DEV Community

Cover image for Find someone to mentor
Kelvin Wangonya
Kelvin Wangonya

Posted on

Find someone to mentor

In learning you will teach, in teaching you will learn. -Phil Collins

Bill didn't understand how the world worked. For some reason, liking to read was cool for girls, but not for boys. He was only a fourth-grader though. As he entered the library, he tried as much as possible to go unnoticed. He was messy and nerdy, and didn't feel very confident about himself.

The librarian, Mrs. Caffiere, noticed Bill, and kind of saw something special about him. She was always very kind to him. He noticed Bill's love for books, and recommended a few. She would ask him if he read the books, if he liked them, why, and what he learned. She genuinely listened when Bill spoke. Bill felt comfortable around her. He could be himself -- messy and nerdy -- without feeling self cautious about it. Their relationship increased Bill's love for books, which played a big role in Bill's future success in his career.

The young boy: Bill Gates.

Here's what he wrote some time back on his blog:

"Looking back on it now, there’s no question that my time with Mrs. Caffiere helped spark my interest in libraries (Melinda’s and my first large-scale effort in philanthropy) and my focus on helping every child in America get the benefit of great teachers. I often trace the beginning of our foundation to an article about children in poor countries dying from diseases eliminated long ago in the U.S. But I should give some credit as well to the dedicated librarian and teacher who helped me find my strengths when I was nine years old. It’s remarkable how much power one good person can have in shaping the life of a child."

When I learn something new, I believe I owe it to the world to at least teach one person about it. You never know what effect something so simple to you may have on someone else.

I know there's a lot of experienced developers on this platform and I'd like to take a moment to reach out to you. I really like the opportunity Dev.to offers to volunteer as a mentor. Please take advantage of that to help change someone's life πŸ™‚. And if you'd like to be mentored (I'm a beneficiary 😊) then register as a mentee. Then leave the rest to the wonderful Dev.to team. They'll find you a match based on your interests and goals.

Anyone else have an interesting mentor/mentee story to share with the rest of the class? πŸ˜„

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
kvie profile image
Karyme Virginia

Interestingly enough, I do want to teach code. I'm still a student myself, so I could use a mentor to help me learn... but what I really want is someone who can guide me to guide others. Things like pair programming make me nervous because I don't want to confuse someone who has a shakier understanding of a topic than I do.

I hope to start flexing my teaching muscles on a regular basis. Then I will be able to spread the love. :)

Collapse
 
mvoloskov profile image
Miloslav πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ πŸ¦‹ Voloskov

I'm open for teaching code and fundamentals!

Collapse
 
this_mkhy profile image
Mohamed Khaled Yousef

Really I need a mentor

Collapse
 
joehobot profile image
Joe Hobot

Speaking of mentee and mentor in profile..

ben image
how does that work?

@Kinyanjui nice post, glad you brought it up.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

If you submit to one of the forms with info about you we'll try to match you. We've matched a bunch of folks already, but we sort of just tossed it out without too much of a plan, so there's a backlog we're currently working through.

But...

We've been working on our process and we'll be ready to bring it out of beta soon enough. People should definitely sign up if they're interested in being matched. The process will become less opaque over time. I've personally really enjoyed being a mentor in the program so far. πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
tadman profile image
Scott Tadman

Hope that's a thing soon as I'd love to help with that.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

To be clear: It's already available: dev.to/settings/mentorship

We just still have a big beta label on it, but our matches are getting more reliable and quicker these days.

Thread Thread
 
antonrich profile image
Anton

Wow, I wasn't aware of that. I kinda regularly read Dev.to but hever seen the news. Was that announced in any way?

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

We made one post about it:

But otherwise didn't make a big deal about it because it still needed work. I'd say we're a couple weeks away from being able to talk about it more because we've made our match-making process more efficient and less hectic.

Thread Thread
 
joehobot profile image
Joe Hobot

match-making process

I feel like I am on match .com for geeks