DEV Community

victorfatala
victorfatala

Posted on

Python Terminal DEMO RPG Game

The game's logo: "The Lost Dungeon"

In this project I developed a (very short) Python text-based RPG game in which multiple choices can be made, different dialogues bring different responses, and each character has their very own personality. All of this combined with a slight amount of silliness! 🍌

A GIF showing the beginning of the game with a letter and a blinking message saying: "You got mail!"

The code was mostly developed by me (with some help from Stack Overflow I won't lie) and entirely written in Python. I took this project as a chance to challenge myself to maximum while doing some stuff I really enjoy for my first portfolio project: games. 👾

Functions such as textAnimation(), menu(), and phoneMessage(), are some of the most complex and interesting parts of my code which you might be interested in taking a look! 🔍

Mark the Aadvark

All in all, I can say I had a lot fun developing this game and that's why I really hope you also enjoy! ❤️

(My only wish was that I could make the dungeon actually appear, but I took too much time on that phone thing...)

https://github.com/vifatala/Python-Terminal-Game.git

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
igrir profile image
igrir

This is amazing! At first I thought it's going to be "only" text adventure game, but it got many ASCII art in it! And animated too!!!
I am currently making a narrative game, and seeing your code to store how the game flow is interesting. Out of curiousity, how did you design the game? Did you draw some kind of flowchart and how one choice affect another?

Collapse
 
victorfatala profile image
victorfatala • Edited

thank you so much for testing my game and for your comment!!! I didn't think someone was actually going to try it, your feedback truly made my day :)

most of the game design was made while i was coding, without previous planning. i just thought about what options i'd like to have in each scene, wrote it down, and then took some time to develop it further, separately. but i need to say, if i could re-do this project (or maybe in my next one) i would plan it before starting. it helps things keep organized!

and what about your narrative game? i am very interested in taking a look!

Collapse
 
igrir profile image
igrir

Mine is currently still in development, it's called Afterlove:EP, hope the development is smooth sailing onwards. The thing about narrative game, its design is heavily directed with - of course - narrative. So once we have some idea of story beat, it would spiraling down into other area such as arts and codes as well, that's why I always curious how people store their story data when they made their narrative games. Planning is nice, but game development is a heck of a ride about try and hoping for the best until it finished, hahaha

Thread Thread
 
victorfatala profile image
victorfatala

Woowie, what a nice game you are going to develop! I am really, really excited to play it once you finish

In spite of being just in the beginning of my journey, I can already say that you are (unfortunately) correct, game dev is a truly rollercoaster ride💀. But it’s worth it, especially when you enjoy what you are doing – which seems to be your case :)

Narrative is, in my opinion, what really shapes a game and makes it unique! The way you tell your story is what makes it special ❤️

And by the way, if you would like to experience the game which I call the one with the best narrative ever, play Outer Wilds. You will love it!

Hope to hear from you and your game soon!!!