DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v167

Alien waving hi

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (120)

Collapse
 
chelle profile image
Michelle Randall

Ohi there! Nice to meet everyone, I'm shiny and new here at dev.to and I'm looking forward to getting to know this platform better and meeting some fellow devs 🤓🇨🇦💜

Collapse
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

Welcome to Dev.to !! Hope you have a wonderful time here !!

Collapse
 
chelle profile image
Michelle Randall

Thanks! Anything in particular that you recommend on dev.to as a front-end dev? :)

Thread Thread
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

Nothing in particular. Just follow all tags related to front end and you'll be seeing lots of good articles :)

Thread Thread
 
thesocietyboy profile image
Anu Gupta

mr. liftoff how can i follow all tags if you tell pardon then may be it would help me.
thankyou.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Captain America saluting

Collapse
 
chelle profile image
Michelle Randall

Thank you!

Collapse
 
jaumeacr profile image
jaumeAcr

Hi Michelle,
Another newbie here at dev.to, nice to meet you!🤓

Collapse
 
baraa_baba profile image
Baraa Baba

Hello I love sharing my story with the dev community and seeing other people stories.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Welcome here!

Collapse
 
williamlake profile image
William Lake

Welcome!

Collapse
 
spoder profile image
Spoder

Welcome!

Collapse
 
meabigailjordan profile image
Abigail Jordan

welcome!

Collapse
 
abc0xmattyic333 profile image
abc0xmattyic333.BTC ♦️🥞 

New here, looking to submerge myself into Web3 and Blockchain Technologies. I’m sorta teaching myself how to develop and code, any tips or references would be greatly appreciated thanks guys! I’m happy to be here!

Collapse
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

Welcome to Dev.to !! Hope you have a wonderful time here !!

Collapse
 
abc0xmattyic333 profile image
abc0xmattyic333.BTC ♦️🥞 

I have been having a great experience learning how things are interconnected, lots to digest!

Collapse
 
spoder profile image
Spoder

New here, I want to post about progress on my Discord bot, stuff I'm learning, and more! 👍

Collapse
 
williamlake profile image
William Lake

Welcome!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

Welcome to Dev.to. Hope you have a wonderful time using this platform !!

Collapse
 
web3manny profile image
Manuel Larrabee

gm. first timer.

I never heard of this website before this week. Currently, I am taking a course on Udemy to learn Solidity and to build NFT marketplaces as a start to my portfolio. After just a brief glance and scroll of this site, I quickly realized that being a part of this community and becoming a contributor would help me on my journey to becoming a developer. One of my activities here is to not only be someone who takes information and value but also shares it and provides it to others.

My name is Manny. I am on my way to becoming a Web3 developer.

Nice to meet you.

Collapse
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

Welcome to Dev.to !! Hope you have a wonderful time here !!

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

I was brought here by friends on LinkedIn suggesting a new place for me to write. Love the UI and UX here. From a write's perspective this is hands down the best experience I've ever had for publishing articles, by far! Love the Markdown thing and how it creates a default Open Graph image for me if I don't provide one myself! Wrote my first piece here today for those interested ^_^

dev.to/polterguy/jwt-details-and-a...

I'm looking for a new place to share ideas and constructs about our Open Source tool Magic Cloud. For those interested you can find it here ==> docs.aista.com/

I suspect I'll be spending a lot of time here in the future writing articles for those interested ^_^

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

Psst, my obsession ^_^

dev.to/polterguy/crud-automation-a...

Collapse
 
zhcalvin profile image
Jiawei Li • Edited

Hi there, I just made a new open-source tool for checking CSS duplications and similarities between classes: css-checker. Wish to learn advice from more developers.

Collapse
 
prirai profile image
Priyanshu Kumar Rai

Joined here for an experience among the equals and the professionals. I know Java, C, C++, HTML (+pug), CSS(+sass), JS (+D3), python, Mathematica.
I know a bit of Kotlin, Lisp, etc.
Interested in learning AI/ML, Rust, Gamedev and cybersecurity.

Collapse
 
mtwn105 profile image
Amit Wani

That's quite alot😊

Collapse
 
fonkoufobar profile image
FONKOU BARTHELEMY

Hello or good evening to the whole community

I can't really remember how I got here, but it was by browsing the internet for research on web development.
I am a Delphi developer. I'm looking for online jobs but I found that Delphi alone doesn't allow me to find what I want. So I decided to increase my skills by learning modern programming languages. Registered at Codecademy where I am taking courses to become a "Full stack software engineer", I am looking for websites to help me reach my goal.

That's why I'm here.

Thanks

Collapse
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

Welcome to Dev.to !! Hope you have a wonderful time here !!

Collapse
 
dranoid profile image
dranoid

Hello! I'm new here. I actually joined to submit an assignment but while I was preparing the article, I realized that I really enjoyed myself wile writing. So I hope to become an active member and to share the things I've learnt and the things I'm going to learn on my JavaScript and web3 journey

Collapse
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

Welcome to Dev.to !! Hope you have a wonderful time here !!

Collapse
 
prashantanshgupta profile image
Prashant Gupta

Hello Dev,
I am here because I am learning JavaScript, html, CSS to get a fresher job. Because I have a career gap so it is very difficult to get job so to achieve my goal I have joined this community.

Collapse
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

Welcome to Dev.to !! Hope you have a wonderful time here !!

Collapse
 
sirojkhan profile image
siroj qutbiddinov

ERROR: While executing gem ... (Gem::FilePermissionError)
You don't have write permissions for the /System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/2.6/usr/lib/ruby/gems/2.6.0 directory.

help me please

Collapse
 
amit2908 profile image
amit2908

Have you found any solutions so far?

Collapse
 
isaac_large_b23df5c6ba04d profile image
ISAAC LARGE

Currently am learning GOLANG in PIRPLE, I want gain more understanding in Golang, then also am learning python Django, I want to be perfect in them. then I want to a good web developer. Am not that perfect in html css/ JavaScript. I'm here to gain more knowledge and to be perfect in my web design field

Collapse
 
chrissu profile image
Chris Su

Hi guys, this is my first time to come here and I really love the atmosphere here!

I will share what I have learned by myself in the daily and this is also a chance to review.

I'm still a nerd in sql, but I believe I can make a progress in sql learning as soon as I can!

Collapse
 
jaumeacr profile image
jaumeAcr

Hello everyone! I’m Jaume and I’m re-starting my developer learning path that I quit seven years ago as I burned out. I arrived here because I’ve just started The Odin Project. Hopefully this community will be a nice place to share and learn from each other.