DEV Community

Vedant Rathore
Vedant Rathore

Posted on

Any good ideas for hackathon?

hey guys what ideas do you have that can be implemented in hackathons?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

What domain? Web dev, mobile apps, hardware?

Collapse
 
vedantrathore profile image
Vedant Rathore

It's a general hackathon, but I was interested more making web apps which solve a social cause. I also wanted to work on blockchain technology so that is preferable.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

In the domain of web development with a good social cause that could be accomplished in a blockchain style, creating a site that relied on local networking as opposed to client-server, which could be useful in contexts like protests where activists want to communicate with a reliable low latency connection and potentially do so more privately. I'm a believer in the possibility of low-latency networking in general.

I need to educate myself more in this arena before I can make any concrete suggestions but ipfs seems like it's meant for this sort of thing.

Thread Thread
 
vedantrathore profile image
Vedant Rathore

Okay, thanks for the suggestions @ben ! I really like the idea.

Thread Thread
 
andre profile image
André König

Also: I would suggest to keep an eye on everything dat related. Especially the Beaker Browser project which is a browser for the p2p web. Highly recommended!