DEV Community

Shannon Crabill
Shannon Crabill

Posted on

Sick beats, tutorials & podcasts, oh my!

During the work week, I tend to listen to a Spotify playlist while I work.

Somedays, I feel like it's a missed opportunity.

Why not listening to a tutorial or something related to the dev skills I am trying to learn in my free time?

What do you all listen to while you work. Music, technical tutorials, podcast or something else?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

Almost 100% music . with a strong emphasis on Progressive Trance and House (Above and Beyond, Yotto, OliverSmith, Seven Lions, Andrew Bayer, Jason Ross, etc). I like hip-hop every now and then too, been going through a bit of a sadboi phase involving way too much Lil Peep.

I can't stand tutorials or video content...they don't hold my attention or move fast enough.

Collapse
 
_justirma profile image
Irma Mesa

I tend to fall into listening to lo-fi either on Spotify or Youtube. Something about instrumental beats in my ear while working keeps me focused and productive. Here's the Spotify playlist open.spotify.com/user/spotify/play...

I have a podcast I host, which you can find here (if interested, no pressure): elevatdlife.com

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi

I second the lofi beats, this is my favorite channel: youtube.com/watch?v=hHW1oY26kxQ

I posted some podcasts I like at dev.to/politedev/music-vs-podcasts...

And sometimes I listen to audiobooks if I'm doing something that doesn't require a ton of attention.

Collapse
 
philnash profile image
Phil Nash

I could not concentrate on my actual work if I was listening to a tutorial or podcast in the background. I find I have to focus on one thing at a time, so I tend to listen to Spotify myself.

Collapse
 
arximughal profile image
Muhammad Arslan Aslam • Edited

Recently, I've been listening to Japanese (& other) Lofi Hip Hop Beats a lot when coding.
This one's good

Collapse
 
hwolfe71 profile image
Herb Wolfe

I've got to listen to music. Usually local FM radio or my iPod.