DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v151

Stefan from SNL waving hello

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (257)

Collapse
 
wedgaz profile image
wedgaz

Hi. My name is Eric; I'm interested in learning to code and hopefully make a career out of it. I have learned how to make a basic website with html and css (more or less)and now trying to learn javascript.
Thanks to everyone who build this platform and thanks for all support.
Everyone here is Awesome!👍👍

Collapse
 
immuslim profile image
IM-Muslim

Hey, I'm Muslim from Indonesia. It looks like we share the same interest. I hope we're both successful in accomplishing our goal. Best of luck! :-)

Collapse
 
wedgaz profile image
wedgaz

Hi.
Yes I hope we are. Good luck too.
Thanks ✌

Collapse
 
blangkon_angga profile image
angga blangkon

Hay muslim,

Thread Thread
 
immuslim profile image
IM-Muslim

Oy, salam kenal bro! 🙏

Collapse
 
pius71145358 profile image
Pius bassey

Thanks

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
wedgaz profile image
wedgaz

Thanks

Collapse
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

Hey... Me too! 😂 I've started with app development instead cause I had apps in mind that I wanted 🤣 I like to explore different fields in tech so I'll definitely swing around the JavaScript jungle soon!

Collapse
 
rahulkar profile image
Rahul-Kar

Yeah bro same here I love to to code and build cool websites with React and firebase✌️✌️

Collapse
 
snigdha667 profile image
Snigdha Singh

Great

Collapse
 
baaysoose profile image
Socé Ndiaye

bonne chance

Collapse
 
ganeshs_kumar profile image
Ganesh Kumar

Good luck Eric!

Collapse
 
angydev profile image
Angela Busato

👋

Collapse
 
nftcryptomix profile image
nftcryptomix

Hi My Name is Steve, I am from New Zealand and I am learning code to hopefully build P2E games. As I am researching and trying to understand the mechanics your site came up and Ithought the article was great and signed up. I hope to meet like minded people and meet some Dev's who might be able to direct me on the right path. Anyway Hi DEV community :):):).

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV! 👋

Whale hello there!

Collapse
 
nftcryptomix profile image
nftcryptomix

Thanks Nick and I am here to learn.

Collapse
 
portalsandcake profile image
Michael Volckmann • Edited

If Wall-E came out of hiding.

Collapse
 
erduoliveira profile image
Eduardo Oliveira

Hello Steve. Good luck!!

Collapse
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

Hi 👋 Had to Google what P2E is and sounds very cool. What got you into them?

Collapse
 
nftcryptomix profile image
nftcryptomix

I have been a gamer all my life, played since Atari and Commodore 64 and most the game since. I have spent 10's of thousands of dollars over the years in the gaming industry. Earlier this year I joined Splinterlands a P2E blockchain gaming platform which cost me $20 for spell card and I brought about $400 worth of cards not expecting much back in return but a good game to play. Those cards are now valued at over 10K and I recently sold a few of my Splinterlands cards and got into other P2E games like Dcrop and Star Rising on the Hive Blockchain. After thinking about it, I thought why not build my own game, as I have over 30 years playing in the gaming culture. I know so many special features that I can add that would revolutionize the ecosystem, the only way I can do that is if I build it myself. Slow process but I can see the rewards. Thank you for you question SynCodes.

Thread Thread
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

That's awesome! It's cool that you know exactly what you want to achieve from the get go! As for me, I'm still exploring different interests like app development, machine learning and VR stuff which I've got really excited about since I got an Oculus Quest... But I can only do one or two things at a time 😒

Thread Thread
 
nftcryptomix profile image
nftcryptomix • Edited

I will probably head into dapp's, VR and machine learning. I see so much potential with machine learning in security in essence it could understand the virus through a virtual machine and build layers on the virus to make it null. My mind likes to go all over place lol as I am learning the basics I am trying to tune into the built stuff too so I can see similarities in learning and building to give me a better understanding on how things tick.

Thread Thread
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

That's a very interesting application of machine learning!

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

welcome animation

Collapse
 
johanpereyra profile image
Dr. Johan Fitzgerald P. Sasso

Interested in machine learning, A.I, Cloud computing, Health-Tech, ethical hacking, virtualization, hardware, electronics, social engineering, researcher and developer of electronics tools and software for pentesting and ethical hacking. PhD in Medical Sciences.

Collapse
 
d3toxg profile image
Aiyejumo Gbenga

We share similar interests but I don't know how long it would take me to learn this under one hood. 🤔

Collapse
 
evanskwofie5 profile image
khojo

Hi there, my name is Kojo, from Ghana. I have been rooting around React for the last two months and although I am yet to grasp the concepts completely, I must admit it is a fun thing. Webdev has become the first and last love these past few months and I am happy to be here to share my journey with you and also learn from you. Thanks for having me.

Collapse
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

I know how you feel. I've been addicted to coding since I started 😂 Good luck on your journey 👍

Collapse
 
yasirahtech profile image
Yasirah

Hello my name is Yasirah, I am from New York and I have been interested in tech for most of my High School career. I am currently a software engineering fellow and so far I have made a website with two of my classmates using CSS and HTML. I am currently testing out the fundamentals that I have learned for JavaScript and have been writing and playing around with JS code. I want to start studying Python, C++, and React.js by March 2022. Stay in touch if you are a new developer as well and would love to create code challenges and then we share them with each other :P

Collapse
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

Hi Yasirah, new developer here 😁
I'm learning Python right now and I'd love to do code challenges! Also, I'm interested in dabbling with web development in a few months, so we could help each other on our journey!

Collapse
 
yasirahtech profile image
Yasirah

Omg Hey Syn!!! 😆 I would love to help with and be apart of your web development journey and I look forward to chatting about what you've learned in Python so far! Also, what type of developing are you doing right now? And about code challenges... I'll follow you on GitHub, and we can use that as the space for sending code challenges to each-other!! 😁

Collapse
 
d3toxg profile image
Aiyejumo Gbenga

Hi, I am Gbenga from Nigeria. I am a web developer, and a bit of a network enthusiast.
I have written codes in python and I would love to learn alot more about python's fastAPi and also alot about web3 development.
I usually code only when the need arises but I would like to code every day that's why I decided to join this community.
I believe I can learn more daily and hopefully make career in DevOp.
I am sincerely looking forward to sharing and learning a lot from this community.

Collapse
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

Hiya, I'm learning Python at the moment. I'm curious, what type of projects did you work on so far?

Collapse
 
d3toxg profile image
Aiyejumo Gbenga

Machine learning project to predict an outcome.

Collapse
 
mahadev_k profile image
Mahadev K

Hey everyone I am Mahadev,
I saw great articles from dev in my google recommendations and so I joined this wonderful community to contribute and support the dev.. Google knows people better nowadays 😅.

Collapse
 
svetlanajoker_58fba960a4 profile image
Svetlana Joker

Hello,
I work on the Internet and hope for new knowledge and experience.
Thank you.

Collapse
 
slinky_dev profile image
Andrew

Hello, Andrew here. I got my start in web design way back with a no-code website builder and have since learned HTML and CSS. Currently studying advanced CSS and Javascript. I am excited to be here and looking forward to this journey.

Collapse
 
tourmaline profile image
Tourmaline

Hi. My name is Dariel, I'm studying computer science and learning web development with HTML, CSS, JavaScript, TypeScript, Node.js. I'm latino from one of those islands in the Caribbean Sea. I'm very interesting in learning more and more about programming and discussing technology topics, sharing my thoughts and learning from other more experienced developers.

I'm searching for active programming communities to join and this seems a nice one, I hope to integrate well with the community.

Collapse
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

Hey, nice to meet you 😊 My name is Syndra and I would also love to make lots of friends in the community to learn from each other and have fun 😄

Collapse
 
hardikjain0101 profile image
Hardik Jain

Hi My Name is Hardik, I am from India and I am learning code to hopefully build website using MERN Stack. I was exploring and one of my friend suggested about your site and I thought to visit once and it was great and I signed up. I like to make ne friends and meet some Dev's who might be able to direct me on the right path. And Hello DEV community....!!!!

Collapse
 
drewk profile image
Drew K

Hey all, been a semi-regular reader for some time, looking forward to joining the community officially. I'm a full stack web dev primarily working with Java & React, looking to broaden my skillset. Looking forward to engaging more with this community!

Collapse
 
necolanch profile image
Nicholas Cruz

I look forward to seeing any knowledge you might share from your current experience!

Collapse
 
kaiseler profile image
Kaiseler

Hi my name is Luis. I have 37 years and I am learning html and css for now.. I want to change my life I work in a factory and I want to achieve a front end developer career and I want to give my best regards for this paltform thank you very much

Collapse
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

I feel you... I'm also trying to change my circumstances and reach my full potential! Best of luck on your journey... You got this!!! 💪

Collapse
 
kaiseler profile image
Kaiseler

Thanks, you to I wish you the best, and that you reach your goals

Thread Thread
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

Thanks 👊

Collapse
 
taromi profile image
Taromi

Hi! My name is Taromi(nickname) and i am from south korea. nice to meet you. I'm working as a web developer. i love php language and laravel framework. recently i studying flutter framework. Anyway Hi Everyone in DEV community! :)

Collapse
 
syncodes profile image
SynCodes

Yay, a Flutter buddy! I'm also learning and trying to level up my Flutter skills. Let's keep in touch!

Collapse
 
krygore profile image
Krygore

Welcome to the community!! I started learning front-end development in February. I'm about the same level of education as you and working on learning JavaScript and bootstrap. Good luck on your endeavours!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.