DEV Community

Cover image for How many platforms do you use to market yourself and your work?
Tina Huynh
Tina Huynh

Posted on • Updated on

How many platforms do you use to market yourself and your work?

As I continue to post on dev.to, I consistently see post after post telling me to never stick to one site, one platform to publish my articles to. Whether it be hashnode, Medium, or any other dev website, we are encouraged to broaden our scope to reach a wider audience. But how many is enough? And how many is too many?

Where else do you post? Do you count Instagram and Twitter? Or do you only stick to one platform? And why?

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
kaylumah profile image
Max Hamulyák

I;ve had a similar experience and was promised an import (like by rss was coming), initially they imported like four articles manually without the option of providing canonical urls.
Attempt to reach them afterwords (multiple times) but did not get a response anymore.

Did you have better luck with their support team?

Collapse
 
shriekdj profile image
Shrikant Dhayje • Edited

dev.to, hashnode, forem.dev, devdojo, youtube Odysee, My Own Blog and Many More for me

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

How would you suggest someone to navigate scheduling or simply juggling all the different platforms?

Collapse
 
shriekdj profile image
Shrikant Dhayje

Also Blogging On Different Platform also Help to be Noticed by some Marketing Executives on Social Media to Contact Us.

I Will Also Suggest sending Your Blogspot Links on Platforms Like PolyWork, LinkedIn, Twitter

Thread Thread
 
forasoft profile image
Fora Soft

Posting on social media also helps with SEO. There are some copycat Facebook or Twitter platforms. So by sharing our post once on your socials you can actually drive more backlinks because the copycats will post them too 😉

And search engines also appreciate social media traffic cause it shows that the article is popular among people - social signals.

Maria, digital marketer.

Thread Thread
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

If you have a chance, my portfolio website is tmchuynh.me/

Collapse
 
shriekdj profile image
Shrikant Dhayje

Don't try to juggle all at same time.
Like You Created an Post today after some day You Republish post to other platform or just use different platform for different types of posts.
For Me
dev.to is like mostly developer blog or daily blogs.
Hashnode is used for It's Analytics Functionality with Integration to Google analytics or many more.
CodeNewbie for Beginner friendly blogs and

Group Most Popular Posts In Format of Video and Upload it to YouTube

Collapse
 
forasoft profile image
Fora Soft • Edited

Hi there)
Totally agree with everyone here - canonical is a must!
We repost our blog on Medium, dev.to, Hashnode, Tealfeed and Hackernoon so far. All of them support canonicals.

  • Medium uses visual editor to style the text. You can easily copy and paste the whole article page there and click publish and it's done.
  • Hashnode, dev.to and Tealfeed use markdown to style text. Edit the article on one platform and then reused it on others.
  • It's harder with Hackernoon cause there you should have platform's credits to post. Maybe it's only the thing for business account thought, idk.

P.s. Tealfeed has been good for us. This is a notification example that we got after a day of posting the article on a new account: "Kudos Fora Soft! Your article crossed 1000 readers on the platform : "How to Write an Effective Test Summary Report [QA Quide]" And it's not the only one 😉 So we would definitely recommend it.

Maria, digital marketer.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

Thanks for sharing your insight! This is so useful, especially for those just starting to market themselves on the social platforms

 
kaylumah profile image
Max Hamulyák

Just found out yesterday their platform does not even have a "delete post" button. So i am seriously considering closing my account there

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

I have medium, hashnode and dev.to.

I also post to dzone, hackernoon and foojay.io. Posted a bit to tealfeed but I feel it isn't "baked" yet.

Notice I always use canonical links for proper SEO.

I only use Twitter and LinkedIn. Sometimes youtube but not as much as before. I'm focusing more on shorter video content that fits in twitter.

I think it's my job to reach the audience where they are not where I want them to be. It's a bit more work for me but not as much as the creation itself.

Notice I don't use Facebook or Instagram. I feel these don't match my audience and I have a strong dislike towards Facebook.

Never felt at home on Twitch so I don't do that.

Collapse
 
mrdulin profile image
official_dulin

I created a Blog on GitHub. In addition to Blog itself, readme contains my frequently used software services, platforms, my personal statistics, etc.

github.com/mrdulin/blog

Collapse
 
thumbone profile image
Bernd Wechner • Edited

None. Don't platform myself or my work.

I've taken recently to sharing some notes on dev.to, as an experiment in sharing useful experiences.

Collapse
 
peterseo98 profile image
peter

The more the better.

Collapse
 
leoneglorioso profile image
Leone-Glorioso

I think that's true as long as you play it smart and not just create accounts for the sake of having an account.