DEV Community

Zedikiah Choo
Zedikiah Choo

Posted on

Where the time flies...

I started my Software Engineering Journey back in August 7 of 2023 when I was accepted into Flatiron School for software engineering. Prior to that, I spent nearly 2 months prepping for what I thought at the time was one of most intense crash course in software engineering I've ever experienced -all while juggling a demanding work contract, and dealing with being an emergency transplant from Florida (struggling to adapt to a radically new environment, and other stuff). I was able to pass both Flatirons required aptitude test and the prep course, so I definitely am confident I have what it takes to do right by me and finish this cohort by the final date. That being said, I'm not proud of it, but I was the proverbial hero traveling "dark night of the soul" as so eloquently described in one of Flatiron's prep module... I had to get to get myself out of that dark pit of distraction starting with skills, good habits, and adaptions that I already had. One of which is writing... a few others include organization, attention to detail, time management, focus, communication, problem solving... the obvious grown-up skills... and then there are the uncommon skills like meditation, stillness, sound therapy, yoga nidra, kriya yoga (breath yoga).

Top comments (0)