DEV Community

Cover image for Nevertheless, Josefine coded in 2022 🚀
Josefine Schfr for Storyblok

Posted on • Updated on

Nevertheless, Josefine coded in 2022 🚀

I keep surprising myself again every year. It might be my inability to think ahead or develop a proper career plan for myself, but if you told me a year ago where I would be in March 2022, I don’t think I would have believed you.

Well - technically, I am still in the same place. My living room - pandemic-wise, looking in from the outside, things are pretty similar. Nothing else is, though, and I couldn’t be happier about it.

So, where am I?

After struggling with many aspects of my front-end developer job for some time, I started looking for a new position last fall. The job hunt was nerve-wracking and overall a great reminder of why we still need initiatives like #shecoded. One too many times, I sat across the table from a bunch of white dudes talking about themselves and their great ideas, having little consideration for - well - anything else. While I had become quite confident in my ability and worth working in a supportive team and somewhat protected environment, the real world hit me like a bus. I knew I wanted change but didn’t know how to get there if application processes looked like they did.

Women to the Rescue

Luckily, I dared to ask for help. The amazing Feli got me an interview with Storyblok (where I wouldn’t have dared to apply on my own, for sure). Long story short - after a few enjoyable conversations, we agreed that I would join the team. But not, as I had initially intended, as a front-end dev - but as a Developer Relations Engineer (!!!).

Until I held the offer in my hands, I was 100% convinced that this was a title for people who had spent 20 years in the industry. Who regularly spoke at massive conferences, had a large following and knew it all. I didn’t even have a Twitter account.

Taking the Scenic Route

Even though I couldn’t believe it at first, slowly, I began to understand why I might be a good fit for this kind of job after all. Coming from a communications background, I love writing, giving talks, engaging with a community. And while I definitely enjoy coding, I never felt like I fit in. For two years, I was really struggling to work from home - now I realize it wasn’t the place I was struggling with - it was the job.

In line with this year's motto, I want to encourage you to #BreaktheBias - not only (and very importantly) around you but also within yourself. Dare to dream big, challenge your own assumptions about who you could be - don’t let anyone, not even yourself, set a limit to what you can do.

Because the sky's the limit, when we stand in for ourselves - and when we stand together.

🤎

Cover image by Jay Mantri 🙏

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
raibtoffoletto profile image
Raí B. Toffoletto

Congrats on the new job 🎉

Collapse
 
kotzendekrabbe profile image
Feli (she/her)

I'm so happy for you. You are just amazing and that's why I'm also happy for Storyblok that they tget the chance to work with you! Keep on rocking!