DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v141

Radish saying hello

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (246)

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Hello to everyone! I am starting my way up hill in programming in JS, adding some HTML and CSS. The pandemic force me to change careers and I will be glad to have the support of the community when things don´t seem to work and become a block in the way of becoming profficient in the area.
I´ll be glad to have any input and ideas on how to grow on this field and feel free to talk to me.

Collapse
 
shaksy_boy profile image
Shakeeb Shahid

Hello Pablo, good to hear. I am a beginner too. Let's do it.

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Thanks @shakeebdroids Definitely!

Collapse
 
baseely profile image
Shady Baseely

Hello Pablo,

Keep learning and reading new stuff everyday. Moreover you have to build things on your own. If I will give you an advice it would be TRY and don't be afraid this is how we typically learn and grow about new things.

Enjoy and keep in touch!

Collapse
 
crypticwisdom profile image
Nwachukwu Wisdom Ndubuisi

The real fact. 💯

Thread Thread
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli
Thread Thread
 
crypticwisdom profile image
Nwachukwu Wisdom Ndubuisi

Hi @pablo Carli

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Thanks for the advice! I will try my best @baseely !

Collapse
 
thriledlokki983_8 profile image
Nimoh Gideon

Hello 👋

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli
Collapse
 
anekantsinghai profile image
babe eliza

Hi pablo . How are you?

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Hi @babe eliza! I'm overwhelmed at the amount of info there is about JS, it's hard not to fall into a rabbit hole... Any advice?

Thread Thread
 
anekantsinghai profile image
babe eliza

Bro I literally recommend you to go deep down that rabbit hole ...things you'll experience are way way more surprising and cool than the mad hatter's dance . Also if you feel a bit lost we're here ...to lead the path...just stay away from the evil queen called java for now 😂 just kiddin

Thread Thread
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Will follow your advice!

Collapse
 
adesola2110 profile image
Adesola2110

Hello

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli
Collapse
 
ultimatecrypto1 profile image
ultimatecrypto1

Hello

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Hey @ultimatecrypto1 ! What's up?!

Collapse
 
iamshreyas931 profile image
iamshreyas931

hii

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli
Collapse
 
preshmorgans profile image
Preshmorgans

Hello

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli
Collapse
 
emmaisa59135261 profile image
Emma Isabella

Hi Pablo Carli

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli
Collapse
 
6dev profile image
Hok Kittichai

Hello 👋

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Hi @hok!

Thread Thread
 
6dev profile image
Hok Kittichai

Hello!

Collapse
 
inasse255 profile image
inasse255

hey pablo ! what project do you have in mind lately ?

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

For starters my portfolio and edit my LinkedIn profile! Then to start working on basic algorithms to gain practice...

Thread Thread
 
inasse255 profile image
inasse255

That's great idea to start with and also link your Linkedln profile with your github account so you can perfectly present your projects.
Good luck !

Thread Thread
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Thanks!

Collapse
 
zachjonesnoel profile image
Jones Zachariah Noel

Hello.

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Hi @jones !

Thread Thread
 
zachjonesnoel profile image
Jones Zachariah Noel

Hi @pablocarli. How's Dev.to going?

Thread Thread
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

I am beginning to receive interesting articles in my feed, they are really helpful! Any advice?

Thread Thread
 
zachjonesnoel profile image
Jones Zachariah Noel

Awesome! You can follow up the tags like dev.to/t/javascript, dev.to/t/aws, dev.to/t/react, dev.to/t/vuejs you will find some brilliant articles. If you are looking for AWS related with JavaScript, VueJS, React then you can take a look into my posts also.

Thread Thread
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Thanks for the advice @zachjonesnoel will do!

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Hi!

Collapse
 
sathwik14 profile image
Wagle Sathwik

Hello, I am also learning js, html, css along with other front-end frameworks to carve my career path in Front-end dev.

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Hi @sathwik14 , how are you choosing frameworks? I have been told to focus on JavaScript and just keep an eye on frameworks because there's always a new one coming up and it's hell to update a system from one to the next one, it's like toss it and start from scratch. Which is very expensive and time consuming in developing a web app.

Collapse
 
ayoolaaliyu profile image
Aliyu Ayoola

Great!

Collapse
 
xpsk8 profile image
Pablo Carli

Thanks @ayoolaaliyu !

Collapse
 
xapuu profile image
Xapuu

Hey guys, today I got my 3-years anniversary badge, for being part of the dev.to community. So I just wanted to brag about that :D

Collapse
 
rabj_ profile image
Rob ♈️

Congrats on 3 years mate!

Collapse
 
abenj4404 profile image
Alyssa

Hey Xapuu, congrats on 3 years! :)

Collapse
 
piratax007 profile image
Fausto Mauricio Lagos Suárez

Hello

Collapse
 
moraym profile image
Moray Macdonald

Hi! I'm an experienced senior developer but I'm always looking to learn more. I want to be able to index all the notes, tips, and tricks I've made over the years in various text files, wikis and even physical notebooks, and by making them public I can hopefully help out someone else!

Collapse
 
amrobobo profile image
rubby

hello

Collapse
 
abenj4404 profile image
Alyssa

Hi everyone! My name is Alyssa and I've been seriously programming for two years, seriously teaching myself software development for the past year, and am just now finding this great community.

I worked as a design engineer in the civil engineering industry for five years before realizing my true passion is in programming, which is why I'm here now!

My language of choice is Python, but I like learning new languages as well. I'm currently learning React and Javascript. I'm also looking for other devs to work with on some fun projects. Looking forward to connecting and working together!

Collapse
 
thumbone profile image
Bernd Wechner

If you love Python, Django and tinkering with UI skinning and designing I have project you'd be welcome to play with and try and make look nice ;-).

Collapse
 
thriledlokki983_8 profile image
Nimoh Gideon

Hey everyone, after finally investing 8months in self study to become a web developer I finally landed my first contract as a front end developer. Now I spend 30mins of my mornings reading articles from the Dev Community to keep the knowledge 🧐

Collapse
 
zachjonesnoel profile image
Jones Zachariah Noel

Hello! 👋👋

I'm Jones, developer turned Cloud Architect. I'm enthusiastic about AWS and I blog about AWS Serverless tech and architectures and AWS offerings.

Feel free to connect for any AWS brainstorming.

zachjonesnoel image
Collapse
 
emmaisa59135261 profile image
Emma Isabella

I am happy to join the community,
Building quality websites and applications with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

Collapse
 
xapuu profile image
Xapuu

Nice to have you here :) , what made you start your developer journey.

Collapse
 
shreshtab profile image
shreshtab

Hello everyone! I've been learning web development, mainly backend, for a little over a year. I'm looking forward to getting more involved with the community and to learn from all the awesome people here! I am also looking to start writing and hope to contribute where I can!

Collapse
 
sepalr profile image
Sepehr

Hello everyone!

My name is Sepehr. I've been a Front-End web developer for two years now, Focusing on JavaScript and React.js. I've been amazed by the web environment from the start. Thinking about all the things you can implement using only code just blows my mind and makes me want to get better at it every day.

I hit a speed bump when the pandemic started. I was not motivated anymore and I couldn't bring myself to work or study.

Now I'm getting back on my feet again. Trying to recollect all the stuff I forgot and improve my knowledge. Doing so can be difficult sometimes, so I was looking for a community to keep me motivated and help me push forward when I stumbled upon dev.to community.

I'm looking forward to being an active member and experience the learning process of Front-End development with you guys. I'm also open to any collaboration on fun projects with other devs, so always feel free to contact me.

Collapse
 
rabj_ profile image
Rob ♈️

Hi everyone, I am new in the coding world. I’ve been working on html, css, and starting Java soon. All this can be a little overwhelming, I really want to find a mentor to get me through this journey. Happy coding :)

Collapse
 
digitallyatanu profile image
Atanu Das

Hey Guys!

I am the newest member of this awesome community. I am really glad to be a part of it. I hope, I can make some values and create some valuable content, that will be helpful for our fellow members. Let's keep this community SPAM FREE and safe! Happy networking!

Regards
Digitally Atanu

Collapse
 
yohanlimapo profile image
Yohan Lim-Apo

Hello to everyon! I'm a recruiter and I come here when I saw this website on a profile wich I'm search for a client. I liked the layout and I'm checking to see if it's worth posting the jobs here. Will I be welcome here? e.e

Collapse
 
midwhiteflav profile image
midwhiteflav • Edited

Thanks for this opportunity to post. Right now, clueless! Been doing IT support for 20+ years, leaning towards cloud tech and in particular Azure and/or DevOps. I see the trend with "bootcamps" and flooding the market with beginner developers, reminds me of when I first started but with MCSEs and Microsoft certs that meant nothing after a few years. Scary. Would love some REAL career advice and finding out this is a very loaded term, MENTORSHIP...

Collapse
 
oleglatypov profile image
Oleg Latypov

I work predominantly as a Senior Software engineer and product development. I have gained extensive experience in web/mobile development and UX/UI design in a commercial and not for profit environment.
Rounded knowledge of Web, Cloud technologies, and creative skills, I work closely with clients and developers to bring concepts to life, from wireframes and prototyping to the live product. I frequently work with marketers, product owners, and team leads with complex interactions and integration.
I work equally well alone and as part of a global multi-functional team. I have good practical, communication, and organizational skills, be a mentor and team leader.
I have vital skills in usability, accessibility, cross-platform browser issues, advanced JavaScript, HTML, CSS based design. Good knowledge of using Amazon Web Service and Google Cloud Platform.

Collapse
 
kodingandketo profile image
Steve

Hello everyone! Just started my journey with HTML, CSS, & JS. I'm excited to meet lots of people and talk about code !!
My friends really aren't into this stuff so I'm looking to meet more people I can talk to about code!... Or video games or music or whatever haha.