DEV Community

Vihan
Vihan

Posted on • Updated on

My Maintainer Journey

Intro

As a maintainer, this is my first year. I took a leap of maintaining 3 projects this year, rather than none. I have maintained my own repositories(all 3 of them) singlehandedly, and I have also made rules for contributing. Here is my Github account

Project

I set up a system where I ensure no code is being copied from other solution repositories, and that the code is kept in the right folders, is commented well, has a header, etc. Next year, I am planning to automate some of these processes. My repository is tinyCodersDen/CCC-Solutions.

Highs and Lows

A light-bulb moment I had was when I was editing C++ code. I am not too experienced with C++ yet, but I had still found ways to solve some complex errors(related to pointers) in C++.

Growth

A big skillset that has improved as a maintainer is that I have gained more knowledge of C++ in the Competitive Programming Domain. I now know more about pointers(which has helped me), and I am more confident for making C++ submissions in competitions.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Rock on, Vihan! We'll make sure to give you that maintainer badge. 🙂