DEV Community

Cover image for Do anyone wants to contribute?
Vivek Thakur
Vivek Thakur

Posted on

Do anyone wants to contribute?

Hey guys,

Actually few weeks ago I built my portfolio but the thing is I want to display all my featured post. So Now, I decided to make an API of my own that uses bs4 to scrape my featured post from my profile. Do anyone wants to help?

Link To Github Repo : https://github.com/vivek09thakur/LinkedIn-Scraper-API

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

Sup! i would love to help you man

Collapse
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

Okay bro I just started to work on it, You can visit the repo fork it and see if you can make it work then we can deploy this thing on vercel. It will help others a lot. #brocode

Collapse
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

can you tell me a bit about the API that you are buildling

Thread Thread
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

Yeah bro , actually what I was doing is that , I made my portfolio : vishme.vercel.app and then I wanted to add a component to it to fetch and display my recent post of LinkedIn. Firstly I tried with javascript and get failed after thinking I decided to make a script with Beautifulsoup python which fetches my LinkedIn and then return the fetch data as json and deploy this script as an API so everyone can use it.

Thread Thread
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

hmm i see this is cool if we use JavaScript with Python we can do that we make make selenium go in LinkedIn than make javascript grab all the post than covert those post into python list and than json

Thread Thread
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

Yeah it will be nice but I think python is enough for web scraping and after that we can use javascript in frontend to fetch that api

Thread Thread
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

sounds like a plan

Thread Thread
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

You'll always find me with a plan ( there is a reason why batman and I never appear at same time) πŸ¦‡

Thread Thread
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

damn bruh

Collapse
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

sure

Collapse
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

check this out
camo.githubusercontent.com/d547149...
what if we turn the linkedin api into this and others can use it on there github

Collapse
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

yeah it will be more userfriendly

Collapse
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

ok tell me about the frontend what you gonna do with it

Collapse
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

Once I complete this api , then I will send a request to endpoint and map the retrieved data in a component. Just like this :
Image description

and done, ( Now I don't have to update my portfolio content every time )

Collapse
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

bruh your discord link is not working here is my username try to find me _m.m.w_

Collapse
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

cool now tell me what i have to do? just watch you code?

Collapse
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

yeah First thing we have to find a way to communicate. Then we have to find a way to scrape LinkedIn, Here I founded a repo as a reference : github.com/tomquirk/linkedin-api we can use this as a base for our project. and Do you have a discord ??? Because we can't talk in comment further

Collapse
 
mmw profile image
Mohsin

are you on discord?

Thread Thread
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

yeah, here is my portfolio : vishme.vercel.app you can find my discord profile link here