DEV Community

Cover image for How I Use Polywork As a Student
vibalijoshi
vibalijoshi

Posted on

How I Use Polywork As a Student

Skip the waiting list, using special invite codes!

A little about me

I’m Vibali Joshi - a student, software engineer, writer, and speaker. I’m currently in my pre-final year of a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science. I love coding, writing technical blogs, and presenting what I’ve learned to other women interested in pursuing this career field. At this point in my education, I understand finding a job is critical and I believe that the best way a candidate can set themselves apart is by establishing an online presence.

Until now, I’ve used Twitter and LinkedIn to serve as my primary platforms — I post on Twitter on #buildinpublic, share blogs about my work on 100 Days of Code, and hold Twitter Spaces on topics for college students. On LinkedIn, I would share my accomplishments from speaking events and try to organize events for student communities. But it felt all over the place. I felt like a recruiter checking my profile would need to go to different platforms to piece my story together. I didn’t have a streamlined way to optimize an “online resume”.

Enter Polywork.


Polywork Made It All Simple

When I first encountered Polywork, I was thrilled to establish myself on a new platform where I could find new ways to promote myself.

But what Polywork provided me with was what I needed all along: a place where all of my activities are shown exactly how I want them to be. It became clear to me from using the platform that I was in charge of building the persona I wanted to project to recruiters and potential employers.

Image description


[1] My Online Resume

It’s easy for tweets to get lost in the noise, and the key highlights are not readily evident. On Polywork, I can quickly highlight the important Tweets and other content I want others to see.

Image description

In my opinion, Polywork is not a replacement for LinkedIn or Twitter. It's an excellent cross interface with various platforms because it allows you to highlight experiences from multiple platforms in one location.

It serves as my online resume, which I completely customized myself. If somebody wants to know what I accomplished throughout my college years and beyond, I know where to look.


[2] Highlighting My Blogging Journey

If you think having so many highlights on your profile defeats the purpose of my previous statement, Polywork recently added collections, which allows me to create bundles or groups of my highlights together.

I blog frequently, and my "Articles and blogs" collection serves as a repository for all of the articles I've written thus far.

Image description


[3] Finding Opportunities

Almost everyone nowadays has the skills to get recruited for a job; the difference is in who finds the job postings first and actively applies for them. Polywork makes things easier for me because my feed offers a variety of opportunities that I can apply for as well as a hassle-free way to contact the individual who is offering the job.

Image description


[4] Collaborating with Student Communities

Individuals that use Polywork are curious, willing to chat with new people, and eager to collaborate. As a Public Speaker and an active part of student communities, I am able to readily discover people willing to speak to community members and communities to which I can contribute. As a result of this, I've made a lot of valuable connections and increased my network.

Image description


The Friendliest Community

Polywork is a very student-friendly community. The Polywork team enjoys interacting with the community and is continuously looking for ways to improve the platform. They also have the best merchandise!

Image description

If you're a student reading this who wants to make a name for yourself online, becoming an early active part of the Polywork community would undoubtedly benefit you greatly, as it has for me.


You can skip the waiting list and get all these benefits using my VIP Code.
Make sure your account has these so that you get more engagement!

  • Your Name
  • 1 role/position
  • A profile pic
  • Couple of badges
  • A brief description about yourself.

See you there!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
blueedgetechno profile image
Blue edge

I'm in

Collapse
 
vibalijoshi profile image
vibalijoshi

Did you complete the checklist? If yes then send your profile, then I can send you swag for signing up!

Collapse
 
blueedgetechno profile image
Blue edge

Oh I think I have completed it.

Collapse
 
charalambosioannou profile image
Charalambos Ioannou • Edited

Hello, thank for sharing this platform. I have signed-up using your VIP code and completed the checklist. Here is my link: poly.work/charalambos

Collapse
 
vibalijoshi profile image
vibalijoshi

Looks Amazing Charalambos!! <3

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

where do you get the merch?

Collapse
 
vibalijoshi profile image
vibalijoshi

Polywork sent it to me!