DEV Community

tomcatprime
tomcatprime

Posted on

My Cloud Resume Challange 2023

Hello Everyone,
This year I decided to take up the Cloud Resume Challenge. I've read a lot of positive feedback about it, so why not give it a try? :)

First of all, I'm very impressed with the cloud resume challenge guidebook.

What motivates me most about this challenge, and what will certainly help to get to know the cloud, is the fact that we don't get a ready-made solution. Above all, we get aids to learn where to start, how to lay out our plan, how to begin and from where.

Something about me, I don't have an IT background but have always been fascinated by the world of IT. I have learned Python, C# or C++ on my own but only the basics. Of course, I am still developing in these topics. I am currently Azure AZ-900 and SC-900 certified and preparing for Google Cloud Associate Cloud Engineer.

Thanks to the company I work for and the programme they run, Cloud Academy, I have access to courses and certifications from AWS, Microsoft, Google or Kubernetes or terraform for free. As we also have several Cloud-related positions open within the company, I want to develop myself in this area.

No more about me. Let's move on to the challenge.

Step 1.
Build my resume as a website in HTML with CSS

Step 2.
Deploy website in Azure Storage.

Step 3.
Add HTTPS using Azure CDN. Point a custom DNS domain name to the Azure CDN.

Step 4.
Add visitor counter in Javascript.

Step 5.
Download and update its counter somewhere in the database. I wil use Table API from Azure's CosmosDB.

Step 6.
Communicate with CosmosDB using API that accepts requests from my web app. I will use Azure functions with a HTTP trigger.

Step 7.
As I will write a bit of code in the Azure function, I will need to use python.

Step 8. Write some test for python code.

Step 9.
Infrastructure as Code. I will define Azure Resource Manager template.

Step 10.
Updating back-end and front-end with automatically whenever I make a change to the code. I will create GitHub repository for code.

Step 11. Set up GitHub actions so when I'll push update to my ARM template or Python code if the tests pass, ARM application will be packed and deployed to Azure.

Step 12.
Create GitHub repo for website code and create GitHub actions so when I'll push new website code, Azure storage blob automatically gets updated.

Daily Activity - Create posts in which I describe what activities I did while working on this project.

It's not going to be easy, but that's what we have challenges to overcome and learn from.

STILL WE RISE!!

Top comments (0)