DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v168

Ladybug in a flower saying "Hey"

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (204)

Collapse
 
belobrol profile image
Maria Belo Brol • Edited

Hello Dev people!
🤦As a housewife,🧖😿 I currently work from home. ☹️☹️I haven't worked in any offices or outside jobs.
🔆 I have a bachelor's degree in informatics and a master's degree in economics. I'm currently in the process of changing jobs. 🏢💼At least, that's how I see it.
😎I spend a lot of time considering how I can make a difference in the world. I'd like to help out with a project.
👍💠It will be interesting to meet people who are working.
😄 I believe I can bring a high level of enthusiasm, resourcefulness, and overall positive energy to the table. Because of my open and friendly personality, I am also a good team player.
👌I'd be delighted to work on a fascinating project for a long time.

Collapse
 
sushm_86 profile image
susmita mitra • Edited

Hi,
You can code along to awesome youtubers
youtube.com/watch?v=mpby4HiElek
contribute to large open source projects
medium.com/@likid_geimfari/the-lis...

Apply to awesome remote internships
twitter.com/outreachy

Check return to work programs:
womensweb.in/2015/10/12-companies-...

Network with people in same position:
powertofly.com/jobs/

Hackathons:
devpost.com
Cheers!

Collapse
 
ryan_darling_87 profile image
Ryan Darling

Thank you for the resources! I love how much stuff is available online, but getting it from vetted sources for quality is even better! The code along youtube tutorial looks awesome. I saved that one to watch later :).

Collapse
 
belobrol profile image
Maria Belo Brol

Hi Susmitra,

I appreciate your tips.
🌞⭐❤️
Maria

Collapse
 
marifm1986 profile image
Arif Matubber

Thank you @sushm_86 Susmita Mitra

Collapse
 
rdwnsjjd profile image
Redwan

Housewife is a Honorable and valuable job! you must be proud that you can raise children who will take control of the future of the world!
My mother is a housewife! and I owe who I am today to the times when he could have pursed her own interests but stayed at home and nurtured me!
Good luck!

Collapse
 
thevoltron profile image
Silver Chiahemba

Would be great to learn a thing or more from you..

Collapse
 
ciola_juliana profile image
Juliana Ciola Beltrami

Nunca presenciei alguém desta realidade trabalhando em um proj. Gostaria muito de poder presencialmente testemunhar o que circunscreve esse cenário. No trajetória p nós. Abç Jucabel.

Collapse
 
belobrol profile image
Maria Belo Brol

Boa Tarde Juliana,
Eu também acho estranho. Eu mesma não recomendo para ninguém ficar sem trabalhar. E muito menos virar dona de casa. Eu tenho tudo que uma pessoa pode ter na minha idade. Menos um trabalho. Pelo menos na minha opinião. E o trabalho que nem sempre senti falta agora sinto.
Um abraço,

⭐❤️
Maria

Collapse
 
amilessej profile image
Amilessej

Good luck to you!

Collapse
 
belobrol profile image
Maria Belo Brol

Thanks 👍. Good luck for e too.😃

Collapse
 
cassiofreitas profile image
Cassio Freitas • Edited

Hi everyone. :-)

I have been working with computers since 1987. I love to learn new things everyday. I am coming back to programming computers area, after more than 15 years. My best skill is to learn how things work and combine to build new things. I am a creative person and I don't like to do repetitive tasks, so innovation and automation are things I am always looking for. Thanks. :-)

Collapse
 
subinbabu profile image
Subin Babu

Hai
Iam new to programming field ,basically iam not from IT background ,a electrical engineer graduate . I got job from a IT comapany through campus placement from that time I started to learning programming . Now Iam working on as a dotnet developer .

Collapse
 
william39867177 profile image
Shallina William

Hello Subin,

In the . NET space, all flavors of ASP.NET remain in high demand and we are seeing a rise in popularity of ASP.NET Core and Blazor. So, you can continue to your field.

Collapse
 
theyintii profile image
Kele Heart

dotnet is cool a lot of people use that. Good luck to you friend

Collapse
 
subinbabu profile image
Subin Babu

thanks ...

Collapse
 
rmurray_1 profile image
Riley

Hello devs!
I am currently working as a finished carpenter, but will be starting MITs coding boot camp next week! I do not know much in this field so if you have any videos, tips, or tricks please send them my way!!

Collapse
 
alfonzo_kgakole_007 profile image
Alfonzo Kgakole

hello

Collapse
 
tophandkatara profile image
TophAndKatara

Hello everyone!!!
I am like 15 years old and suddenly realised that I love doing CTFs...would love to know more about cyber security & ethical hacking
P.S.
I've been trying to learn a bit of everything els...wish me luck 🍀 🤞

Collapse
 
lavina04jain profile image
lavina04jain

Hey, I can totally connect to your post, that's how I feel.
Good luck!

Collapse
 
saimajavaid profile image
Saima Javaid

Hi everyone,

I have joined AWS Community Builders this month, I was working mostly in web apps. I also have experience in project and resource management. I am new to this community and looking forward to share my experience and learn from you all for new skills. I have started my cloud journey so i will be following you all until I am able to stand by your side :)

Collapse
 
creator profile image
John Buchanan

Hello Friends!
What a delight it was finding this forum while venturing the search engines! I've been an Ionic Angular Developer for some time, adding to my arsenal with Ethereum Web3 Dapp's Development. React is a fun new concept, I wish something were written in angular. If anyone could point in the direction of concrete Angular web dapp development I'd appreciate!

Thanks, John B

Collapse
 
goodeats profile image
Pat Needham

Hi all, my name is Pat. I've been coding since 2015 mostly in Ruby on Rails, HTML, CSS, JS, React and a modest amount of DevOps. I've been on a bit of a sabbatical and looking to get back to work soon. I've been learning a bit of TypeScript and Node JS lately and intrigued from the outside-looking-in on what's going on in web3. I've built tools for AI/computer vision for small startups and authentication for health tech. I figure I'll share some insights here and there if I can on here and happy to connect and see what everyone is building!

Collapse
 
edgr profile image
edouard

Hello there! 👋

I am Edouard, recently appointed EM at Factorial HR for the Activation Team. Working with RoR and React (TS) on a daily basis. Crushing time to value for our customers.

Looking forward to get to know, learn and share!
PS: we're hiring!

Collapse
 
lxchurbakov profile image
Aleksandr Churbakov

Hey folks! I am a fullstack TS/JS developer from Serbia, Belgrade. I work at Pfizer, but previously I've worked at Groupon, SeedCX and Upwork Enterprise (developing upwork site itself). I am incredibly keen to become an indiehacker, so if any of you guys feel like teaming up, I'd be happy to chat.

Collapse
 
11ericwayne11 profile image
Eric Phillips

Howdy!

I took some introductory Java & C++ classes while I was at the University of Texas at Arlington studying International Business. I planned to venture into coding years ago but found myself comfortable being the manager of a storage facility.

Now, I've found that I don't like the feeling of complacency and the field of software engineering seems right up my alley. I'm currently learning as part of the CoderFoundry community using their self-paced course (Which is really good IMO).
I'm excited to connect!

Collapse
 
afnancodes profile image
Afnan Codes

Hello World!

👨🏻‍🎓 A disappointed graduate of Bachelors in Information Technology.
😮‍💨 Why disappointed? Because apparently I did not have much to learn during my degree hence I am here to grow in this field by having hands on experience of development.
🆙 Looking out for better opportunities and growth. I don't define myself by the work I have done, I'd rather define myself by the work I want to do.
🔜 I like to challenge myself to the person I was yesterday.
💬 Looking forward to connect with you all. Cheers!

Collapse
 
cndavu profile image
Charles Ndavu

If you need help, reach out

Collapse
 
afnancodes profile image
Afnan Codes

Thanks @cndavu Will do 🔜

Collapse
 
sleeper3one profile image
sleeper3one

Hi 👋,

I got some experience as a wordpress developer, but only small projects. I hope to dive deeper to front-end, not only in wp, and find my first big project. I also have my side project idea to make Saas, so I`m looking for people interested in design, UI/UX, android & iOS devs, business angels, marketing spec ops and more.

Reagrds from Poland ❤️

Collapse
 
thatman profile image
Piyush Chhabra

Hi everyone, This is Piyush. My screen name is thatman.

I published my first article today: dev.to/thatman/a-coffee-table-conv...

Very excited for this journey alone with awesome devs. Happy to connect.

Thanks ;)

Collapse
 
thomasgerber profile image
Thomas Gerber

Hi all,
I am Thomas Gerber, Eng lead for Faros Community Edition, the open-source engineering operations platform that connects the dots between all your operational data sources for a single-pane view across the software development life cycle, which I think can be very useful for the DevOps community and the teams they support.
Previously, I lead the data infrastructure at Salesforce Einstein, so I have a good grasp at DataOps :)
Happy to be here!
github.com/faros-ai/faros-communit...