DEV Community

Cover image for πŸŽ„πŸŽ DEV10 πŸŽπŸŽ„: A Christmas Gift for the Best Community on 🌍
Sarthak Sharma for XenoX

Posted on • Updated on

πŸŽ„πŸŽ DEV10 πŸŽπŸŽ„: A Christmas Gift for the Best Community on 🌍

Merry Christmas, all you lovely people.

5 days ago, I was sitting in a cafe with my teammate and we were discussing how cool Dev.to is, while I was writing an article about menubar apps. Then suddenly I asked him, "What if there was a menubar app for Dev.to?"

He said "Man! That would be super awesome!"

So I asked a few other developer friends about it and they agreed that it was a good idea. And that's how I decided that I would try my best to deliver this app within 5 days. As a Christmas present for the beautiful people of this community. πŸ€—

So here I am with Dev10 v1.0.0. Let me quickly walk you guys through the Key Features.
Dev10

Features

  1. You can see new top posts from Dev.to in your menubar, every time you open it. The list will contain top 10 posts, as the name suggests.
    dev10 top list

  2. Browse through the top 100 tags of Dev.to and see the top posts from a tag by clicking on it.
    Dev 10 top tags

  3. You can click a post to open it in the browser.

  4. Or save the post in the Piggy list 🐷. It's like saving a post; the only difference is the next time you see that post in the top list, you will see a shouting piggy there, trying to convince you to read itπŸ˜ƒ. You can also remove the post from your piggy list by clicking the same piggy icon.

  5. You can filter through saved posts by tags.

Stack

For this project, I gave myself the challenge to use Vanilla Javascript only. It's not like I hate frameworks or something, but the scope of the app was not big enough to demand a framework. Other than that I have used:

Compatability

This app is available on all platforms.

Join the Party πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰

I invite you all to contribute to this project. It's not the best code I have written but it works. Feel free to report bugs, suggest features or even work on one in your own free time.

GitHub logo sarthology / Dev10

🐷 A nifty little app that shows you the top posts on Dev.to in your menubar.

Dev 10

A nifty little app that shows you the top posts on Dev.to in your menubar.

Download latest release

Feature

  1. Check the top posts from Dev.to right in your Menubar.

  1. Check the latest posts from top 100 tags on Dev.to.

  1. Save the posts in your Piggy List 🐷 to read later.

  1. Filter the saved posts using tags.

  1. New Dark Mode

Prerequisites

Before running this locally you must have these installed

  • Node
  • Electron

Installing

It's built in electron so the process to start this is really easy

  1. npm install
  2. npm install electron -g
  3. npm start

That's it, you will see it running in your menubar.

Contributing

Feel free to contribute to this project and treat it like your own. 😊

License

MIT License

Author

Sarthak Sharma

Acknowledgments

Thanks Dev.toπŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’», for being a massively inspiring platform.

Icons used from flaticon




Thank you all for building this amazing community. Merry Christmas πŸŽ…πŸ» and Love you all ❀️.

Update: Excited for 2.0.0? Join this Gitter group now to contribute.

Top comments (45)

Collapse
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz

Yo, this is pretty dang cool! The fact that you did it in only 5 days makes it even more impressive.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Thanks, man !! 😊

Collapse
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz

I'll try to help out in refactoring the code if I find the time. Holidays are pretty hectic, you know?

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

I know man. I hope you liked your present though. πŸ˜ƒ

Merry Christmas 😊

Thread Thread
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz

Happy merry to you, too! πŸŽ„

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This is sooo cool!

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Thanks, Ben. Glad you liked it. 😊

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

It does work. I didn't get enough time to make a build for Linux. But you can check this post. Also feel free to make a Linux version if you want and let me know if I can help in any way. 😊

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

The "Linux" version is nearly a quarter of a gigabyte and doesn't seem to do anything - I'm not sure what is supposed to happen when I run it?

Collapse
 
iankurbiswas profile image
Ankur Biswas

Told you it's a super cool idea πŸ˜‰πŸ‘

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Let's see man πŸ€žπŸ˜€

Collapse
 
thorstenhirsch profile image
Thorsten Hirsch

Good job, looks pretty cool. I like how you've used pigs all over the place. And you seem to be a funny guy with a strange sense of humour: 😊

...the scope of the app was not big enough to demand a framework. Other than that I have used:

  • Electron
Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

haha, You got me there. I mean framework like Angular or Reacts.

Collapse
 
gauravmehla profile image
Gaurav Mehla

Cool !!

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

😁

Collapse
 
emmabostian profile image
Emma Bostian ✨

Hey that’s me! I got pigs!

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

haha, Yeah you got screaming pigs. πŸ˜ƒ

 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Let me know bro @sarthology If you are able to build it for Linux platform. 😊

Collapse
 
mak12776 profile image
Mohammad Amin Khakzadan

Hi

No, its not the best community on the ..., its one of the best communities on somewhere.

I actually dislike js, electron, and all other cool stuffs in JavaScript, but great app. Hope to get better and bigger. πŸ‘πŸ‘Œ

Collapse
 
mkenzo_8 profile image
mkenzo_8

Very cool! The 134mb are worth it! :)

Collapse
 
mrbenj profile image
Ben Junya

I'm downloading this not for the content, but for the rainbow unicorn pig that is also farting out a rainbow used as your loading spinner.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Haha, Piggy Rocks 🐷

Collapse
 
alyson profile image
aly quey

great :)

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

😊

Collapse
 
ryuheechul profile image
Heechul Ryu

Very cool!

 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Thanks for your contribution man 😊

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

That’s why have to go for Electron. πŸ₯΄

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.