DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v46

lego hello

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. ๐Ÿ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (581)

Collapse
 
approachingapathy profile image
Ephriam Henderson

I'm currently attending a bootcamp and discovered this site through my instructor. I'm new to programming, I love working through challenging problems and technology in general. I want to learn more about coding and look forward to reading (and maybe even writing some of my own!) awesome development focused content here!

Collapse
 
sararf22 profile image
SaraRF22

hello, I'm also new to programming! I wish you the best

Collapse
 
nipunagg profile image
Nipunagg

Hi I'm also new to programming!!!.Wish you good luck

Thread Thread
 
lakesidebrenda profile image
Lakeside Brenda

Thank-you, to you as well.

Thread Thread
 
lakesidebrenda profile image
Lakeside Brenda

lol sorry, you weren't replying to my thread.

Collapse
 
mohit355 profile image
Mohit Raj

dev.to/dashboard to learn python from basics

Thread Thread
 
hleiva profile image
Hugo Leiva

Good thanks.

Thread Thread
 
jiganet1 profile image
Jiganet

I used it in my Facebook Game and it was great

Collapse
 
dev313 profile image
Devendra Singh Shekhawat

Hello

Thread Thread
 
vinay5758 profile image
Vinay

Hello,
looking to learn Python, Pyspark and AWS

Collapse
 
lakesidebrenda profile image
Lakeside Brenda

Thanks. My feelings exactly.

Collapse
 
freshprish12 profile image
freshprish12

Same here!!

Collapse
 
ladyinvincible2 profile image
Lady_Invincible

Welcome

Collapse
 
saswat1998 profile image
Saswat Ray

Even I am new to coding! All the best!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV Ephriam! ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป

Collapse
 
freshprish12 profile image
freshprish12

Hello!

Collapse
 
rubixnuggets profile image
Rubix Nuggets

nice

Collapse
 
michaelmantion profile image
Michaelmantion

I started and stopped coding 20 years ago. Just now getting back into it. I wish I stuck with it long ago but you know.... life. remember if it was easy it wouldn't be worth doing. hang in there.

Collapse
 
juvincent profile image
juju

Hello! Let's work / study hard!

Collapse
 
trackrunner profile image
Laszlo Toth

Hi,
Good to hear you are going back coding :)
I am in similar situation, I decided recently that I want to learn coding again.

Collapse
 
raeglazier profile image
Rae Glazier

Thanks for the reminder. It is sometimes hard to remember that I just need to push through and that it will get easier, its just a new skill I haven't mastered yet.

Collapse
 
mccreew profile image
Mccreew

Hello

Collapse
 
tahzid profile image
Tahzid

๐Ÿ‘‹. Hello

Collapse
 
freshprish12 profile image
freshprish12

Hello !

Collapse
 
iohenryugo profile image
iohenryugo

Hello , am also new here...Goodluck all the way

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Welcome to DEV, @iohenryugo ๐Ÿ‘‹

I wish you the best of luck :)

Thread Thread
 
iohenryugo profile image
iohenryugo

what are you into kim....ful stack web dev...Kindly send me ur github account

Collapse
 
ryanbacka profile image
Ryan Backa

HI! Good luck, it is very rewarding once you complete the training.

Collapse
 
decafdev92 profile image
William Bryce Angell

Hi Ephriam, I just joined Dev.to as well. It is awesome that you want to learn more about coding. What have you been learning in your bootcamp?

Collapse
 
approachingapathy profile image
Ephriam Henderson

My camp is a Full-stack Web Dev Camp, we've learned HTML/CSS, a little bit of Python, Node.js, Expressjs, and Postgresql among others. Next week we start on React.

Thread Thread
 
decafdev92 profile image
William Bryce Angell

Very cool. As a junior web dev I work with many of those technologies on a daily basis. You are on the right track for sure ๐Ÿ‘. I wish you the best in your learning.

Collapse
 
rosenbergtrash profile image
rose

good luck, dude (:

Collapse
 
sbu_05 profile image
Sibusiso Dlamini

Hello. I wish you the best on your coding journey :)

Collapse
 
arerex profile image
Arif Zuhairi

Wish you all the BEST!!

Collapse
 
alexskreen profile image
alexskreen

I am in the same boat! Good luck!

Collapse
 
joy3184 profile image
Elmacardor

Great to have you onboard Ephraim, I'm also just going through HTML and CSS. JavaScript's comes up soon, before I start learning
back-end. Gracias

Collapse
 
aum13f profile image
Tony

Hello, good luck learning to code! I remember writing my first program many years ago, and it was so empowering.

Collapse
 
celsommiranda profile image
Celso Miranda

hi welcome

Collapse
 
cracknutmeg profile image
Abhinav Shirore

Hola

Collapse
 
daniellehancock19 profile image
Daniellehancock19

Hi

Collapse
 
khyn profile image
Khyn Antoque

Hi Abhinav :)

Collapse
 
cfoulcard profile image
Christian

Howdy ๐Ÿค™

Collapse
 
khyn profile image
Khyn Antoque

Keep up the good work dude. I'm also intrigue what should I study now hehe

Collapse
 
mattthedev profile image
Matt Smith

I was looking through a thread on twitter recently that linked to a Medium post. That Medium post lead me here. I am very excited to have found a platform that is hyper dev focused, and look forward to consuming the groups knowledge, and hopefully contributing some of my own!

Collapse
 
oraclesean profile image
Oracle Sean โ™ ๏ธ

I saw the same post! Right behind you my friend!

Collapse
 
cracknutmeg profile image
Abhinav Shirore

There should be a degree for how much we have learnt from/on Twitter.

Collapse
 
chakrit profile image
Chakrit Wichian

Hello all!

This is a cool site! Especially now that Medium is paywalling everything :( So decided to finally get on here and it's an awesome place!

Keep up the good work, and ping me on twitter to say hi : )

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

Medium's the worst

Collapse
 
karuppaiah profile image
karuppaiah

Yes, Medium behind the paywall is horrible.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

One of the worst thing, though, is that on certain platform, they replace ' with '' and " with "".

Also, no Markdown. Not very dev-friendly.

Collapse
 
iphks profile image
IPHKS

Definitely agree. Happy to have found this site and looking forward to learning more!

Collapse
 
rahul_ramfort profile image
Rahul

Same here! :)

Collapse
 
chance_hacker profile image
ChanceTheHacker

Greetings! I too came here because medium is a horrible pay wall. Can't wait to join the community here.

Collapse
 
ghgore profile image
Griffin Gore ๐Ÿค”

Yeah I got irritated with Medium paywalls too, and I might even end up blocking them from my Google Now feed because of how bad it is :/

Collapse
 
cracknutmeg profile image
Abhinav Shirore

True, but at some point, knowledge should not only be awarded, but also rewarded.

Collapse
 
mikslat profile image
Mikslat

Yes! Agreed. Medium has lost its way. A fantastic community here. Best!

Collapse
 
indigowizard profile image
IndigoWizard

Hello everyone!
Got here through Hacktoberfest! This is my second year doing the event and it got me pretty interested in open source and joining a dev community despite not being one (unless for indie games x).

Collapse
 
shapovalovdev profile image
shapovalovdev

Yeah, me too.

Collapse
 
cracknutmeg profile image
Abhinav Shirore

+1

Collapse
 
liznix profile image
Liz Nix

Hi, I'm Liz. I've been working as a front end web developer since 2006. My greatest strength is CSS, but I could always be stronger. I joined the community because wanted to comment on the incredibly inspirational work of Tee Diange in this post: dev.to/acupoftee/25-days-of-css-an...

Collapse
 
chance_hacker profile image
ChanceTheHacker

Hey Liz, great to have you here. There is nothing better than an awesome site full of kick ass css. Looking forward to seeing some of what you can do.

Collapse
 
dayton_braison profile image
Dayton Braison ๐Ÿ’ป๐Ÿ

Hey everyone! Decided to take the leap and join a bootcamp to expand my skill set and make a drastic career change. I'm happy to be a part of Dev.to community and it seems like the perfect place to put myself out there and meet some amazing people!

Collapse
 
oraclesean profile image
Oracle Sean โ™ ๏ธ

Welcome! Best of luck on your career aspirations!

Collapse
 
dayton_braison profile image
Dayton Braison ๐Ÿ’ป๐Ÿ

Thank you!

Collapse
 
trackrunner profile image
Laszlo Toth

Best wishes on your career changing!
First step completed: you want a change,
Second: started learning.
Keep going

Collapse
 
juanbovo profile image
juanbovo

Hello there!

I'm Juan from Barcelona. I've been working on marketing for almost 15 years, but this year I decided to learn some coding. I attended to a bootcamp to get a boost and now I'm looking for a job. A month ago, right after finish this bootcamp, I had an accident while riding my bike and get an ankle fracture, so here I am: trying to recover lost time (and my walking skill too... but that's a different subject!) :)

Thanks for the good content!

Collapse
 
hleiva profile image
Hugo Leiva

ahh espero se recupere pronto.

Collapse
 
juanbovo profile image
juanbovo

Gracias, Hugo!

Collapse
 
rajtilakb1982 profile image
Rajtilak

Internet brought me here, and I am about to stay. I am a Data Visualization SME, but I also code, blog, and occasionally write a poem or two. I have a website (hashtagtechgeek.com), feel free to check it out when you get time.

Collapse
 
krkv profile image
Rodion Kryuchkov

Hello, you have a cool blog!

Collapse
 
dalevross profile image
Dale Vivian Ross

What brought me here: I read a post by Tae'lur Alexis, then decided to sign up.

I've been out of the workforce for ~3 years. Prior to that however I developed software professionally for 11 years.
I was primarily a back-end/integrations developer focusing on the .NET stack (C#/VB.NET/ASP.NET) with MSSQL databases.

I also did a bit of front end development with proficiency in jQuery/Vanilla js, CSS, and HTML though I'm far from an expert. I played around with Angular for a short while too.

On my personal time I dabbled with PHP and Python and can understand most code even if I lack familiarity with the language. I've also developed a chrome extension that had 1700+ users at one point.

I hold a B.Sc. in Electronics and Computer Science (Hons) from The University of the West Indies, Mona but it's fair to say I need a refresher in CS principles, thanks to lack of usage.

Due to complacency while in the field and the extended time off, I'm more rusty than I'd like to be and I'm therefore making a push to upgrade my skills and see where that leads.

Here's my Stackoverflow story if you're interested in seeing more
stackoverflow.com/users/story/1359290

..also my linkedin if you want to connect.
linkedin.com/in/dalevross/

Collapse
 
chance_hacker profile image
ChanceTheHacker

Even if you have been complacent in the past, you sure aren't now. Good to have you here and learning with the rest of us.

Collapse
 
bertilmuth profile image
Bertil Muth

Welcome to dev.to!

Collapse
 
roosto profile image
Dustรธ Masterson Goldman

I was laid off ~2 months ago, and my job search feels like itโ€™s stalling. Iโ€™m hoping to find some resources here to help me during whiteboard & on-device coding challenges, and maybe some community, too.

Iโ€™ve been following the dev.to account on twitter for a long time, and I really like the inclusive spirit and ideals.

Collapse
 
natebosscher profile image
nate bosscher

Hi! I just happened to google across this forum and saw some cool stuff and here I am :)
I'm a solo software engineer under the company name Blue Giraffe. I enjoy building web and mobile applications mostly in a react-golang-postgres stack. This looks cool, I look forward to getting to know you!

Collapse
 
cgul profile image
James

Long time hacky programmer looking for a place where people share and have fun!

  • I like IoT
  • I like React
  • I like Assembly Language
  • I like Rails
  • I like Pottery
  • I like Knitting

I am a big goof. :)

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

What you do with Assembly? Do you program microcontrollers or embedded systems?

Collapse
 
ihackthings profile image
Himanshu๐Ÿ‘“๐Ÿ’ป

I am a self taught developer. I work with RubyOnRails, Python, Django, Laravel. I am a continuous learner and love to share things. Currently I am doing #100daysofcode. Feel free to follow my journey :)

Collapse
 
benjergizerbunny profile image
Benji

I'm getting ready to start internal beta testing for my second app which let's gamers have competitions with their friends based on their stats from their video games. I write in React Native & Node primarily and am self taught through "Youtube University" and am still learning more every day!

Collapse
 
rogbonna1 profile image
Reuben Ogbonna

Hi! ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿพ

I am the Executive Director of a non-profit organization in Brooklyn, NY called the Marcy Lab School. We are training young adults from underserved backgrounds for careers in technology. My current obsession is our Software Engineering Fellowship that I am leading. My goal is to help my students see themselves as problem solvers with code simply being our tool of choice. I'm a teacher and a lifelong learner looking for a community that I can plug into and invite my students to join as well!

Collapse
 
joy3184 profile image
Elmacardor

great to have you here. Welcome on board sir

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.