DEV Community

Cover image for How to send SMS using 3G/4G Dongle and Docker
Hugo Valters
Hugo Valters

Posted on

How to send SMS using 3G/4G Dongle and Docker

Imagine that you are a System Administrator or your business is communicating with clients daily, for example sending information about unpaid invoices or reminders that there is a new invoice. Or you want to inform clients by promoting new products or secure password resets 2FA. You can do that with a TEXT Message ( Known as SMS ). Also, this is a great way to automate your systems and important notifications. The all above-mentioned are pretty easy to implement and do as nowadays mobile carriers in several countries have unlimited texts inside their subscriptions and also prepaid plans.

Once I was curious Is it possible somehow to get the advantage of a free SMS Text that a mobile carrier offers? And yes by doing research I found that there is a great software called wammu, so I started exploring, how it works and found out, that the old 3G/4G Dongle can be used in this case. First thing spending several hours, I got the option that wammu would make me a phone call when a correct command was executed. Then after several times compiling the wammu library I found that it can also send Text messages, but the issue was that if you have around 300 Text messages in 1 minute then wammu hangs the Dongle. So I started to do research from 0 and found Gammu is the same product as wammu, but for my Dongle I could send more than 2000 Text messages in one minute and yes I did a real live test my phone got spammed and no stuck messages, after sending the text messages the Dongle was active and no issues found. So I was running it for 4 months in a test mode to send me each hour a few randomly generated Text messages.

The full article you can find in my blog with all the How to.
Blog: [https://www.valters.eu/how-to-send-sms-using-3g-4g-dongle-and-docker/

YouTube Video instructions: https://youtu.be/j0jf_iBtvRc?si=M3_rtNEqOgifqmPn

Top comments (0)