DEV Community

José Pablo Ramírez Vargas
José Pablo Ramírez Vargas

Posted on

Can Svelte do Everything Better and Faster?

Hello everyone! I am here with an honest question. It is not click-bait and it is not an article. A true, 100% honest question.

As my team's tech team leader, I need to be on top of technologies to make the best decision. Because I specialize in back-end, my front-end knowledge needed updating; therefore, I learned Vue and Svelte.

I am in awe of Svelte, and pretty much want to start a migration path to Svelte from React. Before I do this, however, I would like to know the general opinion out there around the main question: Can Svelte do anything other frameworks do?

What opinion do you all have about SSR and SvelteKit? I hear you. Many thanks!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
wentallout profile image
Nguyen Dang Khoa • Edited

Svelte maintainers are aware of these kind of questions. I think what you can build with React you can do the same on Svelte (but more enjoyable experience due to Svelte being simple)

React fanboys are going to say their frameworks have better support and countless tools/packages to help building.

But the truth is React is just hard to read and optimize. If you go Svelte with just basic Javascript skills you can easily make fast websites. React force you to learn a bunch of boilerplates and meaningless concepts that make it hard for everyone in the team to read your code.

Collapse
 
webjose profile image
José Pablo Ramírez Vargas

This is my feeling too. I feel that React is the behemoth of frameworks, but in a bad way. No "mobility" and high costs to achieve anything.

Svelte has really impressed me so far. Some people don't like that Svelte has "repurposed" JavaScript syntax for their own purposes; I say it is brilliant.

Still, I am very interested in other people's experience for the team's sake.

 
webjose profile image
José Pablo Ramírez Vargas

Yes, however Svelte Runes will come to solve this. I honestly believe Svelte is the new king. No one framework can compete, as you stated it so clearly.