DEV Community

Cover image for Favourite fonts?
Medea
Medea

Posted on

Favourite fonts?

So I'm not great at picking fonts, you can tell that by seeing all of the websites I made.
What fonts do you really like and recommend me to use for my websites?

Top comments (91)

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

You can't go wrong with Montserrat

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Questrial

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll also try this out

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Oxygen

Thread Thread
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

And I’ll also try this out

Collapse
 
ayyash profile image
Ayyash

i hate monsterrat, its so wide it kills the elegance of any web app, my personal opinion :)

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

I hate your personal opinion it's so wide it kills the elegance of my personal opinion πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

I don't actually hate anyone's opinions, it's a great thing to care about font design

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll try this out

Collapse
 
envoy_ profile image
Vedant Chainani
Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll check these out

Collapse
 
georgehenrique profile image
George Henrique

Roboto

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Yea many people have said that

Collapse
 
petestmarie profile image
petestmarie

For IDEs and my personal documentation, Comic Code Ligatures. The Coding Essentials bundle is $30, but for me it's a small price to pay for something I'm looking at all day. I find it very easy to read.
tosche.net/fonts/comic-code

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I'll check it out, thanks!

Collapse
 
shammisharma profile image
shammisharma

to name a few - Poppins, Montserrat, Raleway, DM Serif, Elephant.
When in doubt I always turn to these fonts 😁

Collapse
 
freakdaddycode profile image
Richard Hart

Ralway! yeah I've been looking for a font with the extended "w", thanks!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

ill try these out!

Collapse
 
rshalford profile image
Richard Halford

Sans-Serif

Lexend

Severely unloved in my opinion for a slightly more "joyful" change from the same old Lato/Roboto, more structured sans fonts.

Serif

Gelasio

Metrics compatible with Georgia, but FREE.

Monospace

JetBrains Mono (Nerd Font)

Used to be Fira but it feels easier on the eyes and my preferred "g" style.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll try these out!

Collapse
 
raibtoffoletto profile image
RaΓ­ B. Toffoletto • Edited

Besides the common roboto from Google I really like Ubuntu font package. It's elegant and clear.

Collapse
 
raibtoffoletto profile image
RaΓ­ B. Toffoletto

and for the terminal/IDE the Source Code Pro .

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Yea I used to use Source Code Pro for everything before

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Yea I like the Ubuntu font too

Collapse
 
copyninja_03 profile image
Manikandan

Inter, Montserrat, Work Sans, Archivo, Playfair Display, Poppins, Raleway, Lato.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll check these out

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

For programming:

  • Fira Code
  • Input
  • IBM Plex Mono

Previously, my favorite programming font was Times Prog, which was a bitmap font (this was in the late 1980s) based on Times but reworked to be programmer friendly. It was a proportional font. I used proportional fonts for programming for about 27 years β€” inspired by Bjarne Stroustrup’s use of proportional fonts for programming β€” until I stumbled across Fira Code.

Input is also a proportional font, designed for programming. I was happy to migrate from my ancient Times Prog to Input. Times Prog was great back in the olden days (when dinosaurs roamed the Earth, according to my kids), but with the advent of vector fonts just became too long in the tooth.

I switched back to a monospaced font (Fira Code) when it impressed me with its programmer friendly ligature support. Incredible! (I'm aware of the other programmer ligature fonts. Fira Code works for me best of the bunch.)

There about another dozen fabulous programmer friendly fonts, that are monospaced. I don't use them, but they're really good. Consolas, Menlo, DejaVu Sans Mono, Inconsolata, Source Code Pro, and others.

For documentation, it depends on what I'm using it for. I do like Times, Georgia, Futura, and Optima.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll check these out

Collapse
 
larrocax profile image
LarrocaX • Edited

I think i am using a lot Nunito

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll check that out

Collapse
 
larrocax profile image
LarrocaX • Edited

i use it from fonts.google.com

Thread Thread
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

ah okay, i use many fonts from there as well

Collapse
 
lyrod profile image
Lyrod • Edited

Monolisa, JetBrains Mono.

Edit: oh, for a website... πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll check these out

Collapse
 
judis07 profile image
Arvind M

Railway and Lato looks awesome together.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Sure I’ll check these out

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Poppins is quite cool

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I’ll try this one out

Collapse
 
leviarista profile image
LevΓ­ Arista • Edited

There is a lot of cool fonts out there, but I found this tool very helpful when I need to pick one and it's pairings: Fontjoy

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Thanks I’ll check the website out

Collapse
 
iamzarv profile image
Zarv

DM Sans is damngood.