DEV Community

Wasim Shakir
Wasim Shakir

Posted on

Hey Dev Community! Let’s Get to Know Each Other 👋

Hey, everyone! 🙌

I’m Wasim, and this is my very first post here on Dev.to. I’ve been working in web development for a while now, but there’s always something new to learn, right? That’s what I love about coding — there’s always more to explore, and it’s even better when you’re doing it with a community!

So, I thought I’d kick things off by introducing myself and asking you all a few fun questions. It’s a mix of random thoughts I’ve had, and I’d love to hear your take on them. Let’s keep it light, casual, and have some fun! 😄👇

What got you into coding? Was it a passion, a challenge, or just a random opportunity?

What's your favorite language/framework to work with, and why?

The future of coding — are we in good hands with AI or not? 🤖

What do you think makes a dev community great? (Tips for a new guy like me! 😉)

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

I got into coding because I needed something to do with my life, so... here we are! My favorite framework is by far Django, simply because it's easy to work with (I also use React a lot, but I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with it). As for AI stuff related to coding, it's great, but too many beginners are using it as a teacher (I really don't like AI when it comes to blogging/human generated content though). That spills into your final question, tips for newcomers. I would heavily suggest not using AI. I certainly have strong opinions about it, but it definitely doesn't allow you to improve your writing skills anywhere near as much as writing without any assists.

(Also, just enjoy yourself -- blogging/dev communities are supposed to be fun!)

Collapse
 
wasim_shakir5 profile image
Wasim Shakir

Got your point man, I use AI to learn from it that's all. Django is really good because of security and robustness. I'm thinking about flutter dart programming to explore Android App Development, what do you say?

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

I have no idea 😅. I've never looked into mobile development.

Thread Thread
 
wasim_shakir5 profile image
Wasim Shakir

Aight cool!

Collapse
 
tanmayagrawal profile image
Tanmay Agrawal

We all have love hate relationship with React Oscar 😂

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

xD

Collapse
 
wasim_shakir5 profile image
Wasim Shakir

Haha

Collapse
 
stefanak-michal profile image
Michal Štefaňák

I agree, too much pointless AI generated content these days.

Collapse
 
wasim_shakir5 profile image
Wasim Shakir

Yep that's true, especially alots were created by just bots

Collapse
 
infamous003 profile image
Syed Mehdi

Hi Waseem, I'm on a similar road too. Been learning web development for a while.
Games got me into programming and I went with a CS degree. I also have interest in Networking, Linux, DevOps, etc.
I am doing The Odin Project for web development, what about you?

Collapse
 
wasim_shakir5 profile image
Wasim Shakir

Hi Syed, actually am working on a e-commerce website which is php and symphony framework used. On my free time, I explore new technologies and right now I'm learning flutter dart.

Collapse
 
stefanak-michal profile image
Michal Štefaňák

I got into programming 25 years ago and why? Because I like to know how things works. But nowadays with some new things showing up I'm trying to accept: I don't have to know everything.
My major is PHP, JS, C#. Why? Because mostly I worked in webdev but I also did some app and game development. I'm windows user so C# works for me. However platform is not a problem anymore with .NET Core.
I have no idea what future will bring and honestly I'm little bit worried about my professional proficiency. It feels like I'm loosing step.

Collapse
 
wasim_shakir5 profile image
Wasim Shakir

Umm.. Don't be bro. As far as I've seen developers or programmers. It doesn't matter what language or technology we use, All that matters is our thought process and the way of execution. You know doctors can do things because of us. What I mean is without new new idealogy, doctors or other major roles or people can't sustain on their role. Its us who developed such technologies and softwares which is so helpful to their job. No offence to anyone.

Collapse
 
oleh_nazarovych profile image
Oleh Nazarovych

Hi!

Collapse
 
wasim_shakir5 profile image
Wasim Shakir

Hello Oleh

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.