DEV Community

Sloan the DEV Moderator
Sloan the DEV Moderator

Posted on

Were you ever fired as a junior developer? What’s your story?

This is an anonymous post sent in by a member who does not want their name disclosed. Please be thoughtful with your responses, as these are usually tough posts to write. Email sloan@dev.to if you'd like to leave an anonymous comment or if you want to ask your own anonymous question.


I'm curious to know if anyone on DEV has been fired/has heard of anyone being fired from a junior dev position, and how that affected their career and ability going forward.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
joshistoast profile image
Josh Corbett

I was only an intern, but I never ended up getting a permanent position at the company from it. They told me it was because 'they weren't looking for any new permanent devs', come to find out this wasn't true at all; found at the real reason was because I wasn't engaged enough and wasn't trying to learn as much as I could've.

I completely agree, at the time I had no real passion for the field... I just wish they'd told me the truth and brought it up sooner.

Collapse
 
abhinavmir profile image
abhinav the builder

my project got discontinued, so I wasn't needed there anymore - company was a VC, and had another senior dev apart from me and honestly he was more than enough. When I was hired, he was part-time, but he wanted to go full-time, so I guess it made sense from their perspective. No hard feelings, they were good to me and after the severance I took a much needed break. Best thing to happen to me. Every failure that ever happened, paved a new solid path. No fears.

Collapse
 
deltd3v profile image
deltd3v

You guys are getting jobs ????? 😱

Collapse
 
highonnode profile image
Divided by zero

My first job was an internship as a Frontend Dev(Reactjs), there were 3 developers including me, first day of job I'm handed over a list of bugs that needs to be fixed on their dashboard, so taken aback by this tried hard, going through codebase, trying to fix errors, now this was first time I was working with a huge codebase, before this I'd written Tic Tac toe at max in reactjs, and please note that no walkthough of code was given. Needless to say I underperformed, even after that received little support in terms of understanding of codebase, I was fired after a month or so. Looking back I'm glad that I didn't get to continue there.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

It's sort of happened to me and I know of other people who had a similar experience. I was once let go and made redundant from a company so sort of like getting fired maybe? The developer work dried up and they were pretty unorganised to be honest. My experience there was not too great so I did not feel bad about it really.

Collapse
 
bubster profile image
TvO

I was let go/fired because of covid. The company I worked at lost a lot of clients in a very short amount of time so there wasn't any work for me to do, especially since I was just a junior.