DEV Community

Vihan
Vihan

Posted on • Updated on

My Hacktoberfest Contributions

Intro

I have played the role of a contributor and as a maintainer for Hacktoberfest. This is my 3rd year contributing to open source, and also my first year as a maintainer. Here is my GitHub account.

Highs and Lows

Yes, I found many light-bulb moments when I saw a code which was almost bug-free, but didn't work when the input size increased. So, I found that there was a small typo in the code which changed everything. I adapted by actually reading the code carefully to ensure there were fewer errors.

Growth

My skillset before Hacktoberfest was to just do projects in Python. Hacktoberfest has improved me by contributing to DSA projects, and learning how to make efficient code with headers for the workplace.

My PRs:
Added Interpolation Search Program using Python.
[PYTHON] - Add Quicksort algorithm
Rules for specific rules + specifications for twine/pypy
Adding Contributing Rules + Minor Reference Changes

Compared to previous years, this year my contribution count has surplused!:

Image description

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awesome stuff!

Just a quick reminder to make sure to link to your PRs if you're hoping to score those DEV Hacktoberfest badges mentioned here.

To make sure you get the badges you deserve, please just follow these steps:

  1. Share a post that includes direct links to the GitHub PR you committed to help us verify your contributions. (You can just update this post!)
  2. Connect the GitHub account you used for Hacktoberfest to your DEV account. It's crucial for validation. (You can connect the two here in your settings!)

Do all these things and we'll be sure to give you the honored contributor badge. In any case, we'll still give you the pledge badge for writing this post up. 🙌

Thanks so much for participating in this year's event. By the way, you can refer to this post for full contributor completion instructions.