DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v197

Footage from Michael Jackson's "Thriller" music video — Zombies turning to look at the camera.

Welcome to DEV! 🎃

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (215)

Collapse
 
telcoder profile image
Tel-coder • Edited

Hi all,

My name is Terry.

I have recently enrolled into a front-end web development bootcamp and am currently trying to get my head around command-line fundamentals, Git, GitHub, HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Third-party APIs (such as jQuery and Bootstrap). Server-side APIs, AJAX, and JSON and agile software development methodology.

I am enjoying the journey and am keen to connect with like-minded people.

Thanks,

Terry

Collapse
 
ugopreneur profile image
Ugo Nwokoro

Trilogy boot camp too??

Collapse
 
telcoder profile image
Tel-coder

Hi Ugo, well spotted!! You must have recognised the syllabus. Looking forward to getting started. Are you on the day or evening classes?

Thread Thread
 
richard_brain_06845d29c62 profile image
Richard Brain

Haha, me too!!

Software telemarker transitioning to WebDev via a Trilogy Bootcamp!!

Thread Thread
 
ugopreneur profile image
Ugo Nwokoro

Looking forward to getting started but still trying to get through the pre-work, I’m on the day classes 2-5pm. You?

Thread Thread
 
ugopreneur profile image
Ugo Nwokoro

Day classes 2-5pm! I think we (on the Trilogy bootcamp) should create our own little community on WhatsApp or Telegram to help each other with tasks and stay motivated. Or has anyone else done this already?

Thread Thread
 
telcoder profile image
Tel-coder

Hi Ugo, I will be doing the evening classes - the WhatsApp group sounds like a great idea. If anyone has set one up, then please let me know. Thanks

 
richard_brain_06845d29c62 profile image
Richard Brain • Edited

I’m doing evenings, just started this week. Yeah I enjoyed the pre work, but there is quite a bit to get through!

Thread Thread
 
ugopreneur profile image
Ugo Nwokoro

I think we (on the Trilogy bootcamp) should create our own little community on WhatsApp or Telegram to help each other with tasks and stay motivated. Or has anyone else done this already?

Thread Thread
 
telcoder profile image
Tel-coder

Hi Ugo, that's a great idea... please let me know if know if you set one up or if you know of one, we can join. Thanks.

Collapse
 
victoriashapiro profile image
victoria shapiro

Hello Everyone!!
My name is Victoria and Im from London
So nice to meet you all!!
completely new to coding..... Decided to be brave and go for a complete career change from marketing!!
I have just enrolled on a front end web dev bootcamp course!! so lets see how this goes !

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Welcome here Victoria!

Collapse
 
rjshiva profile image
RAHUL CHOUDHARY

hello,
i am from iit bhu, i reached from a fest called hectoberfest22.
currently i am making some projects in web d. im intrested in java, html, css.
i would like to collab with dev community, and i like to make friends with developers

Collapse
 
souravrjpt profile image
Sourav Rajput

Hey RAHUL,
SOURAV RAJPUT this side. I'm also a web d enthusiast. I'm interested in c++, pyhton, and currently learning sql and express.

Collapse
 
myankpraksh profile image
Mayank Prakash

Hello Rahul, Hello Saurav

Mayank here, similar interests. Would you guys like to make a group or something and talk?

Thread Thread
 
souravrjpt profile image
Sourav Rajput

Ya sure , why not.
*sourav#1575 * this is my discord.
Come over there....

Thread Thread
 
souravrjpt profile image
Sourav Rajput

If it doesn't work, kindly use my email (souravrajput2760@gmail.com)

Collapse
 
rjshiva profile image
RAHUL CHOUDHARY

HY SOURAV , ACCORDING TO ALL OF US INTRUSTI CREATED A SERVER . JOIN IT AND SHERE IT WIH TECH BUDDIES. discord.gg/pNvNumqW

Collapse
 
_akash_5 profile image
Akash Pandey

Hey rahul i am also a beginner and started as frontend developer want to learn new things from u guys ..

Collapse
 
vladencode profile image
Vladimir Cvejanov • Edited

Hey and hi!
I am Vlad, nice to meet you all! I have 3 months of web dev journey under my belt, so look out, I`m dangerous! Lately been dabbling with the secret art of JS. If you feel you have the power, don't hesitate to shed some light on me, I promise I won't bite.

media.giphy.com/media/xTiIzJSKB4l7...

Collapse
 
benjistealth profile image
Ben

Hey dudes,
I am new here, just signed up yesterday. Done some low level programming before, but am super rusty, just starting a web front end course to help me brighten up my web projects :-)
Looks like a nice place to be 👍

Collapse
 
saimwebhr profile image
Muhammad Saim Hashmi

Hello everyone,
My name is Muhammad Saim, I have +3 years of experience as a Software Engineer.
I am currently learning complex concepts of React Native and Javascript.
You can hire me for Full/Part time job or for a project.
Contact me @ muhammadsaimhashmi@gmail.com

Collapse
 
rahulchandra195 profile image
Rahul kumar

**_`


Hey ☺
I'm Rahul Kumar. I'm front-end developer.
I'm freelancer in web development, and i am doing my full-stack course from crio.do.
i have lots of passion to learn codes and execute_ them,
i love to make friends and work with them

`_**

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Welcome to new members, don't be shy and don't be afraid to introduce yourself 🎃🍬

Collapse
 
adityamore7000 profile image
Aditya More

Hello all, I am glad to be a part of this community!! :)

Collapse
 
mickeymaruf profile image
Maruf

Hello there,
My name is Maruf, and I'm a developer,
Lerning new stuff daily, new tech new stack :)
Currently i'm moving forward to Node and Mongo, and I was reading a blog about React Dyanmic Title that brings me up here :)
Fun Fact: I am a full stack developer who knows a little bit of html :)

Collapse
 
irecatyl profile image
irecatyl • Edited

Omg.... I'm cursed 🤣 I keep typing things and then I touch my phone somehow and everything disappears.... my life. 😅
Ok...OK.... so let's try this again.🤔
To sum it up... new, classes start soon, dev recommended by school, learning everything. 🤪The curse lives on.... I deal with this regularly and actually feel the need to copy my texts as I go sometimes. Lol oh wow... well let's see how this goes. Excited to learn! 🤓

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! Glad ya were able to get your message posted and welcome to DEV! 🙌

Collapse
 
watkins_corry profile image
corry watkins

Hi all!
I'm attempting a career change at 43! This will be an interesting ride!

Collapse
 
loedolff profile image
Hans Loedolff

Corry, good luck! I'm super interested in the journeys people take to learn new things. Would you be willing to share your journey as you embark on this change?

Collapse
 
crwainstock profile image
Crystal Rose-Wainstock

You got this! It's never too late to learn something new and move in a new direction. I wish you the best!

Collapse
 
mohsen-khodabakhshi profile image
Mohsen

Hello,

I'm Mohsen and a Geek developer :)

I started programming from 2016, but I have more than 3 years of advanced experience.

My stacks are Python and Go.
You can find me in social networks with mohsen-khodabakhshi or pygopher.

Thanks,
Mohsen

Collapse
 
sophiejaynehowell profile image
sophiejaynehowell

Hi I'm Sophie I'm 23 years old and just starting out. I have enrolled onto a coding course with Birmingham univercity. I'd like to make friends with other developers and hope to get guidance off people with experience and knowledge.

Collapse
 
spiralforge profile image
Abhay Parihar

Hello Dev Community,
I am Abhay Parihar. I am a back-end developer. I develop REST APIs. I use Nodejs, MongoDB and Express as my tech stack for building API's. I also have front-end knowledge and can build responsive websites. I use HTML, CSS and JavaScript for front-end. Additionally I know bootstrap which helps in faster web development. Other than this, I know C++, Python, SQL, Reactjs and Typescript.

Visit my GitHub profile for more: GitHub
Let's connect and talk: LinkedIn

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.