive at the end.

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

I proud of you bro! This is crazy and I like that...

You know what, when I dedicated for something and not hopping so much about what I will get for... Universe will count every move we did and increase the level until you on the top and people will looking for you!!!

I will shoot you! And lets make a friend...

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Most people can't seem to understand but you do and that gives me joy.

Shoot, I await.

Collapse
 
_ndeyefatoudiop profile image
Ndeye Fatou Diop

Sad to hear that!
Small tip: I wouldn’t do it for free because people don’t value free things.
If you want to do free things, I would post content online.

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

The idea is much more slicker than freebies, if you check I have over 300+ article written here and also on my blog blog.learnhub.africa

My idea is create a more consistent workflow and that's my plan.

Thanks for your nice words.

Collapse
 
_ndeyefatoudiop profile image
Ndeye Fatou Diop

That makes sense!

Best of luck 🙏

Thread Thread
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Thanks.

Collapse
 
officialphaqwasi profile image
Isaac Klutse

Big ups, I love the energy there.

Collapse
 
mike_andreuzza profile image
Michael Andreuzza

Well done, I also quit my job back December tired of not owning my time, now I work full time for myself.
I would not change it for nothing....at all.

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

This is the motivation I am talking about. Thanks for putting this out here.

Collapse
 
mike_andreuzza profile image
Michael Andreuzza

Let's go 💪💪

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Keep working 🙏👏

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

That's the plan.

Collapse
 
bybydev profile image
byby

Your plan doesn't seem right.

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

I wouldn't know until I try it or you have tried it.

Collapse
 
jais99 profile image
Jaisal Srivastava

Exactly! Keep going! God has sent us down here for a very special purpose, and the purpose is you! Live life to the fullest! All the very best!

Collapse
 
lotus4p profile image
Lotus4P

Will it find me I keep finding routes to master this skills and experience knowledge for profitable application and lifestyle.

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

True, find your path, no one would help you with that.

Collapse
 
aniagoluchiemelie77 profile image
Aniagolu Chiemelie ®

Proud of you 🔥🎉

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Thanks a lot for such kind words.

Collapse
 
poetsmeniet profile image
Thomas Wink

Good for you sir! I wish you the best of luck! (sent you a mail as well ;-))

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

I will follow it up..

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.