DEV Community

shadowtime2000
shadowtime2000

Posted on • Originally published at h.shadowtime2000.com on

What Travis CI New Billing Means for OSS

What Travis CI New Billing Means for OSS

Recently, when I was checking my Travis CI build statuses, I found out that they are transferring their services to travis-ci.com from travis-ci.org. I looked more into it, and it turns out there is a plan to change the billing system.

What are they doing?

For OSS repositories, you are given a 10K credit allotment which is around 1k Linux build minutes. Once that is up, they are hoping that you will consider on of their payed plans. But, for OSS projects, you can also submit a request to get more credits for your project.

But why?

They are doing this because they have seen increased abuse of the platform which increases the queue time for users that use it well.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx

Hi. I think I read somewhere that people think it isn't abuse, it's that after the acquisition (they got bought by a company), that that company changed them more towards enterprise and less towards oss. But great overview!

Collapse
 
shadowtime2000 profile image
shadowtime2000

Sorry, I am a little confused by what you mean by

that people think it isn't abuse

When I was talking about abuse, I was talking about how they are doing this model because people are taking advantage of the CI services to do stuff like cryptocurrency mining.

Collapse
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx

Oh, I meant that some people think that it wasn't mainly that (that made them switch the pricing model), but that they wanted more profit.

Thread Thread
 
shadowtime2000 profile image
shadowtime2000

Ah, that makes sense now. Yeah, thats probably true. I think its kind of sad you have to request more credits if your an OSS project, because tbh I think some of my OSS projects aren't that "good" to qualify.

Thread Thread
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx

I never really used Travis, but github actions could help you. You get 2k action minutes per month (mac has a x10 multiplier, and windows a x2), but those only count for private repos. So you basically get infinite CI time on public repo's

Thread Thread
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx

@shadowtime2000
(Read above comment before this)

If you are switching from Travis to GitHub actions you should read this

Thread Thread
 
shadowtime2000 profile image
shadowtime2000

Github actions are pretty cool, but when you have a somewhat large or complex OSS project I would create a GH organization, which has limited CI time, but I really don't use that much :). I really like the flexibility and the pluggability of GH actions, but my coverage service, Coveralls, I believe requires some hacks for any CI other than Travis. Thanks for the docs link, I think I will look into it.

Thread Thread
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx

Your welcome!

Collapse
 
gklijs profile image
Gerard Klijs

I did notice the queue time increase. Time will tell, as long as it's writing it's fine. Might look for alternatives some day.

Collapse
 
shadowtime2000 profile image
shadowtime2000

Yeah, I noticed for some of my projects it took roughly 1 - 2 hours for the build to start.