DEV Community

Cover image for Day 1 of Coding Journal
Yashraj
Yashraj

Posted on • Updated on

Day 1 of Coding Journal

Rekindling My Coding Journey

I'm embarking on a renewed journey to strengthen my coding skills. My goal is to revisit key concepts and document my daily learning progress. I believe consistent practice is crucial to becoming a proficient software developer.

About Me

  • Bachelor's degree in Computer Science
  • Freelance web developer specializing in building client websites
  • Primary focus on frontend development, with a solid understanding of backend principles

My Approach

Inspired by James Clear's philosophy:

"1% BETTER EVERY DAY"

I'm committed to daily learning, focusing on gradual, consistent improvement rather than trying to master everything at once.

Today's Progress (Day 1)

  1. Developed a landing page using Next.js

    • Transitioned from SCSS to Tailwind CSS for styling.(It's really good. Have you tried Tailwind CSS ?)
    • Integrated data from Sanity CMS
  2. Reviewed the concept of Virtual DOM in React. Adding little theory of Virtual DOM here.

React uses two virtual DOMs to render the user interface. One of them is used to store the current state of the objects and the other to store the previous state of the objects. Whenever the virtual DOM gets updated, react compares the two virtual DOMs and gets to know about which virtual DOM objects were updated. After knowing which objects were updated, react renders only those objects inside the real DOM instead of rendering the complete real DOM. This way, with the use of virtual DOM, react solves the problem of inefficient updating. DOM is just tree like data structure.

Moving forward, I'll continue to share my daily progress and insights gained along this journey.

Top comments (0)