DEV Community

Tim Roberts
Tim Roberts

Posted on

A Glimpse into my Future

Welcome to my first blog on dev.to! It would seem that most of you have not likely read any of my blog posts yet because there has been an issue with my old WordPress blog not getting picked up by Telescope. For those of you living under a rock, here is a little reminder.
Image description

Usually, we write a blog about what we have done throughout the week. This week, the professor would like us to write about what we are currently doing, or planning on working on for the week.

First Order of Business

I have already been looking into some other things, but I will put those on hold for now in order to complete this week's blog.

A lot of hours have been spent by the team debugging the issue. At first it seemed like a 305 error, but in testing it was not easily repeatable. Sometimes a 305 would pop up, other times it was a 500 error, and then other times it would give no error. The professor then thought it might be a cashe issue, so after getting Josue to flush the cashe, my feed was still not getting picked up.

The professor finally found out that my feed appeared to be empty. I did a little more research into the issue. Apparently there is supposed to be a feed: url inside the meta object of my blog. After a some time searching for it I could not seem to find it.

I figured since I started that blog over two years ago, and left it inactive after finishing the previous course could have been causing the issue. It was also only my blog that was causing an issue, and I was the only person using WordPress for my blog. I decided to join all the cool kids and start a blog on dev.to.

Current Issues

Image description

The issues I would most like to work on are the ones that are on hold. For 'Making Telescope usable by registry' We are now waiting on the confirmation from Docker to see if we qualify for there special program that would allow Telescope to use DockerHub for free without restrictions. Image description

Slimming our images is dependent on our images getting registered so once we figure this out, I will have a lot of work to do. In the meantime.

Issue 2835 Seemed like it would be an easy one to start with this week. I first checked with Francesco to see if he started working on it, and he had so I moved onto the next issue.

  • Turned out that Francesco has ran into an issue for it and would like some assistance. I have already taken a glance and came up short, but will spend some time with it later. Image description

Before Francesco asked for help on that issue, I had started looking into issue 2799 about using the GITHUB_TOKEN in all of our env files. I have been poking around the autodeployment folder for a bit based on Josue's recommendation Image description

I think I will have to edit the lines found here in the deploy.sh file Image description

I'm not certain that that is the right spot to alter the code, so I am going to spend a little bit more time looking at it, and if nothing clicks I will then ask for some clarification. I'm also not really sure how to go about testing that it works. A theme that seems to be coming up often.

Wrapping up

Well there you have it. That is my plan of action for this week in Telescope. As you can see from my issues, I am really trying to stick with my goal for 3.0 and do all things Docker. Hopefully my feed gets picked up this time so I can stop having my name show up in issues.

Top comments (0)