DEV Community

Carl Vitullo for Tech Workers Coalition

Posted on

Why do you love your job?

Jobs aren't all frustration and misery. What does you job do for you that makes you happy to stay where you are? The benefits, a great perk, your coworkers, the projects?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
vcarl profile image
Carl Vitullo

I'm loving my current job because it's the first time in years I've felt trust between myself and my coworkers. When I review PRs, I know that feedback will be honestly considered, and I don't feel like I need to jump on the hard tasks to prevent them from being done badly. There's no micro-managing of tasks, we're given the space to experiment and discard what doesn't work. Over the past year, I've learned many good patterns from those I work with by reviewing their code.

My career thus far has been full of short tenures because of stress and a lack of trust, so this is a welcome change of pace.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

I get to work remote! It is also a downside sometimes, but there are a lot of benefits that work to my advantage in my stage of life:

  • don't have to get someone to take my dog out
  • have time to make my own meals
  • no commute!! which means time saved and less stress
  • don't have to do laundry as much because I wear less clothes πŸ™ƒ

We also have flexible work schedules, which is great. I generally have a set schedule now, but it lets me do things like take a mid day break to go to the gym or run errands. It's nice to know that I work with people who trust that I will get my work done when I need to.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

As far as the remote work perks go, I feel like I could pretty much duplicate @andy's list with some slight adjustments...

  • get to chill with my cats all day 😸😸😸
  • I also love some home cooked meals!
  • used to have to 40 mile commute into work (about an hour and fifteen minutes drive each way with traffic!)... cutting that out has been so refreshing!
  • I actually do more laundry than ever because my machine is in the hallway next to me, haha. But clothing wise.. generally, I try not to bum too hard (I think!) but I do have a pretty bummy outfit on right now including drawstring shorts, haha. Woohoo, the perks!
  • and gotta say +1 to the flexible schedule.

There are totally some negatives of remote work too... but this post is focused on the ❀️ (haha, saving myself some writing!)

Anyway, outside of WFH, I really enjoy what I'm doing here with DEV! There are two major areas I cover: promoting articles and content posted here on DEV & helping to support the users of the site (voicing technical issues and modding the site). We have an awesome team of mods (dev.to/tag-moderation & dev.to/community-moderation) that really help to keep DEV content on point and spam-free; they're incredibly smart, passionate folks that want the best for the community and I feel lucky to work with them.

Which reminds me... the DEV core team is amazing! Everyone puts in a lot of effort to help support each other with juggling the different tasks we work on, we all enjoy solving problems, and all of us care about providing a welcoming inclusive community for developers. Lots of ❀️ for the folks I'm working with here.

Collapse
 
foresthoffman profile image
Forest Hoffman

Being part of the core team sounds heavenly!

Collapse
 
vcarl profile image
Carl Vitullo

don't have to do laundry as much because I wear less clothes πŸ™ƒ

I'm sure your coworkers appreciate learning this πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto πŸ™

A couple of my reasons:

  • I work with a bunch of super smart people who I learn new things from every day. We all can get shit done and work well together as a team.
  • Flexible working hours - I can work from home if I'm expecting a delivery, or come to work late if I need to schedule a doctor's appointment or run some other errand first in the morning
  • Free breakfast, lunch and snacks! I love food so this always helps
Collapse
 
ganonbit profile image
Andrew Reese

Coworkers. If I didn’t work with who I worked with I probably would’ve already left.

In saying that...not much else anymore. Planning my exit by the end of this year to try to find that happiness again in my job

Collapse
 
loki profile image
Loki Le DEV

I'm working on an exoskeleton to allow people in wheelchair to rewalk: big robot, helps people,
big technical challenge, really skilled coworkers so I can learn everyday, in the middle of Paris and I only walk 10min to go to work \0/