DEV Community

Cover image for Receive notifications from your Linux/Windows to your Smartphone with NTFY
Hugo Valters
Hugo Valters

Posted on

Receive notifications from your Linux/Windows to your Smartphone with NTFY

Each day I’m managing Linux servers and at the same time I’m also doing a lot of experiments and cyber security scans, that take a long time to finish. But recently I have found a solution, that will let me know once the Long-Running Cyber Security Scan, Once the Linux server has finished the upgrade or I will get a message once some backup has failed etc. Only the limitation right now is my imagination on what to use the NTFY or as I like to call it Notify. The saddest part is that I didn’t know about it earlier as it would save me a lot of time, but it is only 1 year. But yeah, I think that it is a great tool for IT experts to save time and be informed about important things, as you can add this tool to any software or terminal command and also use it on Windows servers and Windows devices.

The full installation guide, can be found here in my blog:
https://www.valters.eu/receive-notifications-from-your-linux-windows-to-your-smartphone-with-ntfy/

Video Installation guide, can be found in my YouTube:
https://youtu.be/vD6hWOt4y7E?si=Qk_m0MQedy1YofvJ

Follow for more crazy interesting IT stuff.
Thanks.

Top comments (0)