DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v183

Elmo waving hi!

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (156)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Hey y'all!

Hope everybody enjoys being part of this community!

https://dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/articles/utux8714i9tmjovteio9.gif

Quick tip: you can save any articles you like to your reading list by clicking on the bookmark emoji located directly beneath the heart and unicorn emojis. 🙌

If you have any questions about the community, platform mechanics, etc. don't hesitate to ask!

Collapse
 
mhmd_fazil profile image
fazil.klkt

btw what is unicorn emoji?

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Excellent question!

It's actually the same as the heart emoji, but just skinned differently. Both emojis are meant to be "likes" so if you leave a unicorn on somebody's post, you're basically saying that you liked their post. Behind the scenes, both the unicorn and heart are weighted the same and have the effect of making an article more likely to be seen by folks in their personal feed. This isn't the only thing that effects an article's visibility, but it's a contributing factor. If you're curious about all the contributing factors at play in the feed, then check out this post by the awesome @jeremyf. 🙌

So, you may be wondering why does DEV have 2 emoji reactions that do the same thing? To which I say, stop asking questions! 😝 Kidding... it's really just meant to be a bit of fun. We thought having a unicorn reaction felt kind of silly, kind of mysterious (clearly, haha), and that it added a bit of personality to the site.

However, we have been asking ourselves recently if we should keep this reaction, modify it in some way so that it's different, or drop it completely. Feedback most definitely welcome!

Thread Thread
 
gecemawi profile image
DeDeM

👏

Collapse
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

That's the thing. We don't know 🤯😬. However, you can choose to interpret it in any way you like.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo I like the idea of interpreting how ya wanna! Thanks for chiming in!

Collapse
 
japhethnamukuru profile image
Japheth Namukuru

A like emoji I guess

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, your guess is on point! That's pretty much what it is.

Thread Thread
 
japhethnamukuru profile image
Japheth Namukuru

unicorns🦄 are amazing mythical creatures and everyone likes amazing creatures 😊

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, I fully agree with this statement.

Collapse
 
sahilkashyap profile image
Sahil Kashyap (He/Him)

dev.to/binyamin/unicorns-on-dev-167b I hope this answers your question, Have a good day 😊

Collapse
 
mrmobin profile image
Mobin

Thanks for tips 🙏

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

You are very welcome!!

Collapse
 
hanghuhn_learns_to_code profile image
Verena

Hello!
I don't know what I'm doing here, but I'm trying to learn how to code (I did some courses on codecademy, Swift for example, and currently, I'm refreshing my R knowledge to use it for my master's thesis.
I'm in my late 30s, a university student and from Germany. I'm interested in app development and testing. Hopefully, I'll get a job in testing when I've finished university. Or something with UX/UI.
I like reading, writing, daily walks (I sound like an old lady. 😉 I'm also into knitting and sewing als well as drawing ... so I have a lot of creative hobbies).

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo!

Hope that ya find this community helpful in your learning journey. 🙌

Since you're interested in UX/UI sorta stuff, I'd recommend following #ux (and #ui though there aren't quite as many posts!) so ya can get more of this type of content! And, we got #r as well, but not loads of posts yet. You could certainly post under the tag though! 😀

As for your hobbies, they sound dope to me! I'm a daily walker as well, haha! Love taking little strolls by the river with my dog.

Well, again hope ya find this site helpful and best of luck on your master's thesis!

Collapse
 
levintech profile image
Levin

Dear, everyone.
Now I am learning AI to become an expert in this field. My goal is become a machine engineer from great AI team and contribute change this world better. :)
Main content of AI learning come from Coursera (Andrew's deep learning specialization) and Kaggle. I had already earn 12 certificates on Kaggle and finished 4 courses on Coursera. If there is better materials related AI, please recommend them.

I am happy being one of this great dev community and hope to learn from everyone.
If you are interested in my AI journey and want to go with me, I am always open to you. Of course, If you any offer for job or open source contribution, it's really helpful for me.

This is my github profile
github.com/thunderstroke325

Best Regards

Collapse
 
highnitin profile image
Nitin Joshi

Welcome to the gang buddy.

Collapse
 
levintech profile image
Levin

thanks

Thread Thread
 
highnitin profile image
Nitin Joshi

Connected on git, cheers.

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

Sorry, I've been here for a while, so I'm not really writing to introduce myself, I just want to say that you guys and gals have done an amazing job with DEV. These threads being one example of that :)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Dawww thanks, Thomas! Glad you're enjoying the experience here.

Collapse
 
em____j profile image
John Emordi

Here to learn, grow, connect and build

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Welcome!

Collapse
 
jlee1546 profile image
Jonathan Lee

Same here!

Collapse
 
flexice profile image
FlexICE

I’m glad to welcome everyone, I don’t want to tell you much about myself. I used to always avoid sites where programmers or developers can communicate because they thought it was always a toxic place and I would not be welcome, and yet I decided to create a profile here.

int main() {
    std::cout << "Enjoy!" << std::endl;
    return 0;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! It's great to have ya here Flex! 🙌

I'm a Community Manager here at DEV and can confirm that we try really hard to keep this place kind, welcoming, and inclusive, so I hope that it'll feel a lot less toxic than some of the other places you've been in the past.

That said, if you stumble on anyone violating our Code of Conduct or Terms, please don't hesitate to report them to us using the Report Abuse page. User safety and comfort is extremely important to us; we look at these reports daily and try our best to act quickly and fairly! However, we definitely rely on the community here to let us know when someone has stepped out of line, so again, please use that page to let us know if you see any questionable behavior.

Collapse
 
rosacodes profile image
Rosacodes

Hi all! I'm Rosacodes, and I am developer and content creator based in the United States. I post coding and productivity related content on Instagram (@rosacodes), and I have been reading articles on here for a while. I thought I would make an account, and even write some blog posts myself. Glad to be a part of this community!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! Welcome Rosa. 👋

Hope ya dig being a part of the community here!

Collapse
 
rosacodes profile image
Rosacodes

Im enjoying it so far. Posted my first post last night!

Collapse
 
alvi_niloy profile image
Alvi Adhikary Niloy

Hello Everyone ! I'm Niloy,

I'd like connect with a developer community to learn about coding & tech world. I see here a lot of developers with tons of tips & reviews helpful for newbies like me.

I'm currently learning Python & hoping to start javascript next.

Thank you for reading this.

Collapse
 
caromarks profile image
Marcos Nolasco • Edited

print('Hello, World!')

I'm a relativily new programmer (3 years and counting), and recently I recognize an important need about writing and sharing knowledge.
I mean, it's kind of hard to keep following the state-of-art technologies, 'cause it's kind of impossible (for me, at least) to continue work and study again and again. There are always a lot to do, to accomplish, to understand, too much indeed, so writing is a way to keep a record of learnings, and at the same time contributing to other people studies.

I entered this community so I could practice my writing, and find others thinkers, while studying and making network. I hope we can see each other a lot. (:

Please, if you have some tips or advices for a new tech content writer, allow me to know by replying this post, or any way you prefer. Thanks a lot!!!

Collapse
 
yeeyes_js profile image
Kristina Markovic

Hi all 👋
I'm Kristina Markovic, im 24 years old frontend developer with 3 years of experience.
Im really excited to start blogging about daily problems of FE developer and other interesting tech stuff.
Also my goal is to start learning TypeScript from Dev community and improve my English!
Wish me luck :)

Collapse
 
dda209 profile image
DDA209

Hello I'm Didier, living in Paris in France. I just started e new adventure to be a full stack Web developper.

Image description

Collapse
 
clayton_hoffman_aa0e737a3 profile image
Clayton Hoffman

Hello!

I am brand new to learning how to code and am very excited. I am currently enrolled in the UofO coding bootcamp, and my pre-work for the program recommended that I spend some time engaging with the Dev community.

I hope to to be posting some things that I learn on here soon. Thanks for having me.

Collapse
 
rajatt profile image
Rajat Talesra

Hello everyone,

I am personally here to share conte t about android which I personally found difficult to find on internet.
Currently I have written blogs about Accessibility in Android, there ar still many blogs pending in this series and later on i plan to write detailed content about WebView's in Android.

Collapse
 
_coderdan profile image
Dan Draper

G'day everyone!

I'm the founder of CipherStash. We take the "cry" out of cryptography by making it super easy to add Queryable, Application-Level Encryption (QuALE :p) to your Rails apps.

We're about to release our node lib and TypeORM integration with more languages just around the corner.

I'm based down-under in Australia and love chatting about Cryptography, Coffee and Startups in general.

Cheers,
Dan

:wq

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted