DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v198

Cartoon dancer breaking it down... there are colors flowing off the dancer and it's a real 70's vibe. The dancer has an afro and bell bottoms.

Welcome to DEV! πŸŽƒ

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (181)

Collapse
 
skwiddevz profile image
T Parker

Hello, Hola, Ahoj, G'day . . I am learning coding for the first time as a mid 30's lifelong tradesman.. this world is fascinating.

Collapse
 
lucaswinkler profile image
Lucas Winkler

Hey! Are you trying to switch careers or are you doing it as a hobby? Also what do you want to create?

Collapse
 
skwiddevz profile image
T Parker

hello! yes I'm aiming to switch careers.. I've just started a 6 month Full Stack course, and have done a small amount of js previous.. I'm not 100% sure where I want to go but so far really enjoying js the most!

Thread Thread
 
lucaswinkler profile image
Lucas Winkler

Good luck! I went to college for programming but had some motivation issues a while back. I've been actively trying to improve my skills so I can get this going again.

Thread Thread
 
skwiddevz profile image
T Parker

Awesome, how is it going, do you have some good resources? I have found YouTube to be an endless source of info

Thread Thread
 
lucaswinkler profile image
Lucas Winkler • Edited

It's going pretty good. I'm happy with how my new personal website turned out and I'm currently trying to make 2 projects to display on it. Most likely a landing page and then some sort of bigger full-stack application or just implement an API. Not too sure yet.

Unfortunately I can't remember much off the top of my head. I've saved a lot of resources but they're scattered around my bookmarks.

I'll try to list a few though:

CoderFoundry on YT - Great for portfolio reviews, project ideas, teaching you how to get hired, learning full stack development and a lot more.

DesignCourse on YT - If you want to improve your UI/UX skills. Also does portfolio reviews which is great especially coming from a UI designer because he teaches you how to sell yourself using proper layout and good design skills.

Kevin Powell on YT - You'll learn all things CSS. He explains it better than anyone. He keeps up with modern CSS as well.

TheNetNinja on YT - I used to watch him in the past but I haven't recently because I honestly forgot. My friend recommended me this channel a few years ago. Teaches a bunch of technologies mostly backend related I believe? I could be wrong though.

TraversyMedia on YT is also great.

Well turns out these are all YouTube channels. Still great information though! I wish I had more resources to link but I can't think of much at the moment.

Thread Thread
 
skwiddevz profile image
T Parker

Wow heck yeah this is an awesome list thanks so much man! !

Collapse
 
phil_amis1 profile image
Philip Amissah

I want to develop web3 dApp, any guidelines?

Thread Thread
 
ayo_dejid profile image
Ayo dejid

You can learn the Blockchain tech and ita terms. After that you can go into it's languages. You can use Solidity with Remix IDE or Embark( it allows u to deploy dapps) or Prysm or Truffle to test the frameworks used.

Thread Thread
 
phil_amis1 profile image
Philip Amissah

Thanks for the knowledgeπŸ™πŸ½

Collapse
 
marcojhb profile image
Marco Agas

Hey T! I'm also in the same boat as you (30s, never coded before, busy learning). It's not easy keeping focused, however, working on some passion projects has really helped me boost my skills.

Collapse
 
skwiddevz profile image
T Parker

Hey Marco, awesome - same boat! Passion projects is something I need to get kickstarted properly, I think it will really help.

Thread Thread
 
marcojhb profile image
Marco Agas

I started with my portfolio, but realised I had no real projects. I made some basic ones, but now I'm trying to build ones that help me either in my personal life or in my career.

Thread Thread
 
skwiddevz profile image
T Parker

What kind of things are you working on at the moment, is this all with .js?

Collapse
 
ezazakhtar profile image
Ezaz Akhtar

Hi Parker! Really happy to know that you're learning to code! Are you starting with Python too?

Collapse
 
skwiddevz profile image
T Parker

Hey Ezaz - I actually started with .js last year for a project, and did do some HTML breifly around 1998.
I am learning js/python/Java and some other languages atm :)

Collapse
 
lucaswinkler profile image
Lucas Winkler • Edited

Hi I'm Lucas. I'm a front-end focused web developer!

Just finished making my new portfolio (and my new resume but it has old projects from school) and I'm very happy how it turned out.
Currently looking for ideas so I can make some fun projects that will help myself get more experience and also (hopefully) get an entry level job.

If you have any ideas/tips for me I would appreciate it a lot.
Oh also, don't be afraid to connect on my socials (All are posted on my website below)!

Portfolio: lucaswinkler.dev/ (no projects πŸ˜”)

Lucas Winkler β€” Front-End Developer

Lucas Winkler is a front-end developer based in Canada, Ontario who builds captivating web experiences.

favicon lucaswinkler.dev
Collapse
 
michthebrand profile image
Ikechukwu Charles

Hi, Lucas. I am also a frontend focused web developer.

I must say, you really build captivating web experiences. Your portfolio is just too good!!

For projects, you can work on creating a chat app with React and Firebase.

Collapse
 
lucaswinkler profile image
Lucas Winkler

I could try that out. Currently I'm attempting to make a bug tracker using Next.js, next-auth, tailwind, prisma and whatever else

Thread Thread
 
michthebrand profile image
Ikechukwu Charles

Wow, a bug tracker?? Is that even possible?

I read on your portfolio that you know you have worked with alot of frameworks. I really want to know how you did it?

Thread Thread
 
lucaswinkler profile image
Lucas Winkler

Well I haven't done too much. I've messed with a few or used th3m years ago in college. I've just recently started the bug tracker after inspiration from CoderFoundry on youtube. I most likely won't include a ton of features but it all depends. I'll have to see. Just been googling a lot and looking at documentation.

Collapse
 
calum_medlock profile image
Calum Medlock

Oh wow, that looks lovely! I really like how simple you made it look

Collapse
 
lucaswinkler profile image
Lucas Winkler

Thanks!

Collapse
 
marcojhb profile image
Marco Agas

Hi all! I'm busy learning to learn as much front-end as possible, but struggling with accountability. I enjoy this community as there's still a lot I don't know, but it's comforting to see many people in the same boat.

I started my own digital marketing company 3 years ago, but now I'm trying to move away from marketing and focus on the web design aspects.

Collapse
 
manelcecs profile image
Manuel Cecilio

Hello hello!!
Nice to be here!

It's amazing the engagement capacity this platform has for newcomers!

I've been interested for a while to write some post about software engineering, development and best practices but wanted to know what you would be more interested about:

  • General software engineering practices
  • Development approach/archetures
  • Development best practices
  • Specific theme (How to .... Using ....)
  • All of the above

Thanks in advance!!!

Collapse
 
aurelalb profile image
aurel-alb

Hello to all of you, my name is Aurel and I wish to become an FrontEnd Developer. I have studied Informatics for three years at a local university and I am wishing to explore this field as much as I can. I wish that we will all achive our goals!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo Aurel! You came to the right community for front-end stuff. Really hope ya dig it here! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
xtra001 profile image
NIcolas

hi , Hola ,oi , ciao I'm learning to code I'm a high school student
I speak 4 languages C1 English C2 Spanish A1 Italian PRE-A Portuguese
im learning data bases back-end app development

im a web developer now html, css, javascript
currently learning some bootstrap

Collapse
 
klmii profile image
klmII

Here to find answers to combining technoligies in business and personal projects. New to coding and want to learn. I'm familiarizing myself with js based frameworks, github, open source tools. Javascript is finally making sense to me, it really is like learning languages. There seem to be languages inside of languages in order to understand the first language you started studying!

Collapse
 
wrenzenzen profile image
Lindsay Kerr

Hi, klmll, it's my personal belief that JavaScript is not an easy language for a beginner to learn. At face value, the syntax is deceptively simple, but the code can act in counterintuitive ways when compared to other popular languages. If you are starting to get it, then that's great. I am not sure if you have gone over Kyle Simpson You Don't Know JS (book series) as these helped me to get to grips with the language.

Additionally consider learning Python as it is fairly easy to learn, and it is great for analytics, prototyping and scripting custom business solutions.

Collapse
 
klmii profile image
klmII

Thanks reading now

Collapse
 
adityam31 profile image
Aditya Mahajan

Hello everyone,
New to this community!
I am skilled in Java and PostgreSQL. I also have a keen interest in OOP and Software Design. Also, currently looking to pick-up another lightweight back-end language (leaning towards go-lang) for personal experimentation.

Looking forward to contributing and reading a lot of great posts here.

Collapse
 
engraya profile image
AHMAD YAKUBU AHMAD

Hey there!
I am Ahmad, programming and tech enthusiast, i have may hands laid on python as my first language, found the journey interesting and fascinating, hope to have good reviews and advices from great minds out there in the community
Happy to be here!
Chill ☺️

Collapse
 
haabe profile image
HΓ₯vard Bartnes

Hi all,

I've been working in web-related industries since the 90s - elearning, news media, marketing to name a few. Currently working as a consultant, mainly doing front-end stuff.

I finally decided to see what Dev.to has to offer other than being a perfect landing spot for many of my Google searches :)

Collapse
 
abhiiidev profile image
ABHISHEK VERMA

Hello developers, I am currently learning web development and inside it currently studying react.js . My journey of Open source just began this year only.
I joined the community to learn from all your experiences and other's journey .
#beProductive Devs
#beOpenSource

Collapse
 
cisnoral profile image
cisnoral

hello every one. coding is somehow difficult. but if you have any problem you can learn from any mentor as i have learnt and started my software house. i am offering mobile reparature berlin too

Collapse
 
zb333zb profile image
Oleksandr Bereziuk

Hello everyone! I am a simple mid 20's worker. Coding is my new hobby.

I started my journey just a month ago with Responsive Web Design from freeCodeCamp. I already got my first certificate in life and created my web page.

I like it. It’s cool. I plan to continue on.

Collapse
 
zb333zb profile image
Oleksandr Bereziuk

Hello everyone! I am a simple mid 20's worker. Coding is my new hobby.

I started my journey just a month ago with Responsive Web Design from freeCodeCamp. I already got my first certificate in life and created my web page.

I like it. It’s cool. I plan to continue on.

Collapse
 
zb333zb profile image
Oleksandr Bereziuk

Hello everyone! I am a simple mid 20's worker. Coding is my new hobby.

I started my journey just a month ago with a Responsive Web Design course from freeCodeCamp. I already got my first certificate in my life and created my web page.

I like it. It’s cool. I'm going to move on.