DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v73

meerkat says hello

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (256)

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Hello DEV world! Namaste! πŸ™
I am Kartik and I am a software engineer.
I am very passionate about using technology to make a better world. I like to say I sit at the crossroads of creativity, technology, and the human condition.

I will hopefully be adding dev posts here frequently.
In addition, feel free to subscribe to my non-dev blog about technology on my website ikartik.com.

Onward to more progress!

Collapse
 
i96k profile image
Isak

Checked out your github and saw Scribe

You open-sourced your own blog platform?

Thats awesome! πŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Ah, you noticed! 😁 Thanks a lot! There are quite a few changes on my blog that I am implementing for Scribe – should be ready soon and they will make it much better than the current version.

Collapse
 
mridul96 profile image
mridul96

Amazing blog, subscribed! :)

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Thanks :) Glad you liked it!

Collapse
 
fviccia profile image
FV

Nice blog!

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Thank you!

Thread Thread
 
jhv2pcknhmr profile image
JHV2Pck-N-Hmr

Yeah, seriously! I've been learning about the way information is conveyed in spoken language as opposed to non verbal. I thought it was very interesting to have a base of 39 bits irregardless of syllable count.

Totally cool!

Thread Thread
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Thanks! I find it amazing that we can create so many different languages over thousands of years, but our brains still all have a similar bandwidth limit to processing incoming information!

Thread Thread
 
jhv2pcknhmr profile image
JHV2Pck-N-Hmr

It's an amazing thing to look at really. I always think about how much our ancestors were able to do. Essentially, they had as much "bandwidth" for uploading/downloading of info as us. If you take it back far enough you'll see these common threads of the ratio of brain case volume to body weight. It's not just us, the "Conceited Great Ape," either, that ratio is good for corvids to dolphins.

What I'm quite interested in is the effect of ML/AI coupled with Quantum Computing on us. Dolphins can apparently create a 3D picture by sonar & then, using the same sounds, transfer the info to others in the pod. We can see a fraction of the EM spectrum (visible light), many animals apparently have magnetic sensory cells, but what if we could hear RF waves, upload/download complete experienced information, & move & sync complete consciousness between a cloned entity that has separate corporal forms while still being the same person. All in real time.

Thread Thread
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Totally agree! In terms of physical abilities, humans are pretty ill-equipped compared to most animals. We don’t have sonar, our eyesight is mediocre at best, we can’t even smell very well.

There are two things that makes us more sophisticated than animals: 1 is our brain - we developed such complex languages, formed social relations, etc. And that brain also invented 2, our tools. We’ve made up for the lack of physical abilities through tools that are an extension of ourselves - AI/ML, Neuralinl, robotic prosthetics, night vision. It’s incredible that our minds came up with all this, and that our minds can understand that as well!

Collapse
 
abhinavg916 profile image
Abhinav Dhiman

Welcome and we too are excited!

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Thank you!

Collapse
 
itz_elijah55 profile image
Eli-Frodo

Your blog is wonderful. I want to learn from you.

elijahfrodo6@gmail.com

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Thank you! I will post tutorials about building a blog soon :)

Collapse
 
vic_codi profile image
victor hugo peΓ±a

Tienes contenido muy interesante en tu blog.

Saludos

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

MuchΓ­simas gracias Victor!

Collapse
 
kushsrivastava007 profile image
kushsrivastava007

Hey Kartik, just like you I am budding software engineer, i hope DEV community helps all of us grow in this tough time.

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Most definitely! Tough times are always a catalyst for innovation and growth.

Collapse
 
techygod profile image
Alan Rose Thomas

Hello

Collapse
 
webcu profile image
Jorge A. Glez. Mena • Edited

Waoo!! Really nice blog! Good job.

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Thank you so much! πŸ™

Collapse
 
xrayvision32 profile image
xray-vision32

β€œI like to say I sit at the crossroads of creativity, technology, and the human condition.β€œ ties a ribbon on that

Collapse
 
eve12g profile image
Eve12G

Nice blog!

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi

Thank you!

Collapse
 
ottowakarimasen profile image
otto-wakarimasen

I liked the article dated January 12 in your blog. Quite interesting, thanks.

Collapse
 
ikartik profile image
Kartik Chaturvedi • Edited

Thanks! Glad you liked it

Collapse
 
tsflorus profile image
Thomas SingerlΓ©-Florus

Hello everybody!
I am Thomas, fullstack Dev from France !
I am here to share my knowledge and experiences.
You can check my profile or even go on my website Https://tsflorus.me to see what I'm doing and my articles
Keep coding !

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Bienvenue chez DEV! Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
tsflorus profile image
Thomas SingerlΓ©-Florus

Merci ! Thank you !

Collapse
 
astagi profile image
Andrea Stagi • Edited

Hello everybody, I'm Andrea Stagi from Italy!

I'm here to share my knowledge about frontend and backend development! My main interests are Vue.js, Nuxt.js, Angular, Python, Django, Docker, K8S, TDD, Redis and PostgreSQL.

I love open source and I'm still writing and open a lot of code, you can check my Github profile at github.com/astagi . My open source activity started 9 years ago and includes projects such as Emesene (github.com/emesene), an instant messenger client supporting various IM services, Turpial (github.com/Turpial) a Twitter client written in Python, Taiga.io (github.com/taigaio) an Agile project management platform and Nanpy (github.com/nanpy) a library to make programmers' life easier allowing to use Arduino as a slave, controlled by a master device where you run Python scripts, such as a Raspberry Pi. I also opened a lot of useful libraries with my agency, check them out github.com/lotrekagency

Happy coding!

Collapse
 
omarsteam profile image
omar-steam

What up Andrea!! Welcome to the community.

Collapse
 
astagi profile image
Andrea Stagi

Thanks 😊

Collapse
 
mikeminton profile image
Mike Minton • Edited

Hey all

My name is Mike (43) and I've been working in dev for 25 years, started around 1995.

I love the dev industry, very diverse and forever changing - love to learn!
One of my new ideas is to create a forum and blog which people may find useful.

Antique code that was written for the first Amstrad computer will be going live on my GitHub soon, watch this space. Be nice it was a long time ago.
mikeminton.uk

Looking forward to hooking up with you all.
Mike
#mikemintonuk #everydayisaschoolday

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

1995 was my first year in web development! Welcome to the community, Mike!

Collapse
 
mikeminton profile image
Mike Minton

Awesome how is it going?

My first app(program) was a paint recipe system for a paint manufacturer here in the UK. Also, wold him the Amstrad computer - back when floppy disks were floppy lol

Thread Thread
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

To be honest, I took a 10-year hiatus to play music, so I'm not as jaded as I could be. lol. Every day I learn something new. It's why I'm so addicted to it.

Thread Thread
 
mikeminton profile image
Mike Minton

Same here - love it, some days I feel like I cant learn fast enough lol

Collapse
 
watchjwcode profile image
J.W. Thee Newbie

Hello all!

i’m J.W., a hopeful millennial from Chicago, IL.
After some lackluster years of post-undergrad, I’ve started my journey with computer science and software engineering. While being self taught is intimidating, I’m excited to see where all of the books, programs and, coding can take me. I’m incredibly green so any and all help/knowledge is welcomed!

Feel free to follow my journey on twitter! Take care xo

Collapse
 
madeline_pc profile image
Madeline

I am also teaching myself programming! What languages are you working on?

Collapse
 
watchjwcode profile image
J.W. Thee Newbie

First, I’m refreshing myself on HTML/CSS, but i’m super interested in JavaScript. A bunch of CS articles suggested I start with those three, so I figured why not?

Thread Thread
 
madeline_pc profile image
Madeline

I have been enjoying javascript a bunch!

Collapse
 
devillers profile image
Martin Devillers

Hi there!

I am Martin, a software engineer from the Netherlands, currently in the United States. I started programming when I was ten years old, graduated with honors from my university in 2011 and ended up leading large-scale national IT-initiatives like ov-chipkaart.nl in my country. Despite all this I firmly belief I suck at coding and feel my best days are when I throw away a bunch of code.

I love software development because the options are limitless and the engineering community is incredibly open and supportive. I strongly belief that we can use technology to improve our lives and ultimately unite the world. Hopefully this will happen before we destroy it.

Anyway, I'm here to share my ramblings, present my pet projects and by the end of the day: learn a thing or two.

❀ Martin

Collapse
 
jstewart8053 profile image
jstewart8053

Can't wait to read your ramblings...lol! Welcome!

Collapse
 
nsofra profile image
nsofra

Hi! I'm a tech recruiter building a recruitment platform that should end cold outreach on Linkedin. recrooit.com

I want to learn, read about your experiences with recruiters and use it to develop better features for our app :)

Collapse
 
jstewart8053 profile image
jstewart8053

Question for you nsofra... do recruiters like look-down at developers who got their education through a bootcamp? I ask because I am a self-taught Front-End Developer about to start a 9 month online boot camp class for Full-Stack through Lambda. I look at job posts from time to time, just to get an idea of what employers are looking for, and it seems they all want someone with Computer Science Degree. So I am wondering if recruiters would even give someone like me the time of day once I complete the boot-camp? Thank you for your time :)

Collapse
 
nsofra profile image
nsofra

Great question! It strongly depends on the culture and type of the organization you're applying for. Just as an example, fintech or biotech companies are kinda conservative environments and educational background probably matters. I still strongly advise you to go for it when you come across a job ad you feel comfortable applying for and this is why:

Job descriptions usually describe an ideal candidate persona, which is a profile of their IDEAL candidate. It comes down to the hiring costs: can the company afford to wait for the ideal candidate? On the other hand, most of the startups know talent has nothing to do with cs degree and you'll probably have more success starting your career there.

Since you're into frontend, focus on building some kind of a portfolio even before you consider applying. Like building a simple page for your friend's business, an NGO or such. Experience is more important than education, and you need to start building to gain experience. Hope this helps. It deserves a post, for sure :D

Thread Thread
 
jstewart8053 profile image
jstewart8053

Thank you so much for the feedback! This is exactly what I was wanting to know. I know in the boot-camp we will work on portfolios. I had to prepare a website explaining why the should accept me jen-stewart.netlify.app/
so maybe that can be the start to my portfolio! And I will definitely try to make some sites for friends and families in the meantime :)

Collapse
 
sanket7877 profile image
sanket

great!

Collapse
 
jhv2pcknhmr profile image
JHV2Pck-N-Hmr

Ahhh... The dreaded Headhunter. LoL When I was in architectural design they'd cold call. Made me good money! You chose a bit of a giant to tackle. Really cool!

Collapse
 
nsofra profile image
nsofra

I know, I will definitely need dev community support to do this properly.
Cold calling is somewhat gone due to data protection and GDPR, but all the spam you go through is just overwhelming.

The bottom line is that highly skilled tech talent won't apply to vacancies, cause they are already set somewhere. The best way to learn about good opportunities is from: your peers :)

Thread Thread
 
jhv2pcknhmr profile image
JHV2Pck-N-Hmr • Edited

I agree totally! Co-workers, supervisors or my employees were where most of these HH's had received my personal information & most times the calls I got were very good opportunities. It was disconcerting sometimes, but the pay was sometimes as much 190% of my current pay! My motto that stated to everyone was, "I want my Boss's job, so how can lift/push that person into their own promotion in-house or out?" Also, I tried to incentivize work in a couple of ways that people didn't get sometimes. Like in the workers showing up late in Jacksonville because traffic over a certain bridge. So I showed up early & cooked waffles & pancakes every morning that wanted some... Off the clock for the both me & them. Problem solved, but initially the district manager was irritated. I think incentives that are cheap & well liked go a long way. I got this from a German coal company that did similar things when raises were found to be less effective.

Collapse
 
omarsteam profile image
omar-steam

That is awesome. I bookmarked your site in case I want to check out the site. Welcome, nsofea!

Collapse
 
anthonygilbertt profile image
Anthony Gilbert

Hello friends!

I am a developer who specializes in JavaScript. I stumbled across this page and thought I would join. :)

I'm currently working with React and TypeScript, and learning GraphQL. Feel free to say hello!

Collapse
 
aashish profile image
Aashish Chaubey πŸ’₯⚑️

Hi people,

I am Aashish and I am from Bangalore, India.

I am a data scientist and I am known for my erroneous grammar and spelling mistakes πŸ˜‰

Here to help others, seek help from them and learn more

Please feel free to connect with me on Twitter!

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Welcome to Dev! Great to have you here Aashish

Collapse
 
aashish profile image
Aashish Chaubey πŸ’₯⚑️

Thank you!

Collapse
 
kotrcka profile image
Peter Kotrčka

Hello, DEV world. Ahoj :-)

I am Peter, not a professional, just a tiny little scripting guy, using whatever tool fit my needs for a job I need to do. I started to be more interested in OCaml recently and since this is something new for me (syntax, paradigm, ... wise), I hope that a good community could help me with my exploration.

Let's get functional.

Collapse
 
thymeworp profile image
Wends

Hi all! Am a total newbie. Starting out with HTML and CSS and seeing where it leads me!

Collapse
 
officialsmel profile image
smel

Hello everyone!
I am smel a newbie programmer
I once thinking about programming 4 months ago so i started programming
And thinga change and now I am focusing on HTML/CSS/JAVASCRIPT and hoping to learn more throughout this journey

Collapse
 
elisoff profile image
Elis Offerni

Hi, my name is Elis! I'm a Brazilian Software engineer living in Vancouver, Canada.
I love coding and cats! Fun fact: the first time I've ever been on a plane was to move from Brazil to Canada.

See you around!

Collapse
 
afpaiva profile image
Andre Paiva

Hey Elis! Same name of my daughter. We're from Brazil also. I'm looking for opportunity on Vancouver, to relocate and offer to my Elis a brighter future. πŸ˜ƒ
I'll be glad to have your contact!
All the best!

Collapse
 
jellymel0n profile image
Chris C

Great to see others from Vancouver here!

Collapse
 
elisoff profile image
Elis Offerni

Yes! :)
Nice to meet you! πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
i96k profile image
Isak

Hi! πŸ‘‹ I am a CS student in Stockholm and really passionate about AI. 🧠

Hoping to find people who share an interest for Machine Learning here on DEV, get into the social side of coding and improving my practical skills in web technologies like Django.

Cheers! πŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
alexellis profile image
Alex Ellis

Hi dev.to, excited to be here 🐳 My Name's Alex and I love writing blog posts in markdown and community. That's the two reasons I'm here. I started the OpenFaaS and inlets project and some others that you may find interesting if you're into Containers, Docker, Go and Kubernetes. You'll find them pinned to my GitHub profile

Hope to have a post up for you here soon - in the meantime, I have more at alexellis.io

Alex

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Hi Alex, I'm Katie, the #welcome moderator here on DEV.
My unofficial title: DEV cheerleader 😊

I want to welcome you to the DEV community and let you know that you'll find lots of help and support here for all your coding needs.

Don't hesitate to ask questions or contribute new ideas.

Collapse
 
eve12g profile image
Eve12G

Thanks Katie!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.