DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v60

ralph hello

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (442)

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya • Edited

Hello, I am Ishini Avindya. I am a Graphic Designer, a Game Developer, and a writer. I write blog posts and articles specially about blogging, productivty.
talk.hyvor.com/blog/

Collapse
 
felipe00 profile image
Felipe Costa

Hello! Hope read some articles yours!

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya • Edited

Hi Felipe! Thank you very much. If you have any comments, suggestions, and ideas please feel free to comment. Read more from here talk.hyvor.com/blog/

Thread Thread
 
afolabi_mich profile image
Afolabi Mich

Hello

Thread Thread
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hi, are you a blogger?

Collapse
 
rul0194040 profile image
Raúl de Jesús Sierra Vasconcelos

hi Felipe, where are you from?

Collapse
 
mohammedasker profile image
Mohammed Asker

Hi, Ishini! It's great to meet you and I really appreciate your post about blogging since it's something that I struggled a lot. Keep writing those useful articles 👍.

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya • Edited

I am so glad to hear that you found them useful Mohammed! If you want to read more about blogging please continue reading my articles. You can read more articles written by me about blogging right through this link. talk.hyvor.com/blog/ I can help you with blogging problems. Thank you for your appreciation!🤗

Collapse
 
lbayliss profile image
Luke Bayliss

Welcome Ishini! What is your favorite part about game development?

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Developing 3D games is my favourite part about game developement. And I love creating my own game assets too. How about yours?

Thread Thread
 
25nyak profile image
25nyak

hey, nothing like making your own world am I right?

Thread Thread
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Yeah indeed

Collapse
 
mandown1982 profile image
skywalker85

Hi Ishini. Which language do you use for gaming development?

Thread Thread
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

I use Csharp language. What's yours?

Collapse
 
moul profile image
Manfred Touron

Hello :)

Collapse
 
mandown1982 profile image
skywalker85

Hi

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hi, are you a blogger?

Collapse
 
jabbarelegba profile image
JabbarElegba

Hello

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hello!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hello! Are you a blogger?

Collapse
 
rsnazario profile image
Rafael Nazario • Edited

Hello Inishi! I love games and I will put my efforts to follow your steps and become a Game Developer in a few years. I will be reading your articles. Have a great time writing!

Collapse
 
brettev profile image
Brett Evanson

Great posts on how to get started blogging. Keep it up!

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Thank you very much Brett.

Collapse
 
erhanbicer profile image
Erhan BİÇER

hello

Collapse
 
tommarpro profile image
tommarpro

Hello.

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hello

Thread Thread
 
6r6 profile image
不插电

hello 🤓

Collapse
 
chris_berry profile image
Chris Berry

hello!

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hello Chris!

Collapse
 
nrsklodhi profile image
neetiraj singh

hello

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hello! Nice to meet you.

Collapse
 
niravmadariya profile image
Nirav Madariya

Hello Ishini, nice to have you here!

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hello Nirav, How are you doing? Are you a blogger? Did you read my articles?

Thread Thread
 
niravmadariya profile image
Nirav Madariya

Yes, Ashini and I found some of them actually useful.
Thanks for sharing.

Thread Thread
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

I am glad to hear that! We will be publishing more articles on our Hyvor Talk Blog. You can read more from there. talk.hyvor.com/blog/

Collapse
 
mohammedasker profile image
Mohammed Asker

Well, hello internet! 👋 My name's Mohammed Asker and I'm a software developer intern based in Hargeisa, Somaliland. Here are 3 fun facts about me:

  1. I'm an Economics graduate who couldn't find a job, so I pivoted to programming. Still love Economics though. 📈
  2. My passion is anime. I'm usually a quiet person, but when it comes to anime, I can talk for hours much to the annoyances of others. 😆
  3. I don't drink coffee. I don't like it because it messes up my sleeping schedule even if I drunk at 11 am. I'm a tea guy ☕

I discovered DEV after many developers recommend on Twitter and it's really awesome and the community here are very kind. Thank you Ben and the team, for building this amazing platform!

Collapse
 
officialmr_tib profile image
Will (Mr_Tib)

Hey Mohammed. I've only recently been turned into an anime fan. one of my favorites has to be Food Wars. Im curious if you'd have any recommendations? I personally am a coffee man myself. I just can't get used to the taste of tea.

Collapse
 
mohammedasker profile image
Mohammed Asker

Well, it depends on what type of genres you enjoy the most. If number of episodes is not an issue (you don't mind to watch over 100s of episodes ), then I'll recommend One Piece, Naruto, Bleach, and Hunter x Hunter (2011).

Otherwise, try Death Note, Jojo's Bizarre Adventure (2012), Haikyuu! Attack on Titan, and Gurren Lagann.

Collapse
 
sirseanofloxley profile image
Sean Allin Newell

I personally swap b/w tea and coffee. Glad you're here Mohammed!

Collapse
 
afarhansib profile image
Ahmad Farhan Sibghotalloh

Hi, I also love Anime very much. What genre of anime do you like? I like romance, mystery, comedy and so on.

Collapse
 
clurts profile image
clurts

Welcome!

Collapse
 
lsl233 profile image
lsl233

👏

Collapse
 
emahonor profile image
Emmanuel Madubuike

Welcome Mohammed

Collapse
 
mandown1982 profile image
skywalker85

Hi

Collapse
 
jaroslavkubicek profile image
Jaroslav Kubíček

hello!

Collapse
 
likdadrink profile image
Brandy Jones

👋🏾

Collapse
 
webdev_ui profile image
WebDev_UI

Welcome!

Collapse
 
snovacain profile image
snovacain

My hero academia vs attack on titan vs black clover vs hunter x hunter ... which is better? Oh and check the Darwin Game if you haven’t seen it already! :-)

Collapse
 
mohammedasker profile image
Mohammed Asker

Why pick one? I love them all equally! Of course, I will check Darwin Game when got more free time.

Collapse
 
_ishiniavindya profile image
Ishini Avindya

Hello!

Collapse
 
emilycarlin profile image
Emily Carlin

Hey! I'm Emily, a product designer at You Need a Budget (YNAB). Excited to be here and learn from all of you!

Collapse
 
sirseanofloxley profile image
Sean Allin Newell

Oh my wife and I use YNAB! Love your product. 💖

Collapse
 
mohammedasker profile image
Mohammed Asker

Hi, Emily. Nice to meet you! You Need a Budget sounds like a fun name for the company. Is it a personal budget platform?

Collapse
 
emilycarlin profile image
Emily Carlin

It is! You can learn more here: youneedabudget.com/ It's the best personal budget platform out there (in my totally unbiased opinion 😉).

Thread Thread
 
franehr profile image
franehr • Edited

The site is awesome.App is also great.

Collapse
 
wood profile image
Joshua Wood

Hi Emily, I’m a big fan of YNAB. Welcome!

Collapse
 
emilycarlin profile image
Emily Carlin

That's so great to hear, thanks Josh! Happy to be here :)

Collapse
 
moritzrupp profile image
Moritz Rupp

Hi Emily,

Welcome to DEV! Actually, I love YNAB and in the browser tab to the left YNAB is opened! 😄 Nice to meet you!

Collapse
 
stormnotes profile image
Leonardo Diaz

Hi guys !

my name is Leonardo diaz, and i am a Junior to semi-senior Developer, love to code, and love to create

pd:

The fact that we create things is what makes me feel great about it, this is awasome!

Collapse
 
davidzkeefe profile image
David

Hey Leonardo, what is your main code editor?

Collapse
 
stormnotes profile image
Leonardo Diaz

Visual Studio Code team 4theWin!

But of course if needed, Eclipse and anything that needs to get the work done, but most of the time i work around with VSC

how about you !

Thread Thread
 
davidzkeefe profile image
David

Nice! I usually like to keep it simple with Atom and a handful of plugins. VS Code always seemed like too much for the simple things I'm usually doing.

Collapse
 
cjaviersaldana profile image
Javier Saldaña

Hello Leornardo, welcome to this good place :)

Collapse
 
stormnotes profile image
Leonardo Diaz

Yeah ! i already found out pretty neat things around, why did i took so long to find this place lol!

Collapse
 
viktorormanow profile image
ViktorOrmanow

Hello Leonardo!

keep it up!

Collapse
 
syrinestar profile image
syrine-star

Hello Leonardo, I hope the best!

Collapse
 
safaac3 profile image
Safaa C • Edited

Hey,
I am safa. I started to learn web dev for about 6 months now, I just finished learning ccss html and JavaScript (front end basis), I had fun building some silly games. I am now starting to learn node. I am looking forward building my own product once I get a good understanding of back end dev.
Thanks to all of you guys for the inspiration!!

Collapse
 
thir13en profile image
santiloopz

Bright future ahead!

Collapse
 
safaac3 profile image
Safaa C

Thanks

Collapse
 
flangerhanger profile image
▪️ Louise Flanagan ▪️

Nice to meet you ☺️

Collapse
 
lawrencedcodes profile image
Lawrence Lockhart

You're on your way!

Collapse
 
officialmr_tib profile image
Will (Mr_Tib)

Hey there Safa. I'm excited myself to start building silly games to get a better understanding of javascript. What kind of things have you built? I wish you the best in your development.

Collapse
 
tommarpro profile image
tommarpro

Hello.

Collapse
 
chidimo profile image
Orji Chidi Matthew

Hello, I'm Chidi.
I currently work as a Frontend developer, but I consider myself a Full stack developer. Haha.

Nice to be here.
I just want a space to share some of the awesome things I learn while doing my job.

Collapse
 
rolrodr profile image
Rolando Rodriguez

Hi everyone! My name is Rolando. I currently work as an educator but hope to transition into software engineering in the coming year. I am passionate about education, photography, and reading. I hope to learn from all of you and hopefully, as my understanding and comfort grow, I can share my process/thoughts with y'all!

Collapse
 
juliethinx profile image
Julie Gerlinger, RN, MSN

Hi! Congratulations! I bet you already know more code than me. ;)

Collapse
 
thir13en profile image
santiloopz

Here we are for helping you do that mate

Collapse
 
tommarpro profile image
tommarpro

Hello.

Collapse
 
wsuo profile image
shuo wang

I am coming!
I'm come from China,i love the USA, i hope to work in this country someday. So I'm working hard to learn English and technology now, it's a pleasure to come to this community and meet everyone

Collapse
 
hasimam profile image
Hasan Alimam

Hello Shuo, I hope you gonna find your way to your dreams, keep coding ;)

Collapse
 
smortime profile image
Schuyler Mortimer • Edited

Hi! My name is Schuyler (pronounced Skyler) and I am a software engineer working on putting notebooks into the cloud ☁️. I was brought here by @downey 😱 and stayed for all the premium content 👌!

Collapse
 
otaviocapila profile image
Otávio Capila

Welcome aboard Schuyler!

Collapse
 
thir13en profile image
santiloopz

Welcome aboard!

Collapse
 
downey profile image
Tim Downey

Welcome, Skyler! 🙌

Collapse
 
everton_68 profile image
Everton

Hello everyone, I am Everton. I am a Software Developer From Brazil. I love learning about software development in general.

Collapse
 
lawrencedcodes profile image
Lawrence Lockhart

Brazil in the house - welcome!

Collapse
 
everton_68 profile image
Everton

Thank you, Lawrence.

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
everton_68 profile image
Everton

Thank you Allan

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
everton_68 profile image
Everton

Thank you Nick.

Collapse
 
vraghuvamshi profile image
Vinayak Raghuvamshi

Hi Developer Friends! I am Vinayak, a veteran C++ developer. I used to code so much that the nerves on my hands got worn out and there was a time when I used to be known as the 'Carpal Tunnel Coder' LOL. I then played management roles for many years and still do however the developer in me continues to live on. Looking to make some friends and learn some new stuff along the way.

Collapse
 
rul0194040 profile image
Raúl de Jesús Sierra Vasconcelos

Hello everyone my name is Raul, I'm from Oaxaca, Mexico. In the southern part of the country and I hope to be of help in the community. Mostly development in node, react and do devops through aws and docker basics

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Hi Raul! Thanks for joining us and welcome!

Collapse
 
al_daro profile image
Alex Daro • Edited

Hey, y'all! fellow hacker here. Excited to join the community :) I've popped in here and there and think it's time to start contributing! I just wrote a thing on my blog! Check it out if you wish! alexdaro.com/writing

Collapse
 
lawrencedcodes profile image
Lawrence Lockhart

Nice portfolio!

Collapse
 
al_daro profile image
Alex Daro

Thanks, Lawrence! 😃

Collapse
 
didof profile image
Francesco Di Donato

Hello everybody. I'm so glad something like this web site exist. Thank you all.

Collapse
 
guillermoandrae profile image
Guillermo A. Fisher

Hey, folks! I’m Guillermo Fisher—Brooklyn native, Virginia resident, CI/CD junkie and AWS Data Hero. I’m also a pretty big fan of sleep. I usually write about AWS-related stuff. You can learn more about me at bklyn.dev.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.