DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v192

A little white fluffy dog popping out of a white fluffy blanket with the word "hi" appearing on the screen

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (131)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Hellooo here ! ✨

My name is Thomas, 23 years old and live in France 🥖
At this moment, I'm into webdev, MongoDB, MariaDB, VueJS and most of the time : NuxtJS.

Let me know if you want help on DEV 😎🌱

Edit : Oh also.. don't hesitate to follow me on GitHub and my pretty nice projects around web dev 😄

Collapse
 
kaviiiiisha profile image
Kavisha Nethmini

Hello Thomas!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Hello!

Collapse
 
geesilu profile image
Luthira Geesilu

Hello Thomas!
Welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Aha I'm not new here but thanks !

Collapse
 
masterreach1 profile image
Ethan Cox

Hello Thomas! I'm pretty new to the open source world, so let's connect on GitHub. I think a collab on future projects would be awesome

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Welcome here Ethan !
In October, it's a good month to contribute on Open Source projects with the Hacktoberfest Hackathon ! If you want a translator or a contributor, don't hesitate to tell us !

Hacktoberfest 2022

Hacktoberfest: a month-long celebration of open-source projects, their maintainers, and the entire community of contributors.

favicon hacktoberfest.com
Collapse
 
andykb9b13 profile image
Andy Kleindienst

Hi Thomas!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

👋

Collapse
 
kalifasenou profile image
Kalifa SENOU

hi

Collapse
 
ibrahima_diallo_96e5576c1 profile image
Ibrahima Diallo

Bonne chance à nous frérot

Collapse
 
carlosjuniordev profile image
Carlos Junior

Hi Everyone,
My name is Carlos Junior and i have 25 years old, currently living in Lisbon, Portugal.

Passionate about frontend development and Web3, NFT's, currently working on a lot projects but mainly SouJunior.

If you are a newbie and want to learn lets get together and share experience!

Here is my github.

Collapse
 
geesilu profile image
Luthira Geesilu

Hello Carlos!
Welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
kaviiiiisha profile image
Kavisha Nethmini

Hello Carlos!
Welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
best2025j profile image
Gt

hi am in

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Hey folks!

Welcome to DEV. 🙌

Quick tip: you can create comment templates which you can use to set up responses that you use frequently. For instance, I have a number of quick tips which I've set up as comment templates so that I can regularly drop them into these welcome threads. To set your templates up, just navigate over to /settings/extensions and follow the instructions under the heading Comment templates.

To use your templates, you'll need to click into the comment input box, click the ... menu, and click the icon that looks a bit like a book. This picture should help:

screenshot that points out how to access comment templates

If you have any questions about this feature or anything else, don't hesitate to hit me up. I'm happy to help!

Collapse
 
gulyapulya profile image
Gulnur Baimukhambetova

Hello everyone! :)

My name is Gulnur and I am a 21-year-old international student.
Currently, in Canada.

I am here as part of my open source course, but the community seems very interesting so planning to stay. I am into Machine Learning and algorithms.

Who else is participating in Hacktoberfest this year? It is my first time.

Collapse
 
gaipov5791 profile image
Gaipov5791

Hello! My name is Bakyt! And i am from Kyrgyzstan! Currently i'm studying javascript and want to improve my skills with you! Sometimes I will turn to you for help, I hope you support me!!! Thank's a lot!!!

Collapse
 
dennocapi profile image
Dennis Mutuma • Edited

Hello everyone,
My name is Dennis living in Nairobi, Kenya.
I'm a Full-stack developer main stacks being NodeJs, Express, MongoDb, React Native, and ReactJs.
I'm here to learn and contribute in this community and also connect with other devs.
Looking forward to connect with you all.

Collapse
 
gigson profile image
Gigi Diasamidze

Hello Everyone ! 👋

I am Gigi Diasamidze, 20 years old from Georgia (country). I just finished my last project
and it is 6:19am. I understand why developers don't sleep much 😀.

I am Front-end Developer. Of course I am a junior, but cant wait to see how I will become full stack web developer in the future.

If you want any help or advise follow me on LinkedIn, or just add me and lets gain community together.

Soo.. how is your day going ?

Collapse
 
masterreach1 profile image
Ethan Cox

Hello!

My name is Ethan, and I am 21 years old. Currently, I live in the US.
Development is near and dear to my heart, but writing is a close second. I have joined this site to start writing technical articles for the world to absorb what I have absorbed over the past few years. My interests include cybersecurity, web development, and script writing.

As a certified ethical hacker, I know how incredibly cheap and easy it is to completely demolish or sabotage a site or its owners. My goal in development is to create great looking sites and UIs while still implementing the most up-to-date security protocols.

I hope to learn tons here and look forward to connecting with you all.

Collapse
 
silerncerxyz profile image
silencer.xyz

Hey all:
I'm new here and we are building this opensource low code project for all the developers. Please check it out here: illacloud.com/ or you can visit our Github Page here: github.com/illa-family.

Please leave a comment or give us any feedbacks if you have one regarding Illa.

Collapse
 
blakegates profile image
blakegates

Hello!

I am 35 years old from the US. I've spent the last 12 years as an automotive diagnostician and have decided to chase my dream to be in the IT field as a software engineer focusing on security.

I am currently waist deep in Go and loving every minute. I also hold multiple cybersecurity certifications which is a huge passion of mine.

Happy to be here to learn and meet great people!

Collapse
 
jeffersonsavidotti profile image
Jefferson Savidotti • Edited
#include <stdio.h>
#include <locale.h>

void main(){
        setlocale(LC_ALL, "Portuguese");
        char comentario[50];
        printf("Olá DEVs, sou novo na área! O que vocês me indicam estudar?\n");
        gets(comentario);
        printf("Está é uma boa opção para você estudar: %s", comentario);
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

*Estou no segundo semestre de ADS na UNIP, este código é só pra descontrair.. mas fiquei feliz por desenvolver ele :) *

Meu GitHub com mais códigos que estou aprendendo e os que fui desenvolvendo a partir dos que vejo em aula..

Collapse
 
ilessalobo profile image
Lobo

Olá Jefferson, sabe em qual área primeiramente você gostaria de se especializar? Back ou Front ? Ou FullStack?
Talvez para receber mais dicas do pessoal, acredito que seja melhor escrever em inglês, para poderem se comunicar contigo.

Collapse
 
jeffersonsavidotti profile image
Jefferson Savidotti

Hello, ah yes I understand, I will start from now, about how I want to work, I still need to define, I don't know how it works yet..
Thank you very much!

Collapse
 
iamsabbiralam profile image
Sabbir Alam

Hello folks!
Through this blog, I have tried to write as much as I know about go language. I will update this blog regularly. I have tried to give an idea of some basic go language data types here. I will discuss the advanced aspects of go language in the future.

dev.to/iamsabbiralam/go-lang-basic...

Collapse
 
josiahmann profile image
Josiah Mann

Hey everyone,

My name is Josiah Mann. I'm 37 and live in Springfield, Mo.

I learned to code online in 2013 to support my freelance web design habit, then became a full time front end developer, then started a SAAS company that eventually sold for 7 figures.

After that I took time off to finish recording an album I've had on my heart for about 15 years... and now I'm looking to create courses on web development and create some more micro-saas products.

Please say hello - I'm an introvert.

Collapse
 
danisvice profile image
/x/./0x

hey Josiah, that's an impressive intro! i wonder if there's any resources or anything on how a SAAS company works from your point of view.

Collapse
 
josiahmann profile image
Josiah Mann

Happy to elaborate, but I'm not 100% I know what you're asking with "how a SAAS company works".

I'll answer generally, but if this isn't what you meant, please feel free to clarify :)

Generally speaking, a SAAS company exists when people start paying (usually on a recurring basis - monthly or yearly) for a software you've built.

In my case, I figured out (through a ridiculously convoluted process) what niche I wanted to create software for, which was private equity real estate (a fancy way of saying real estate investors who buy big apartments and such). Without going into too much depth, the basic thinking in picking that niche was that:

a. I myself was interested in the niche and wanted to be a real estate investor
b. I knew they were making a ton of money, so I knew they'd be willing to pay a lot for software

Basically, I thought if I could build something they'd be willing to pay me $500-$1000/mo for, I'd only have to have 10 customers or so to pay the bills and then I'd be set for life...

So long story short, I personally cold emailed a bunch of people that we're in this niche, told them what I was doing, and asked them if they would be willing to hop on a call and answer a questionnaire about the challenges in their business.

A lot more people responded than I expected, but only a few of them were good "leads". Those few people (3 in fact) gave me specific feedback about some of the challenges they had running their business - and all three happened to have a common problem.

I emailed them all back, telling them I'd like to build a product to solve that problem, and asked for permission to stay in touch.

They all agreed, and all were happy to get on a phone call a week later when I had a working prototype of the software built (it was non-functional and just a HTML/CSS mockup with dummy data).

At that point I did screen shares with all three, they had feedback but loved it and were super interested in getting the software, so I asked them what they'd be willing to pay, they told me, and then I built it and stared charging them.

After that it's all a long learning process of running a business - but I had my first paying customers!

Thread Thread
 
danisvice profile image
/x/./0x

that's pretty straightforward, i'm sure there was more to it, but congrats! Right now , i am dabbling with html/css/js and know that SAAS has been a buzzword in the last few years. it's sort of like subscriptions. thank you for elaborating

Thread Thread
 
josiahmann profile image
Josiah Mann

Yea, SAAS stands for Software As A Service. It's basically when someone pays monthly for a software.

Collapse
 
mfonisoh1 profile image
Mfonisoh • Edited

Hellooo here ! ✨

My name is Mfoniso, 20 years old and I live in Nigeria 🥖
At this moment, I'm into webdev, Frontend Precisely, React, JavaScript and I am also in love with CSS.

Let me know if you want help on DEV 😎🌱

Edit : Oh also.. don't hesitate to Follow me on GitHub github.com/AirZED and my pretty nice projects around web dev 😄

Collapse
 
officialphaqwasi profile image
Isaac Klutse

Hello guys I'm Klutse Isaac from Ghana, I'm currently learning web development.

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Nice to know you Isaac