DEV Community

Cover image for Hacktoberfest: First contribution is ok! πŸŽ‰
Domenico Tenace for This is Learning

Posted on • Originally published at Medium

Hacktoberfest: First contribution is ok! πŸŽ‰

Overview

I'm super excited to announce that my first PR of this Hacktoberfest has been merged! πŸŽ‰
The project? Keep reading that I'll tell you! 🎈
Let's start πŸ€™πŸΌβ€‹


Yes, I did it 🫢🏻

Yes, I did, I contributed to another project and I am very happy about it πŸ’ͺ🏻

Yes

But, what is the project?
The project is called "Some Drops of JavaScript" a book that collects some useful, unknown, underrated JavaScript functions discovered and learned while using JavaScript daily.
It's a useful and amazing project! ✌🏻

GitHub logo roberto-butti / some-drops-of-javascript

This book collects some useful, unknown, underrated JavaScript functions discovered and learned while using JavaScript daily.

Welcome to Some drops of JavaScript

Some drops of JavaScript

The reason why

This book collects some useful, unknown, underrated JavaScript functions or stuff discovered, used, and learned during JavaScript daily use.

Using JavaScript frameworks/libraries daily (like React, Vue, Angular), sometimes the perception of the power of the language and the basic functionalities provided by the JavaScript core could be lost I see that usually, I used to look at the framework documentation or look for a package in Npm for the system, array, and string functions instead of using core functionalities provided by the language.

While I wrote this HTML-book, I also wrote some scripts to better understand the behavior of the functions. You can find these examples here: https://github.com/roberto-butti/some-drops-of-javascript in the examples directory.

We are excited to invite you to join our Hacktoberfest celebration by contributing to the open-source book project. More info here

Requirements

The code used in this book is…

Let's talk about the project

Okay, this project is a simple book that collects some useful, unknown, underrated JavaScript functions.
But the technology behind this?
Ehehehe this project was build in Astro! πŸš€

What is Astro?
Simply, Astro is a new frontend framework based on "No JavaScript" philosophy.
Read this article if you want to know more.

How did I contribute? πŸ€”

Step by step I will tell the process that led me to contribute:

  • I have opened the issues section
  • I liked this issue
  • I worked on it 😎

Simply, fast and clean 🀣
I did nothing but add a section to the book that talked about the copyWithin() method of an array in JavaScript.

Okay it wasn't exactly that fast and clean.
I worked on the issue and opened a Pull Request thinking it was fine as it was.
It was revised and sent back to me because it needed more examples and details.
All true, the copyWithin() method needed more attention to details.
From here I realized that YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE IN A HURRY, but take time to think and create complete PR.


Conclusion

First contribution of the four of the Hacktoberfest, I am very happy and I hope to continue like this.
Don't be afraid to contribute to Open Source, you will see that you will learn a lot.
Happy coding!✨


HiπŸ‘‹πŸ»
My name is Domenico, software developer passionate of Vue.js framework, I write article about it for share my knowledge and experience.
Don't forget to visit my Linktree to discover my projects 🫰🏻

Linktree: https://linktr.ee/domenicotenace

Follow me on dev.to for other articles πŸ‘‡πŸ»

If you like my content or want to support my work on GitHub, you can support me with a very small donation.
I would be grateful πŸ₯Ή

Buy Me A Coffee

Top comments (0)