DEV Community

Cover image for Time traveling, dreams and gratitude
Matheus Goncalves
Matheus Goncalves

Posted on

Time traveling, dreams and gratitude

I just found a picture of my house in mid-2001. Look at this mess!

An old house, computers to fix and software to code

A back house, suburbs of São Paulo, Brazil. One bedroom, a kitchen and an outdoor bathroom.

That was... it.

And I was making money with tech support, fixing computers and programming video rental systems in Clipper. Something like this:

A very elaborated interface programmed in Clipper

It was a lot of fun. Seriously. But I could never imagine that in 2018 I would be working with Salesforce for one of the best technology companies in the world, and living in Seattle. Not in my best dreams.

All I knew at that time was that I was living by myself, trying really hard to make a living.

I was 19 years old, and I needed to continue studying and working, learning, and trying to be a better person and professional every day. That was my plan.

I think it's important to look back and see where I came from, and remember everything I went through, to give even more value to what I have today, to have gratitude for all this and for everyone who helped me. ❤️

So: If you think your dream is an unreachable thing, impossible, maybe you're already living part of it and you don't even know it.

Keep Fighting! 🤜🤛

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Great uplifting post, thanks!

Collapse
 
kspeakman profile image
Kasey Speakman

This resonates with me. In my early twenties, I was a college drop out, laid off from my job, surviving on 1 meal a day to pay bills. It was beyond hope and imagination that my life could look as it does today. I had to do my part, but there are also a laundry list of people to thank for the opportunities and experience along the way.

Collapse
 
cat profile image
Cat

This is incredibly inspirational: Make do with what you've got and always strive for what you want. Things will fall into place soon enough.

Collapse
 
sandrine911 profile image
Sandrine911

Thank you for this!

Collapse
 
matheusgoncalves profile image
Matheus Goncalves

Thank you for reading it. I'm glad you like it.

Collapse
 
matheusgoncalves profile image
Matheus Goncalves • Edited

I had a camera, and Windows setup was taking too long to finish. So, why not?

Collapse
 
samsha1 profile image
samsha1

cheered me up...Thanks!!

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Clipper! Oh the memories. I tell you, something about me misses these good old ASCII screens. They don't make 'em like that anymore.

Collapse
 
patricktingen profile image
Patrick Tingen

I especially like your conclusion that you may already be living your dream without realizing it. Often we take too many things for granted.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Heck yeah!

Collapse
 
kinglouisxvii profile image
Daniel Jakobian

Needed to hear this! Thank you :)