DEV Community

Aaron Barnett
Aaron Barnett

Posted on

How to decide what to learn next in web/webapp development?

I'm currently a post-bacc student about to finish a CS degree this coming spring. Recently, I had been struggling to decide on or find something in programming/development that I felt passionate about pursuing until I got into web development about a month ago. It's the first time I've felt inspired in a while and I've had a lot of fun designing and creating even just simple things for myself.

Thankfully, JS and CSS were pretty intuitive for me to pick up since it was just applying programming principles I've already learned while pursuing my degree. But now that I'm at the next phase to take my knowledge-base further there are just so many different frameworks and tools that I could start learning that I don't even know where to begin. I was wondering if y'all have ever experienced this and if you had any advice for how you decided where to go next in your learning path. Cheers!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
casperns profile image
Zelimir Stefanovic • Edited

If you don't want something extreme, my opinion is: first learn good JS, TS and ES6.
After that React or Angular, because I think that these are long-lasting fremeworks, maintenes by big companies, follow new trends and they are popular for employment.

Collapse
 
visualizertrue profile image
Aaron Barnett

Thank you Zelimir. I've definitely considered looking into React and Bootstrap next.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Start a project with known constraints that forces you to learn the things you don’t know along the way.